EDUCATION IS A WEAPON TO EXPLORE WONDERS OF LIFE

in #education6 years ago

EDUCATION IS A PLANNED SUCCESS!

I am an educator so it is expected that I am someone who believes in the importance of education in our lives. I would also agree with those who are sceptical that there are really some who are not successful in educating themselves but end up more successful in life than those who are graduates. That is a fact I am happy to acknowledge. BUT for a third world country as Philippines getting a degree is a cliché from our seniors, it’s a culture of every Filipino family and it’s brainwashed to many of us for generations now.


Image Source

I myself grow up thinking that the only way I can be successful is through educating myself and that is finishing college and if given the opportunity finish master’s degree and doctoral degree. I somehow ended up being an educator right after graduation though. I always wanted to be a teacher; it had been my passion to explain things to people. I took up Computer Science however during my tertiary level because that was “in” during those years. I traded my love for teaching with technology. But you see, I end up hitting two birds with one. I am doing what I love doing now, which is teaching, but the twist is that I am teaching my tertiary course. Isn’t that amazing? I still end up doing my first love and sharing the theories of my finished course. Now, that’s what I call success!

Having mentioned cliché earlier let me take you through how the education had evolved over the years base on my experience. As the students had evolved from generation to generation, the actual approach to education had changed. When theories were everything then, the recent approach now is that actual application is more given attention and weights more . The cliché of memorizing is now replaced of familiarization, performing steps and demonstrating process. These enable education to become not only about learning theories but application of it. We should not taught children that trains run on railways, it should be how trains run on railways. Education should be a weapon to explore the wonders of life so as to prepare the students of the real deal of what we call the work life outside the 4 corners of their classroom.


Image Source

=======| |=======| |=======| |=======| |=======

I was talking about education and me as a teacher on this article. Let me share to you how I nurture education to my own daughter.

Just the other day, I enrolled my daughter for her Grade 9 journey. She is now on her 2nd to the last year of Junior High School and then off she go to her Senior High School. She is schooling at Divine Life Institute of Cebu (DLIC) about 15minutes away from our house. Before we decided to enrol her for the school year I had to planned out first our budget such as entrance fee and the other needed fees.

Since she is an old student of the school it is a bit easy to enroll her. She only needs her report card for School Year 2017-2018 then go through the process of encoding her information to the school's new Students Information System, then go through cashier for the enrolment fee followed then to the records section for her official enrolment to a section. That was it! She was enrolled in about 30minutes taps!

=======| |=======| |=======| |=======| |=======

New students on the other hand needs to prepare the following:
• Report Card
• Good Moral Character
• NSO / Birth Certificate
• Application form for government scholarship
• 2X2 ID Picture
• Entrance Exam Result (Php200.00 fee)

The new students will have to go through entrance exam first then followed by interview. Before the rest of the steps are to be followed.

=======| |=======| |=======| |=======| |=======

After enrolling her we go straight to a mall to pick up her basic school requirement so we won't have to join the rush crowd by June where most parents would choose to buy their childrens' requirements. Though there are really other schools that release their list of requirements on the first day of school thus, resulting to long queues on educational shops. I make sure that my daughter will have her materials at least a month before the start of the class so she can prepare her things in advance. Be prepared early as they say. I am training her that it is best to plan and prepare in advance for her schooling.

SO I GUESS WE ARE NOW READY FOR THE OPENING OF SCHOOL YEAR 2018 - 2019!

=======| |=======| |=======| |=======| |=======

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by mcamayra being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87