The truth about our school systems!

in #education6 years ago (edited)


Source

I usually don't post videos here on steemit, so you know this is something that I really feel is worth watching, especially since it is only 5 mins long.

I stumbled upon this video the other day about and it blew my mind! So many truths in this video I can't help but question how we let it get so far?. Have we failed our children? We obviously need change in our education system, it is an old system and it needs to be updated to keep us from perpetuating old ideals that no longer are suitable for our future societies or children.

Change is hard, but refusing to change only sets our future generations up for failure.

Please take the time to watch this awesome video!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

I've seen this video a couple years ago. It's a nice refresh to see it again.
Prince Ea has a ton of really great videos. They are so very well done. A little emotional and very impactful.

Our education system is a little broken, but what is the solution? Where do we even begin to improve it? The Ministers of Education? The school boards? the teachers education for future teachers? but first get the entire country to agree to make the change to teach in a completely new method? It's such a big challenge and so beyond me... but I hope some one is smart and capable enough to fix it for us. lol.

They are brilliant videos for sure!

I agree, the problems are too big for any individual to come up with a solution but if we don't keep open dialog about how things are then they won't ever change in a positive manner, things will only get worse.

I don't think the blame should be placed on the teachers or even the school board, the education system is broken because of policies put in place by the state or federal level! Education needs to decided on by smaller groups of people, not the federal government. Education has been sold out by the politicians to the highest bidder for far to long. The text books are written by private interest groups and politicians will always sell out for personal gain. That's why lobbying should be illegal!

Everyone seems to think I am blaming teachers or saying that teachers are bad, when I don't think that at all.. What I am saying is that we only know what we are taught and we are being taught the wrong things, its not their fault that our system is corrupt and that indoctrination runs ramp-id in our public schools.

Unfortunately, I don't see any real way of fixing this until the government itself collapses and we can take education back from the federal government. Until that happens I will be homeschooling if I ever have any children.

Yeah, I agree with most of what you are saying there.
But I don't think home schooling is the solution either. I've got 2 kids, you don't want them to grow up sociably awkward... among other important character building things. Also, kids NEED to get out of the house or they will go MAD and drive you MAD! lol

But they would be your children, so it's your decision. Just remember to weigh the pros and cons if or when that day comes.

Well we would obviously make sure they got lots of socialization with other children because we definitely wouldn't want them to be socially awkward but that is easily done without school. And I agree, kids need to get out of the house or everone will go MAD LoL. But I had home schooled friends when I was a kid and they played with us every day so I think they will be alright.

And if home schooling isn't working out we can always higher a tutor or send our kid to private school if nothing else. We have options.

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

If I had them, they’d be homeschooled for sure.

Secretary of education is worth a few billion. Pretty sure she likes money more than other people’s children

RIGHT... Does that make any sense at all!?!?! Money shouldn't decide the fate of education and obviously someone worth billions doesn't give a fuck about the average child..

I don't have any kids either, but I am thinking about it so that is why things like this matter to me now.. We gotta secure our childrens futures because no one else seems to fucking care!

This video made the rounds in my homeschool groups when it first came out - I'd forgotten how much I loved it! Thanks for reminding me that it existed, @moderndayhippie! 😊

Oh, and all three of our kidlets (now 23, turning 21 tomorrow, and 18) were exclusively homeschooled. We had a school psychologist do their yearly evaluations and she was so impressed by what she was seeing that she homeschooled her own child for a semester (long story, but her child ended up going to a private school instead). I know it's not always a viable option for people, but it worked for us. 💜

That is AWESOME that your home schooled all your kids! Props on that. Like you said, it's not always a viable option for everyone. But to be honest I don't think everyone is actually cut out to raise their own children so schools are very important but that's a whole other convo in itself.
I find it crazy that my fiance has gotten a lot of shit (from teachers) over posting this video on FB. They are seriously verbally abusing her even though we don't think this is the teachers faults at all.. But I guess that is what they teach in school, mob mentality.. Apparently they think if they aren't on your side then you are the enemy!?!? Even though that couldn't be further from the truth. I just think a child gets better education from one-on-one interaction and a schedule that meets their independent needs rather than the groups needs.. I don't think that's a bad thing, I personally think that is a good thing if you have the ability to help your child that way.. right?.. for some reason they make it out to be like child abuse..

I guess some teachers are just way to self indulged to care about what is good or bad for our future generations, they only care about the here and now.. They think somehow home schooling ruins their jobs? Its kind of pathetic really.. Do they really care about the childs education or their job?

Thanks! Of course, our three think we ruined their lives because they didn't grow up "normal." I figure a couple years out in the real world, then they'll understand how lucky they were. LOL!

Yeah, it hurts my brain when people have that "you're either with us, or against us" mentality.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24