How Fluency at Your Pace Become Reality

in #education5 years ago

Peace Steemians,

You already know a lot of English, and probably read and write quite well... So you really only need to make some small changes to your vocabulary to really impress people in your conversations and writing. If that sounds good, let's look at our first example: I watch a video every day during my commuting time. This English is actually great. It's grammatically correct and the message is clear. But a native would say it a bit differently: I watch a video every day on my commute.

This change is small, but important. Natives don't really use the word "time" when explaining activities. They just name the activity. Natives wouldn't say: I sometimes fall asleep during reading time.

Natives would say: I sometimes fall asleep when I read / while reading. Here's another way you would say the original example:
I watch a video every day on the train to work.
(The idea of "commuting" is understood, and it sounds even more conversational.)

Next, here's a different, and slightly longer, example:
One of my dream is to expand my business to worldwide from now but because of a lack of my English skill I couldn’t go forward now even though our company could make very good product so it’s very important to be a good English proficient to me.

There are some grammatical errors here, and the ideas are all together in one sentence. So let's look at my version and see why I made the changes I made:

I want to expand my business globally, but can't due to my insufficient English skill. This is unfortunate as we make a great product, so it's very important for me to improve my English.

The goal here - especially with professional communication - is to make the point clearly. Don't add extra words, especially when you're worried about your English. The less you say, the more likely you'll say it correctly.

image-1550024984856.png
src

More specifically...

I removed the part about "my dream" because this also isn't normally used to describe a desire in a professional setting. Talk with your friends and family about your dreams. Talk professionally about goals and wants. This makes you sound more clear and serious.

I also changed "worldwide" to "globally" because you expand globally from your current position. "Worldwide" implies you're already everywhere, so it's not something a native would use to describe growth.

Makes sense?
Don't you now feel a bit more confident about expressing yourself? :)
The more time you spend seeing how natives express different ideas and situations, the more YOU begin to sound like a native. Improving is really that simple!
How would that change your life?

If you're not in Drew new program, and you also want the 5 FREE gifts Drew is giving to learners in the program, click on the link below to join and get your subscriber discount:

Englishanyone

By the way, if you're wondering about the difference between The Fluency Course and The Art of Conversation...
The Fluency Course helps you build fluency by covering a wide range of useful vocabulary for everyday personal and professional life, The Art Of Conversation is focused specially on how to have confident conversations.

Follow @oadissin for more interesting contents
Share your thoughts in comment section.
Thank you for reading.
Peace

The best Free-To-Play game on Steem Blockchain. DrugWars permit to players to play, invest, and get paid with Steem. 89% of each payment made over DrugWars goes to the dealer. The dealer redistributes 9% of the total pool to all users daily, depending on their production capacity.
Free-To-Play game on Steem Blockchain



Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Hi, @oadissin!

You just got a 0.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11