THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 67 - COACHWHIP

in #education6 years ago

This is so exciting! This is the first one of these that I've ever caught!!!


While driving back home today, I happened to see this Coachwhip Snake on the road. It quickly turned back to the ditch, but so did I, and amazingly, I caught it!

Not only do these snakes look incredibly intimidating, they are also one of the longest and fastest snakes in North America. I've always wanted to check one out in real life, and today I had that opportunity!

The information is the video and post is original, but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 67

COACHWHIP


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-coachwhip

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

cool color snake.
Somehow snake comes your way.
I learned more here.
Thank you.

They sure do!

seems like there's a snake called (something)racer.
wonder if it's the same one?

Some people call one species in this genus the "Red Racer."

This the coolest snake I have ever seen! A new one for me. @papa-pepper! Love the pattern of scales and the colouration! I am glad you saw him and were able to catch him.

Me too! So happy to find this one! I'm glad that you can appreciate it too!

I just now saw this post. I caught one of these in Florida when I was about 10 or 11 years old. We have them down there too. They are really fast.

Very intimidating. One family that I have respect for but don't play with. It incredibly long

I already upvoted that yesterday...

howdy @papa-pepper I must admit this snake was pretty cool looking, there couldn't have been very many snakes where you were up North so your location now is a slice of heaven in that regard..to you. The only man on earth who WANTS snakes to chase him! lol great job.

LOL - It would just make things so much easier if they would chase me for a change....

yes sir! Hey papa-pepper, do ANY snakes chase people in North America?

Careful not to forget what happened to the Crocodile Hunter! If I see you make a post about sting rays, I will be getting together a Steemit Intervention Party!

yeah, I know...

Very nice! Congratulations on catching that coachwhip. They are so fast. Such a great snake. My parents see them at their place, regularly but infrequently -- only once every couple years.

I have been chased by snakes, but just one kind, the Northern Water Snake (Nerodia sipedon). As a kid, I'd catch them and carry them back home in a pillow case. Only to dump them out to play chase. They would chase us all over the yard. We had to make our own fun, lol. They are fearless snakes.

Happy snake hunting!

Pillow Case? That's our favorite snake bag!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09