WHAT YOU MAY NOT KNOW ABOUT BABY TURTLES

in #education6 years ago

Recently, we found quite a few baby turtles.


It is always a special adventure to encounter such animals, and a few of the @little-peppers even got to capture their own. Checking out baby turtles in person is a lot of fun, but it reminded me of something that you may not know about baby turtles. I share about it in this video.

TURTLE HATCHLINGS OVERWINTERING IN THE NEST?

For those of you who do not watch the videos, I'll explain it for you here so you don't miss out. Normally, a lot of turtles will hatch in late summer or fall. When they hatch, they usually come out of the nest and find their way down to the water (for aquatic turtles anyway.) However, if they somehow determine that it is too cold to come out of the nest, the tiny turtles will actually stay underground in the nest all winter, and then come out once it gets warm the following year! How crazy is that? Did any of you already know about that, or was it news to you?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-little-turtle

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Heyyy. I am just finally figuring out how to comment on this thing! If ya haven't guessed... It's Paige T. 😀😎
Yup. I got an account thing... But haven't really posted anything. I still have zero clue how the money thing works.. You're gonna have to help me 😜 I miss y'all! Make sure to tell all the other Peppers that pepper-Paige said hi!!
Ooh an we found a tiny wittle baby turtle and of course I got pics, it was so cute! And the other day we found a rough green snake, and a black rat snake almost bit me..yeah.. No thanks. AND we're doing bees this year and I'm getting our garden set up with the help of our neighbor. Fuuun stuff 😉
See ya!

Wow! Bees too? Very cool! I run an account for the @little-peppers too, with a few snakes recently. We can talk soon enough, but I got a new number, so I'll have to call. Also, we should be up that way in about a week!

Sir I am many proplem facing about bittex..
My no account bittrex but automatically transfered 30 sbd in bittrex account but why..
I am not understanding this problem..
Please help me and

are you know this problem please answer me???

Yup! Yes I saw it, they are such cuties!! Okie dokie. That should be so fun! Can't wait! <3

:)

'Did any of you already know about that, or was it news to you'?
answer..No I dont know, Infact this is so new to me.
You have indeed educated me on this and Im ever grateful.
And this is why I cant but always check up your post.
I nevr knew turtle have a way of staying under the ground when they discover that the environment will be too cold for them.
You have really educated me.
Thanks @papa-pepper

Wow! Glad to hear it and thanks for all of the compliments!

I have found baby turtles before and they are really cool, but I did not know that they stayed in their nest all winter long I thought that they hatched in the spring. That is really cool
|/,,

so informatic post hoooo.!

what turtle beauty how long can a turtle live? the one that is in my house is already 12 years old and it is a giant I think I have taught it in these days by the way its feeding of a lot of lettuce

I see you like a veterinarian and take great care of them and their babies. i like what you do for them ..... very motivated for us ... thanks @papa-pepper

that photo of the little baby turtle is absolutely stunning papa-pepper! I had no idea they could just stay in their nest all winter, amazing, I assume they go into hibernation?

In some cases, parts of their body water actually freezes in between the cells.

and then they're okay come springtime, remarkable!

this is amazing, i am amazed with you, have a nice day, you love all animals, i want to be like you @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94