Down Another "Rabbit Hole"

in #education6 years ago (edited)

BunBun.jpg
• BUNNYOGRAPHY BY ME •

I have such a tendency to be sucked into rabbit holes. I have always loved learning new things, and have an insatiable curiosity. That makes it difficult for me to do a "quick" bit of research. Allow me to illustrate the that is me...

A few hours ago, @shadowspub posted another of her wonderful SteemitRamble curation posts, where she highlights some of the good content she has read recently. One of the articles was a report from @enginewitty, who described a package he received from Cap't @dreemsteem as winnings from a Treasure Hunt contest. Among the items in the box was a package of "Swedish Fish" candy! Yum! 😋

I've had that candy and enjoyed it, long ago. It is a soft, chewy candy with a somewhat cherry-tasting flavor. Even though I've eaten them previously, I could not remember the reason they're called "Swedish" fish.

— Is the candy imported from Sweden?
— Or did the recipe originate in Sweden?
— Is that a candy that the Swedish people typically enjoy?

So, off I went to get answers to my questions...

• PHOTO BY MARCIN FLORYAN / WIKIPEDIA •
As it turns out, the candy was, indeed, developed in Sweden! The shape of the fish was chosen because fishing is a huge part of the economy of Sweden, so a fish-shaped candy was fitting. The target market was the U.S., though, not Sweden, although the candy is sold in Sweden, too. The candies consumed in North America are manufactured in a factory in Ontario, Canada.

The only Swedish Fish I have seen are the red, cherry-flavored candies. However, I read online that the parent company of the candies, Malaco, also makes a black-and-white colored, salmiak-flavored variety, supposedly for distribution only in Sweden. I've never heard of "salmiak" and had to look that up, too. As it turns out, "salmiak" is the Swedish word for "salty liquorice," which is a variant of liquorice flavoring used in Nordic countries. So, then, I had to learn more about this "salty liquorice." I learned that "salty liquorice" is sometimes used to flavor "snus" as well as candy, but what-the-heck is snus...???

Before I realized it, I had read at least part, if not all, of the following articles:

Swedish Fish
   ● Salmiak
      ♦ SaltyLiquorice
         • Snus
            ٠ Snuff
   ● NordicCountries
      ♦ Scandinavia
         • GermanicPeoples
            ٠ Swedes
            ٠ Norwegians
            ٠ Danes
         • Finno-UgricPeoples
            ٠ Sami
            ٠ Kvens
            ٠ Finns
   ● Invert Sugar
      ♦ Sucrose
         • Sugarloaf
            ٠ Jaggery
               – Bagasse
            ٠ Panela
            ٠ SugarNips
      ♦ BoneChar
         • Pareve
         • Creutzfeldt–Jakob Disease
            ٠ Prion
               – PRNP (PRioN Protein)
   ● Modified Corn Starch
      ♦ Disintegrant
      ♦ Excipient
      ♦ Retrogradation in starches

Does anyone do this, besides me...??? 🙃


SOURCES, for any other autodidacts that read this post:
   1 Wikipeda: Swedish Fish
   2 Wikinedia commons photo: Swedish salmiak confectionery

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

I do worse than that. But usually on youtube, watching documentaries takes more time but it makes the information stick longer in my memory.

I can't believe you didn't end up reding about Vikings :o
Maybe my comment will make you do so :D
Did you know that vikings found "America" before the spanish ?
hehe I'm so mean

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I totally do that same shit hun, not alone.

Yesh!

Hi @thekittygirl, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

I do do that. But funny you mention this as I was posting a Comment about Swedish Fish on that same post. As I have seen them at Dollar Tree when I take my girls to get candy. And always wondered what they were and what they tasted like. And @dreemsteemt gave me a description

but the flavor is like - sweet and ... almost cherry??? but with a hint of sour too - (totally subtle) but balances all that sugar

yessssssssssss please look above at the link I entered @robertandrew. hehehehehe the one that says "dreemsteem's dream" LOLOLOL

we need this. we need this now!!!!

Lolololol!!!!! I loved everything about this article!!!! EVERYTHING!!!!!!

did you know that they also have other colors!!!and my hubby says "only the grape fish are good" lolol

But we can't find those packs anymore... And even if we could I would NOT be buying the whole pack so he could "fish" out the grapes only!!!!loll

And..he's crazy!!!! The cherry fish are amazing!!!! I can eat the whole bag in 5 minutes sadly... Lol

And I also had to look up "invert sugar".

Which made me feel so guilty after I discovered that the first... Four? Ingredients are all various forms of sugarlololol
So. Much. Sugar

Hahaha oh well.. they are an occasional treat. Not an everyday occurrence.

But have you seen the 7 pound bags???

If I ever buy one...just day goodbye to me. I will slip into a sugar coma and surely never wake.😂

😂🤣you hit a sugar coma and start twitching out or what?

you know how much energy i normally have right???

imagine 5000 grams of sugar added to that. Sleep? What's sleep.

but oh my gosh. look what i just found.... DREEMSTEEM'S DREAM begins drooling
hehehehe if you or @thekittygirl REALLY love me.... then this will be at my house by this evening. LOLOLOLOL

Lmao see what I can do, if you don't inhale them before they arrive!

Hahahaha, you really did go all the way down that hole :D

Lol, could learn an entirely new vocabulary doing this.

@TheKittyGirl – I adore you! Turns out, swedish fish are one of my all time favorite candies. I could seriously eat a 1lb bag in a day. LOL!

My rabbit-holing isn't quite as pro as yours, but my partner – he's just like you! Researcher, to the core.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80