Technology, Media Manipulations and The Much Needed Pride (Aldous Huxley+Tai Lopez+Frank Lloyd Wright)

in #education6 years ago

Today I came cross a great coincident that was separated by 60 years. It involved a great author of the last century named Aldous Huxley and out of his mouth came the same words that I've been telling people over and over the years. He used the exact same words with exact same points on the exact same thing to make the exact same argument. I never got the chance to read Aldous Huxley even though I've wanted to. I get busy with stuff. But I was very pleasantly surprised and happy to come across the words that,

  • Technology is morally neutral.
  • It could be used for good or ill.
  • It is like atomic (nuclear) energy.
  • We can either blow ourselves up or power the world with it.

The interview is from 18th May, 1958 and it was conducted by Mike Wallace at Harry Ransom Center at The University of Texas. He was a humanist and pacifist. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature seven times and he was elected Companion of Literature by the Royal Society of Literature. My favorite part is that he was very interested in spiritual aspects of life parapsychology and philosophical mysticism which is really pushing me to close my laptop and grab one of his books to read.

Modern Library 100 Best English-language Novels: Top 10 Editor's List

  • Ulysses
  • The Great Gatsby
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
  • Lolita
  • Brave New World
  • The Sound and the Fury
  • Catch-22
  • Darkness at Noon
  • Sons and Lovers
  • The Grapes of Wrath

    SPOILERS!


While browsing around the YouTube I also cam across several other great interviews. One of the most suprising was an interview with Tai Lopez. You might remember him as the guy who made the YouTube videos "Here In My Garage" and "Here In My Backyard" who also made few videos promoting(hyping) Bitcoin and bought large portion of his views to make him into sort of a celebrity. Anybody who knew a thing or two about cryptocurrencies surely shunned this sleazebag and even if you didn't know much about cryptos, the guy surely came across as a new Jordan Belfort (AKA The Wolf of Wall Street). I never bothered to listen to this guy until I cam across this interview and it was great! Tai Lopez is actually a smart and intelligent human being. See for yourself:

Turns out that it was the marketing that was fake and scammy; not the content


I never formed a full opinion on Tai Lopez because I didn't even watch his highly promoted videos/marketing material. Now I'm glad I didn't judge without enough information. He was simply using mass marketing to get into the heads of people who were too impressed by first impressions and hype. The effect was that a minority of intelligent people like me and you(hopefully) got turned off in the first 5 obligatory seconds of the YouTube ad while at least thousands of not so smart kids eventually got into something valuable for themselves.

In a way that is kind of tragic. People are very easily manipulated and people like Tai have been using these tricks for good ends. But the problem is that these cheap tricks are mostly just used by media to manipulate us into worse ends. Media rallies up people ad tell them that they are victims and tell them that it's not their fault and tell them that everything happened for a reason and for good and tell people that they are entitled to great ends while a person like Tai use these scammy tricks to tell people that they need to take responsibility and that they may very well fail and the reason that you fell down and break your leg is called gravity. Basically............... It's like nuclear energy. It could be used for good or ill. This brings me to the next point: Arrogance

Frank Lloyd Wright: The man who was the inspiration for Howard Roark of Ayn Rand's The Fountainhead

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.

  • Bertrand Russell

We are in a time that is in need of great arrogance that is rightfully earned - @vimukthi

I build the cars that I like. If people wish to purchase one, we can see that it is arranged

  • Ettore Bugatti

People need to discover their pride and spine. For one, I'm happy and proud to be a part of the cryptocurrency, STEEM, free market, libertarian, anarcho-capitalist community. I'm proud of the things I've achieved and I understand that I can do more things and better things to live a better life that is better for both me and for others and I realize that I can achieve a future where I can be even prouder. One has nothing to be proud of should simply change and do things which that person can be proud of. Say your business or book or race or video game flopped and failed. Ask yourself whether you can be proud of the way you tried. Ask yourself if it really is your thing or should you pick something else to chase. Gain your insights and try again. That alone is something you can be proud about.

Death comes to all of us. But conviction that the life was worth living and that the arrogance was well earned......... that's a rare luxury


Sort:  

Resteemed upvoted

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)
Relevance: Great Minds
Our Purpose

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations! By using @tipU service today you have won @steembasicincome share from @tipU :) From now on @steembasicincome will upvote your posts :)

@tipU gives 2 @steembasicincome shares daily to random service users.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83