The Girl Who Is Called Kulay Kahoy : Watercolor Painting and Step-by-step Tutorial

in #elegance5 years ago (edited)

The Girl Who Is Called Kulay Kahoy

A painting

IMG_20181107_151432_662.jpg

Watercolor is one of my favorite medium since 2015. I used student grade watercolors such as Marie's, Sakura Koi, Pebeo, Studio, Prang and even the cheapest watercolor for my practice and exhibit pieces. So far, Marie's watercolor and 200gsm Canson watercolor paper is the best duo for me. I haven't tried the Artists grade watercolor yet but I'm dreaming to have one.


What is Kulay Kahoy?

Kulay Kahoy is a Filipino translation of Wood Color, in other words, brown or any color that represents a log, trunk or wood. It has many variation. For a Filipina, having a Kulay Kahoy or Morena skin is very common. But, it's not what most of the people love, they wanted fairer skin, so people with darker skin often get bullied. This is the effect of the colonial mentality in the Philippines.

But now, as a Filipina grows mature, the more she appreciate the complexion she has. More and more people began to appreciate and embrace this wonderful complexion.

Who is that girl called Kulay Kahoy?

That's me ✨
And I love my color. Like I blend well with nature. I have been called Negra, several times. Uling (charcoal) and many more. But that was then, when I was still a child.

At first I didn't want thisthis color because of the words I heard. But since it became my pagkakakilanlan (identification) I used it as my psuedo name in some of my art especially in Photography.

LRM_EXPORT_20180218_202122.jpg

Materials:

  • Watercolor
  • Pointed brush
  • Water
  • Pencil
  • Bristol board

Process

Step 1:

I prepared all the materials so that I can easily get them. Using a pencil, I outlined the subject, a girl's face.

IMG_20181106_200139.jpg

Step 2:

Using shades of brown and flesh, I painted the first layer of the painting. At first layer, it might be seen as the ugly art of the process, but that's okay, you just need some patience and time. And let it dry.

IMG_20181106_201001.jpg

Step 3:

After the first layer has dried, add the details for the eyes. This time I used burnt umber for the darker part of the eyes

IMG_20181106_201358.jpg

Step 5:

Add more details using darker color. I saturate the color by adding just small amount of water to the pigment. Then I let the layer dry before adding another layer of colors.
IMG_20181106_201814.jpg

Step 6:

Add details. I painted a diluted crimson pink on her cheeks to give it a bit rosey effect.
IMG_20181106_202519.jpg

Step 7:

Continue to add details to the face. I finally painted the remaining eye and tried to make it complement with the other side.
IMG_20181106_203254.jpg

I repeated the process of adding crimson red to the cheek.

Step 8:

This is where I think I made a mistake.

I added green color to paint random leaves and shape because I wanted this painting to blended with nature.

IMG_20181106_232018.jpg
IMG_20181106_232749.png

And this is the end of the progression of the painting. I hope you all like it. Thank you for dropping by.



toggle night mode to see the stars


Sort:  

Looks really good, the watercolor is coming along nice.

Thank you for the compliment. :) yes the watercolor went nicely with the board

It is really nice painting of yourself, and the message that you brought with it, and the fact that you are proud of what you are, these are all awesome stuff :D.
                   
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you so much for the nice comment :) this makes me want to make more.

Good art!
I believe that your post is undervalued and deserves a reward.
I added it to the list of underappreciated posts.

Thank you so much

Oh wow...so you painted yourself? Well, I'd also be painting myself if I'd look that damn good hahah :D

Woooooow!!! I toggled night mode and those start really appeared!! Thaaat's huuge!! Was it your idea? Or did you get that footer pic from someone? These some name on it but I'm not sure if it's you or what does it mean hah :D

Hello, thank you for a that compliment :)

For me everyone looks good and beautiful ✨
So I think if you paint yourself you'll see your beauty much deeper.

Regarding my footer, thanks ! I made it :)
That star constellation is my zodiac sign: Sagittarius.

Since steemit has this feature, I used the toggle mode so I can surprise people visiting my posts.

The name on it, Genesis A. Aala is my real name.

"MARAMING SALAMAT PO" means thank you so much in Filipino.

genesis.png

What a nice face you have achieved in your watercolor @, I must say that in Venezuela unfortunately there is the same problem as in your land, we inherited the same imposition of the Spanish and their racism, in Venezuela is common not only people with that exquisite test moreno also there are more blacks, in fact my girlfriend is a beautiful black mixed with white, Indian and black.

but returning to your drawing is fabulously well developed and skin tones with their clear and perfect osuros, I like the large eyelashes and the depth that transmit their eyes osuros.

The detail of the leaves gives it a touch of voyeurism and mysticism.

thank you for sharing your creation friend.

peace and love, greetings

Thank you so much for the nice comment.

I wished everyone will just nourish and love their own color. It will surely make everyone happier than what they are expecting.
I love all colors and really look high on the people who appreciate their own.

More love to you and your girlfriend

I think the addition of this vibrant leaves did compliment the look, not a mistake in my opinion...😀

I can't believe you were called Uling back then! It baffles me how people set these standards, wanting all of us to look same, really. It does happen here to, its not so strange to find a "light skinned" girl making a "darker skinned" one feel less (even though most of us are "black"). I don't know who brought the idea that a certain color id the best, really. I love that we are waking up and embracing this color we all have been blessed with. You are beautiful! And you painting too is, simple yet elegant looks like that of a brave and strong woman.

Thank you so much, from what you have said, I think i will continue on adding leaves onto this painting :)

You are beautiful too! The colors on the people they are born with are naturally beautiful on them and is really for them. All we have to do is to embrace and appreciate our color.

Yeah, you should!

That is so true, it fits us perfectly but we just need to learn to embrace it and turn a deaf ear to the negative things society want to make us believe about it.

Very nice post, I like the way you build up your post, started with the description what Kulay Kahoy means and telling about the cultural features. The photograph is very artistic, I presume that is yourself on picture, you are very pretty and the picture done in a great settings. I like the painting tutorial, it is always good to know how other artists work and what are their preferences. Thank you for sharing your beautiful artwork :)

Thank you so much @stef1. Yes that's me on the picture. Thank you for the appreciation

You are very talented with water colors! Even your "mistake" doesn't look like much of a mistake to me. I'm in awe of how you get that detail in the eyes with water colors! I use to paint as a kid and when I was in college and water colors were always so difficult for me. You've done a fantastic job!

I have several friends who are Filipino and I've heard this same thing about how people are treated differently because of their skin tones and such. It's such a strange concept to me. You're absolutely gorgeous! I know it is sometimes easier said than done but you have nothing to worry about when it comes to the color of your skin. It's crazy to me that it even has to be said! You are very beautiful.

Thanks again for sharing your workflow! I enjoy seeing everything it takes from start to finish with artwork. It gives such a better insight into all the work you do. And I'm glad you shared a photo of yourself. I love seeing the artist behind the art.

Cheers!

Thank you so much. I really love watercolor like it's my first love in arts.

I think you can still paint and explore this medium. I wanted to see different artworks from different people <3

Thank you for the compliment. Yeah everyone is beautiful

You're very welcome! Keep water coloring, you've got a great talent for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68