Doodle Painting | Rafflesia part 1

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Here's my latest doodle painting project that I completed today! This is just part 1 of the project and I will continue with part 2, the actual painting, tomorrow. I am currently working on a portrait commission and I hope to finish that by Friday. This doodle painting is another project on top of that portrait. A number of people have been commenting to me personally how consistent I am in pursuing my art. Many were actually surprised when I mentioned that I am doing this on so-called part-time basis because my main role at this stage of life is to taking care of my kids! Yes, I am a work-at-home-mother and I have two children age 8 and 4. So I do art on my "spare time" which I don't actually really have. But if there is determination, there is always a way. To be honest, art is a skill I am truly proud of even though I am not that good as compared to a lot of artists on this platform. But I have no interest to compare myself to others and just enjoy what I am doing. We have a special phrase in Malay for people with that kind of attitude - SYOK SENDIRI. It basically means "full of oneself". Heck, call me whatever, I don't care ;)

So yeah, I named this piece "Rafflesia". Have you ever heard of this term before? Rafflesia is the biggest flower in the world!

"Rafflesia is a genus of parasitic flowering plants. It contains approximately 28 species, all found in Southeast Asia, mainly in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines." ~ Wikipedia

The flower was named after Sir Stamford Raffles, a British stateman best known for founding of Singapore and the British Malaya.

I have never seen this flower in real life but my sister did. She said it smelled like a corpse! Yuck! But I would take a picture with it anyway despite the foul odor LOL.

The progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post! I hope you like my art and give me a follow :)

Do you ONO? Join me on the new decentralized social media, Ono Social. Download the app on Google Playstore/Apple Appstore. Invitation code: OC3T

My previous posts:

A Busy Day

My Doodle | People Above Things

Doodle Painting | Time Never Waits

Doodle Painting | Be Still

Doodle Painting | Don't Stop

Doodle Painting | Where We Grow

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!

FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Hi @coloringiship. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Thank you for your kind support :)

Nice! That looks really good even without colors. Looking forward to see the result :)

Thank you! I love it without colors too :)

Fine doodle art! And I particularly like this line of your narrative since it rings true for so many people: "So I do art on my "spare time" which I don't actually really have."

Very true, isn't it? We have to make time to have spare time LOL

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @coloringiship, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88