Watercolor Art | Bucketful of Sloths

in #elegance5 years ago (edited)


The sloth painting is finally completed LOL! Yesterday I was sharing my first attempt at painting these sloths and according to my daughter, they looked like zombies LOL. I re-sketched it and finally decided to go with this second version, rounder, and cuddlier looking sloths!

The idea to paint these cute creatures came from this video, featuring a basketful of orphaned baby sloths rescued by the Jaguar Rescue Center in Costa Rica. They are so cute!

And here is the rough sketch before I trace it on a watercolor paper.


I used this rough sketch to play with the colors. Initially, I wanted to use ochre and brown for the fur but it turned out to be too yellowish, so I chose brown and vandyke brown instead. I used turquoise for the background and orange for the bucket. And finally, I used white gouache paint for the "highlights" on their furs. Brown is a dull color and the white highlights make the painting livelier.








What do you think of my sloths? Aren't they cute?

Do you ONO? Join me on the new decentralized social media, Ono Social. Download the app on Google Playstore/Apple Appstore. Invitation code: OC3T

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at SOCIETY6, REDBUBBLE and CREATIVE UNITED

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://coloringiship.com/2018/10/30/watercolor-art-bucketful-of-sloths/

Sort:  

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 51000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 52000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

They're all so cute!!

Thank you @kookaburrak. Yes they are :)

happy sloths , nice painting

Amazing work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78