Drawing a New Year postcard with markers

in #elegance5 years ago

Good day to all!

Today I want to show you a small Christmas illustration, which I drew as the basis for a Christmas card.
Painted with alcohol and watercolor markers in a sketchpad.






Drew the contours with a pencil.




Started to paint from the background. The background of the picture is rather abstract, I painted it with a umber color marker, and with bright yellow and orange shades I drew bright highlights from the festive garlands.



Then I drew a glass of mulled wine. I used markers of brown and orange shades, for the image of glass I took gray, blue and yellow shades of markers.
Also drew a slice of orange on the edge of the glass and cinnamon.



Painted over Christmas cookies, gingerbread and an apple. I tried to use the same colors of markers to combine all the objects in the picture.



I drew all the other items in the picture - a branch of Christmas trees, cinnamon, cookies, walnuts, a fir cone and berries.


At the final stage, painted the table with markers of shades of ocher, khaki, and umber.
Enhanced details, shadows and contrast, added light highlights to the white gel pen.
After scanning, I blurred the distant plan to focus the gaze on the main objects of the drawing.




Since the illustration will be used for postcards, I added a greeting inscription in the editor. But the final print version will be different.


Thank you for attention!

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

¡Hola @kleonella! Esa postal esta bellísima, las luces y el volumen están muy bien, ¿Has tenido clases de dibujo? o ¿Aprendiste por tu cuenta? dibujas y pintas muy lindo, gracias por compartir, otra pregunta ¡Cuéntame! ¿Cuál fue tu emoción con el voto Curie? (sonrisa, risa, llanto, saltos, aplausos, abrazos, etc) Un fuerte pero cariñoso abrazo.

Amazing painting :) Love it :)

Hi kleonella,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Really colorful and echoes the holidays well. I like how the highlights make the entire piece look very vibrant, really festive. :D

Congratulations @kleonella! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love all your paintings but this one is my absolute favorite. I would wish to receive such a postcard for Christmas :)

The blurry background is perfect. It looks like you took a photo and focused on the things in front. Very nice.. I like how you created different lights as well.

All these items that you painted make me think of Christmas. You took everything what symbolizes this festive period for me. I can't think of anything else what I would add.

Each item is painted to the perfection. The colors and the details are spot on. There is such a nice warm feeling about your postcard.

Thank you for sharing and making me feel like it's Christmas already ;)

Have a great weekend!

From beautiful hand made greeti g cards to this lovely postcard. Since the begining of december, all these things are quitely be seen everywhere.
I remember the childhood days, when we excitedly prepare some freeting cards using farden flower or hand painting...though it was not so beautiful like you made it. This one is superbly done...loved it..wish to get one. I woyld suggest to open. Postcard shop on steem for everyone to biy them ...a good lucrative business offer 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I always admire that kind of step-by-step posts. It is a great idea with taking photos after a milestones on the picture :)
I love the final effect, colors are really neat and warm, apple looks almost real !
And in a such cold day like today I just dream about such a tasty, warming up cup of hot tea with cinnamon and orange.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Wow that use of watercolors so perfect, I love how you see especially the glass and that bright effect in each element is spectacular .. I love Christmas and so far is the first Christmas drawing I see on the platform, and I love it .. A big hug @kleonella

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97