Embroidery as a hobby?

in #embroidery6 years ago (edited)

english version of this post


How did it start?

One evening I searched for Bandmerch for a very long time and at some point I got DIY pages showing me how to make such t-shirts by embroidering them. So I looked at some Youtube tutorials and thought...I can do that too! After that I saw on a platform called Etsy that people also sell embroidered t-shirts or clothes there. I liked the tshirts there sooo much and wanted to do something like that, for me and for others. Besides, I thought...I'm sure I can increase my pocket money a bit!

The start into a relaxing hobby!

After some tutorials I ordered an embroidery starter kit from Amazon, which took a long time to get to me. When it finally arrived, I was busy for hours! I took an old t-shirt on which I try out all my designs before I embroider them on a new t-shirt. Admittedly... When I find the time to embroider, it's really relaxing. You can come down and I didn't expect this handwork to be so beautiful and reassuring. So far I'm only used to that from drawing!


My current work material:


MaterialPrice in €
1 wooden embroidery hoop 17cm Øarround 12€
1 wooden embroidery hoop 14cm Øarround 2€
1 plastic embroidery hoop 17cm Øin set 25€
ca. 20 needles in diffrent sizesin set 25€
1 pincushion + thread sissorin set 25€
50x Embroidery Flossin set 25€
100 coils (for storage)arround 2€

How do I rate my work material?

As a foreword for now:
The quality is from very good to very bad, more about this now:

I would like to start with the set I have from Amazon. It's a set, made in China, which is also noticeable. The plastic hoop is the biggest garbage and almost useless. It breaks the fabric and does not get stuck, it also bends very easily, this is also the reason why I bought new ones but more about that in a moment. The needles are great, I don't have a comparable product now but I'm good at embroidering with them.
The pincushion and thread scissors are practical but not essential.The thread trimmer is also not always reliable and sometimes unravels the thread.

The threads....to get in they're great, and cheap at that. But this is very much reflected in the quality. I work with them until I have used them up but in the future I will buy my threads in shops as they are very easy twist and not really solid . To get started I can really recommend to buy a set.

The two wooden embroidery frames which I bought in addition are already much better. The one for about 12€ is from a specialty store and I like working with it best! The other one is from Wish, one cheap-chinesen-thingy App, wanted to try it and you can't complain much for the price. The 100 bobbins are also from Wish and I am very satisfied with that, it will only take up all the threads a little bit longer..... :D


So far embroidered


As already said: I'm still practicing! D I know it's not really good yet.


Finished Tshirt


As some of you may have seen in my introduceyourself post, I have already embroidered a finished t-shirt, which I also try to sell on Etsy. I realize that not many people will buy it (if at all), that's not what I'm after. But a little extra pocket money can't hurt! :) To make a little publicity you can click here to get to my shop.

I would be very happy about comments and opinions, maybe there are even more embroiders, who knows! I can only recommend it, it's a really nice job which doesn't make many more, I have the feeling. Especially my generation!

Ciao!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16