Growing and Preserving Food for the benefit of Self, Community, and the Planet

in #en6 years ago (edited)

Growing some of your own food and preserving some of the harvest is a great way to help provide a year round supply of wholesome food for your family and others around you. When you grow and preserve your own food, you can be assured of the quality and the care taken to produce it. The money savings from growing your own food is another benefit - the mason jars used for the food preservation are sanitized and re-used for the next year - this also cuts back on the waste created on our planet from discarded food packaging. Helping out a neighbor in need by showing them how to preserve their own food, gifting them some of your extra preserves, or by making preserve trades with them is a great way to build community. There will be many updates for this project as I document and walk through the harvest and preservation process of my cabin terrace garden. The goal of this project is inspire people to grow and preserve their own food, and to provide the step-by-step instructions for the preservation. Small steps towards a healthier planet.

Cabin Terrace Garden Harvests on the Way

It was slow start this growing season for the new cabin terrace garden, but with consistent watering and a topping of compost - the garden is growing well and filling in nicely. In the picture below you can see Hungarian hot wax peppers that I will let turn red until more 'banana peppers' are ready for harvest.

banana_propup2.jpg

Plans for Preserving the Harvest

In the picture below you can see the small garden that is growing a variety of cherry tomatoes, pickling cucumbers, cayenne hot peppers, and Hungarian hot wax peppers. I suspect there are a few more weeks until I'll be harvesting much from the garden. Some of the harvest will be preserved in mason jars, some will be sun-dried before preservation. The goal is to preserve a year's supply of my family's favorite food from our garden.

Progress Update Posts

I will post updates as the garden harvest project progresses - including the sun powered food dehydrator build, the harvests, cucumber and hot pepper ring pickling and preserving, tomato sauce and salsa making and preserving, cayenne hot pepper preserving, and cherry tomato dehydrating - and preserving.

cabinview_B.jpg

Estimated Harvest Preserving Costs:

Sun Powered Food Dehydrator Build

Before harvest I will be building a sun powered food dehydrator to help preserve many of the cherry tomato varieties.

$20 - Used 2'x3' window (already have one)
$15 - Wood for building the dehydrator box (already have)
$5 - Drying racks

Tools for Mason Jar Food Preserving

$80 - Multi-Use Stock Pot for Jar Sanitizing and Preserving (already have)
$15 - Mason Jar Preserving Kit with large funnel and jar tongs
$6 - Mason Jar Stock Pot Basket
$6 - Canning Ladel

Supplies for Mason Jar Food Preserving

$20 - 2 Dozen 500 ml Mason Jars
$13 - 9 x 750 ml Mason Jars
$10 - 3 Litres of White Vinegar
$10 - 1 Litre of Olive Oil


$200 - Estimated Start up Cost for this first harvest*

*Only white vinegar, olive oil, optional additional jars, and possibly a few jar lid replacements would need to be purchased for preserving future harvests. If this food preserving setup was used for 10 years, if no jars break, and with estimating $20 in jar lid replacements, that would work out to $22 per year for the cost of preserving the garden harvest.

The Garden Harvest

Hungarian Hot Wax Peppers

Also know as 'banana peppers', Hungarian hot wax peppers are my favorite. When there are enough green, orange, and red banana peppers for a batch of mixed hot pepper rings - then I will harvest. From what I already see growing in the garden, I should be able to preserve enough for the year.

Cayenne Hot Pepper

After they mature and turn red, some of the Cayenne hot peppers below will be dried, most will be preserved as hot sauce.

Cucumbers and Pickling Cucumbers

I steer the ever expanding cucumber vines away from the hot pepper plants - many cucumbers are on the way. Most of the cucumbers will be picked when they are small and sliced to be preserved as sweet pickles.

Cherry Tomato Varieties

This garden is growing five varieties of indiscriminate growth cherry tomato vines that are strung up to a trellis with the branches pruned so they can be grown closer together for a more plentiful harvest. Some of the cherry tomatoes will be sun-dried, some will be preserved as salsa, the majority will be preserved as tomato sauce - my son's favorite.

Candyland Hybrid

Sakura Hybrid

Sugar Rush Hybrid

Sweetie Classic

Jasper Hybrid

Looking forward to the garden harvests. Until then I will prepare for preserving them.

Support this project on Fundition.io

Sort:  

Great photos. Cucumber bloom is very nice. Looks like you are super organized and ready for harvest. I was impressed you could still differentiate the different types of cherry tomatoes. But I guess maybe that speaks more to my level of organization... great content @jackdub

Thanks - the candyland hybrids have very distinct leaves different from the rest - a small plant - grape size cherry tomatoes. The Jasper hybrid plant and tomatoes are bigger than the candyland hybrid, and noticibly smaller than the other 3 varieties. Sweetie looks similar to sakura, but the tomatoes of the sweetie are only growing with 4 in a bunch while the sukura hybrid has 8 or more tomatoes per bunch. The sugar rush tomatoes have a slight egg shape to them. I admit I'm waiting for a few of the pepper plants to fruit so I can figure out what variety they are - I was a little more organized with the tomatoes :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Some great plants there and they all look nice and healthy. I like your Chilli plants. It's amazing how such a small plant can yield such a large chilli, they must be super efficient.
The tomatoes a coming on nicely too.

Thanks - the banana pepper plant in the first picture I had to prop up with a rock because the peppers were too heavy for it :) The cayenne pepper plant got off to a great start, I'll be starting the pepper seeds in February next year to be sure they have a chance to get larger. I'm looking forward to seeing the peppers when they turn red.

Looks to be growing really well. I love the way you're looking ahead to pickling and preserving rather than thinking oh no I have too much produce a better pickle it as I do. Really interested to see the build of the drying rack which is something I really want to do full stop crazy not too in Australian temperatures. I love the banana Peppers they are really great on a barbecue.

Next year I'll grow more, the extras will go to the market. I want to grow as much of my own food as I can, so I'll have to preserve every year :) .. I'll be posting the opensource design and build for the sun powered food dehydrator on steemit, here's a super rough sketch of the design, where the trays go in will be a bit lower down the back of the dehydrator on the final design...
Memo_20180805_104253_01-2.jpg

Congratulations @jackdub! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You sure have some food harvest coming up!! I love tomatoes and that made me hungry for a good old salad with oil and vinegar!!!

Good job prepping the conservation.... I was fortunate to find 2 brand new dozen mason jars at the dump a couple months ago, I hope to find time to conserve our little harvest!

Thanks for that post @jackdub good to see your progress!

Thanks - 2 dozen mason jars - that's a good score - The cucumber vines would have almost taken over the garden by now if I hadnt kept diverting them :) oil and vinegar's my favorite for salads - so simple and wholesome. I'm looking forward to seeing the shelf fully stocked for the year with some of our favorites :)

I bet you are looking forward to seeing your bounty on the shelf! Sorry for the late reply @jackdub, it's been crazy busy over here... barely any time these days.

I thought I had enough food preserved and canned last year for the entire year for a family of five. Little did I know then that I would be feeding basically 16 extra people! The food supply really helped but didn't go far. This year's plan was to do up at least two years supply from the garden. That hasn't worked out quite right either as we are eating more than saving. I guess this means back to the drawing board for next year!

I'll be digging out new garden beds for the next few years I'm guessing, the ever expanding garden beds. 16 extra people is a lot of mouths to feed, you must have a good size garden. So far I'm working the gardens to eventually feed just the 3 of us, but I have plans to feed many more :)

I have about an acre planted in veggies and then I have all my fruit trees and vines. It still is a lot of people. If we ever get peace and tranquillity in this country I will be looking to expand what we have started and perhaps plant a community garden to get folks here looking at feeding their families healthy foods.

LOve seeing your progress posts and your plans to keep growing your development and gardens

You have a great garden going on Jack. I also planted Hungarian peppers. I didn’t realize they were hot peppers until I read the tag after planting. Anyhow they are growing nicely but not quite as big as yours. I can use them in sauces and pizza.

Thanks - banana peppers are excellent on pizza, I like them on sandwiches too, or even as a side. Just the right ammount of heat for me, almost sweet - not like the cayenne pepper, that i'll have to use sparingly :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 219 (8/07/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34