The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Welcome to this weeks Engagement and Curation leagues, kindly sponsored by the awesome @curie!

newtitle.png

288 Comments last week, thanks everyone!


To enter the leagues drop a comment below (for a lifetime membership - you need ask to be removed)

The league tables are reset each week and so any time is a good time to join!

On your marks, get set, curate!


The Engagement League - Sponsored by @curie



This the newer league which is not based around financial rewards and relates to engagement.

Everyone currently on my master list has a chance here - including those powering down or dealing in delegations this past couple of weeks.

I've used some metrics (which is the fancy way of saying that made up some numbers) relating to:

  • Posts (P)
  • Comments - number of (C)
  • Comments - replies to replies - depth > 2 (C R)
  • Comments - length in characters (C L)
  • Witness votes (W) (for those proxying witness votes, your total is always 30)
  • Upvotes to others (V)
  • Upvotes to different authors (U V)
  • Self-votes - a (getting smaller each week) minus score for this one sorry! (S V)




Firstly, if you are placed in the table above then you among the top 20% of the league entrants!

Congratulations to this weeks Engagement League winner, who takes the first prize for the third week in a row, @janton! ๐Ÿ†

@janton holds first place to take home the top prize of 5 STEEM! A huge number of lower level replies and comment text is the main reason for this weeks triple crown winner.

The lovely @lynncoyle1 overtakes the also lovely @gillianpearce and these ladies have finished in 2nd and 3rd this week. Well done both!

Excellent engagement levels also from @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @themanwithnoname, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, and @davemccoy who will all be receiving some STEEM this week.

Also, well done to @glenalbrethsen for his engagement and allowing the prizes to head further down the list.

Those without a self-vote (from their main account at least! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ) and placed in the top ranks will also receive a little STEEM. These people are: @cicisaja, @hashcash, @angelro, @tryskele, @emmakkayluv, @mountainjewel, @enjar, @anouk.nox, and @mariannewest.


The Curation League / Rewards based

The raw data has been collected from SteemSQL - @arcange's MS SQL Server copy of the Steem Blockchain.

The formula used for 'quality of financial curation skill' is:

Curation Rewards DIVIDED BY Steem Power MULTIPLIED BY 1000

This will return the amount of Curation rewards gained per 1000 Steem Power held


The rules (which will cause auto-filtering of your account if not met so just enter anyway and see what happens!) to appear in this league:

  • No programmed voting! Following a trail is OK, using a script to vote for you is not (but well done if you have done that!)

  • Must have voted at least once on a piece of content in the past 7 days

  • Must not have leased or delegated Steem Power in the last 14 days

  • Must not have Started a Power Down (withdrawal of Steem Power) in the last 15 days

The 2nd and 3rd points above are not 'bad' actions, but are required to reduce distortion of the figures.

And, as curation rewards for the past week are actually taken from votes made up to 14 days ago, we need a two week 'window' as mentioned above.

Don't let this put you off entering though - you will be automatically be excluded/appear each week, depending on the criteria above.

The end column is what I think is a genuine indicator of how well you are financially working the curation game with the tools, including vested Steem Power, that you have at your disposal.


๐ŸŽ Prizes ๐ŸŽ

The Engagement League

0 votes to self - Spot Prizes

Lucky number 25 in The Engagement League

A @steembasicincome share, courtesy of yours truly, goes to @enjar!

Well done all!


Finally

  • If you have spotted any glaring errors in my post, please let me know so I can fix them

  • If you would like to be added or removed from the master list, give me a shout

  • If you have any other comments or suggestions, please enter them into the box below


Thank you everyone, have an awesome Sunday!

Asher @abh12345

steemdivider.png

If you feel that the Curation Leagues are a worthwhile addition to the Steem Blockchain, please consider a vote for our witness - @steemcommunity - https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Find out more about our project here
steemdivider.png

Sort: ย 

@janton, @lynncoyle1, @gillianpearce, @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @themanwithnoname, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, @davemccoy @glenalbrethsen @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @themanwithnoname, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, and @davemccoy , @cicisaja, @hashcash, @angelro, @tryskele, @emmakkayluv, @mountainjewel, @enjar, @anouk.nox, and @mariannewest.
@abh12345-----@curie

To say congratulation is an understatement. You have nor I the impact, ripples that you have made that have a direct impact on this platform. Collectively the amount of comments, engagement that just this groupe made is 2 mil (length in characters) over one week.

If this keeps up we as a group will have to get our own server to keep up with the volume. That's ok I have an i7 commercial grade processor on the way LOL. There is over 300 members in the league here and that's just a fraction of the platform

I am glad to see @steemcommunity is expanding the league into other areas such as a redfish League and an Indonesia League I hope that we can give them support as well by spreeding the word

Thanks to all of you for all the support you give out and allowing me into this family
Thanks Asher We all made a great choice selecting you as our witness and freind

Thanks @wolfhart!

I am glad to see @steemcommunity is expanding the league into other areas such as a redfish League and an Indonesia League I hope that we can give them support as well by spreading the word

Yes I am loving this, and @c-squared and @simplymike are in on the act too. Also: https://steemit.com/steemit/@aneukpineung78/liga-liga-paulag-bergembira-di-steemit-seperti-biasa-dan-berpeluang-mendapat-reward-53ff48dfcbfa1

Engagement everywhere ๐Ÿ˜

I'm planning on introducing the Red Fish league in Bahasa in nearly time. It will be a translation to @paulag's 'Red Fish League' article. Good work @steemcommunity. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Thats some good stuff you both are doing
I was Talking to @simplymike earlier about Minnows (above 500 sp).
Maybe a league could be started for Minnows. Once the redfish league is done is done they would have a place to go. I tag you on my post and a comment from simplymike was attached to the main post which will give you an idea of the conversation.
If you could look at it and give your thoughts I would appreciate it. Your insight is valuable here and far greater than mine on possibilities
here is the link so you don't have to search for it. I went and gave the link above a read and support
https://steemit.com/anhouraday/@wolfhart/minnows-will-they-be-left-behind-78343bd4bccfe

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Yes, was asking @paulag about that too on the Redfish League post for those of us who don't intend to stay too long under that 500 SP benchmark, @wolfhart. ;)

Will go look at your post and @simplymike's and @abh12345's responses once I'm done my post.

I think I was in the redfish league for two days LOL when an opportunity came along and booted me out.
I find the leagues to be and incredible asset to the platform. Asher has always been there to bounce thoughts ideas off of. The people in the league I can't say enough about.
Thanks

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Ha haa!! That must have been the shortest stay possible! Congratzzz on that wonderful opportunity and I'm sure @PaulaG is happy you're her first graduate. ;)

I find the leagues to be and incredible asset to the platform.

I'm new to it but am very happy to have found out about it some weeks ago and to be able to come see what I was up to the previous week plus interact with everyone here.

Been distracted in last few weeks but will be mentioning more in my weekly #ulogs to help others become aware of it too.

As I said to @abh12345 on Sunday, he has gathered around him an amazing and inspiring group of Steemians. Leaguers contribute tons in terms of quality content and engagement that adds up to that all important daily 'activity' that is so important to the blockchain.

But they also act as role models that younger or newly re-turned-on older Steemians can look to, to grow their own active contribution to our platform.

Looking forward to getting to know everyone better as time goes by and Congratzzz again, @wolfhart.

But they also act as role models that younger or newly re-turned-on older Steemians can look to, to grow their own active contribution to our platform.

That is the biggest benefit of the league. The ability to learn all aspects of the platform and exchange ideas. To gain from the others Their knowledge and experience

I found that one and put a reply there a little while ago. I think it's important not to be too selfless before you have some support in place. More in the reply on your post.

I read it, thanks
I always appreciate your insight and take it to heart. So much to learn. Not only on how to grow your account but more importantly growth in knowledge of the platform
Thanks Asher

My pleasure, I enjoy helping where I can ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you @wolfhart and I could copy and paste this right back to you! I like the way how you figured out collectively what we've all done here. That's a great way to look at it!

Its the way I look at most things. I look at the big picture and I also see all the parts to it.
We all contribute to the whole and are all part of it. What we do has an effect , positive or negitive.

2 mil in one week? I didn't actually realize that. I guess I was not able to see the bigger picture but wow! It makes me want to be engaging all the more lol!

Congrats to all!

people seem to underestimate the power of engagement. It has to be at the top of the list of the thing to do.

Let's keep encouraging others to do so and keep inviting them over to this league :D

I do agree and with the engagement league also.

Thank you @wolfhart... I think you'll be a witness too in couple months๐Ÿ˜‰, you've that nature through your posts.

Hey @wolfhart. I agree with you. We are having an impact with the leagues, and we probably don't know to what extent. It's hard to tell from day to day and from our small corner of it, but we do get a feel for it when we're out there, and we can see at least a portion of the collective might when the week's statistics are revealed.

Changing subjects just a little bitโ€”I'm not sure what everyone else read, but I get the distinct feeling you're getting ready to throw your witness hat into the ring. Or am I reading this part wrong:

If this keeps up we as a group will have to get our own server to keep up with the volume. That's ok I have an i7 commercial grade processor on the way LOL.

Or better said, you're talking a leagues' community server with you fronting the costs. :)

I have an i7 commercial processor coming and trying to figure a way to utilize it to its potential. How I don't know. Intel had a drawing and I won. Still have to get a motherboard and RAM
It would be a shame to let it go to waste playing a game or some other thing.

I am working on an IT guy to help fulltime. Going to pull a Clinton and set it up in NY with 1000 mps in an apt bathroom. LOL. I don't know about the bathroom, but working on it

Have not given being a witness any thought, still learning

Well, congratulations on the drawing. A commercial grade processor is pretty awesome. I'm guessing you must know how to build a computer, though, if you're talking about getting some other parts. In other words, you're not swapping out the processor (if that would even be compatible) in an existing computer, but looking to build one.

I guess as long as you're not pulling in State secrets on this fancy bathroom server of yours, then no harm no foul. A thousand mbps would be pretty awesome, too.

I figured being a community witness manager at least was what you were volunteering for if we kept up the engagement, thus requiring more space or something. :) I'm with you, though. Witness probably won't be something I go for myself. Even if I could learn enough to make me feel comfortable with it.

Yea my knowledge is not even close enough for thinking about witness.
I built this one over a year ago and it's still a top tier computer. I have not even overclocked it. It will be good for years to come.
I will build a system around the new processor. Just need to figure out the purpose. It will be a waste to use the new CPU as a laptop. it will also take me a little time to purchase the components. It's not like it will need a graphics card or all the bells and whistles. So for now just doing some brainstorming.

Thanks and wow that's some serious amount of characters lol :) Sounds pretty cool! Lets keep it up all together!

Yea it is LOL
you can't just congratulate one without the others. Just would not be right.
However everyone on the list deserve a congrats. Including all of them individually would have been out of line. ๐Ÿค”
Team effort !

Thanks for taking over @abh12345

No worries dude, I hope you are getting plenty of sun over there and have a spot lined up for the game this evening :D

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

HUGE Congratzzzz to @janton for taking the top prize AGAIN... 3 weeks in a row. Excellent job!

And HUGE Congratzzzz to the juggernaut engagement League females, @lynncoyle1 and @gillianpearce, for second and third respectively. AMAZINGGGGG, Ladies!!!

To make it in to the Top 10???!!! Wowza! HUGE Congratzzz to everyone who did.... @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @themanwithnoname, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, @davemccoy and @glenalbrethsen (honorary).... I'd like to be like ya'll when I grow up. ;)

And to everyone else who placed anywhere in the Leagues this week, another round of HUGE Congratzzzz. You all are AWESOME.

@abh12345, Thank you again for doing all it takes to put out this report every week. It's become a lovely way to review the week and get a feel for what we've been spending our Steemit time doing. Thanks so much, Asher.

PS Any Texans in the house? I spelled 'y'll' as 'ya'll' first awhile ago, went to look it up and got all confused, then found a blog by a Texan saying it's 'y'all' and changed it. I don't want to dig through all my emails from my fav Texan mama to remember how she spells it... help please. ;)

EDIT: S, 1.7.18, 8:51pm, CST Jamaica

PPS THANK YOU for all the input re Texan spelling of 'you all'. Going with Texan @janton's redneck version... more fun than sophisticated always... so 'ya'll or y'll'. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thanks! You did really well yourself, so congrats to you too!

I think it would be spelled "y'all" as it is an abbreviation of "you" and "all." Like "you're" and other words like it, the apostrophe goes where the replaced letters would have been. That's my thinking, but maybe Texans do it differently. @janton?

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Thank you so much, @themanwithnoname.

I think you're right. And so does the Texan whose blog I visited to check... forgot to link earlier.

I actually used that word in my very first #IntroduceYourself post, so I just need to scrolllllllll alllllll the way downnnnnnnn to find it. ;)

Or maybe not... haven't for awhile but did do some archive posts. Reminder to do another soon. Will check. I know I spelled it right in that title. Thanks again.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

There has to be an easier way to get to your first posts. I don't know it though, so maybe someone else will chime in.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

There is. Found last archive post. Can't believe I haven't updated it in so long. May do it later.

Seems to be like you, my fav Texan mama and that Texan blogger above said... it's 'y'all' in that first post title. But confirmation later by in the house Texans will still be appreciated.

I don't drink coffee usually but maybe I need some this morning? My apologies for mixing up your username earlier, @themanwithnoname.

Cool, you found it! That must have been a lot of scrolling. Ha ha.

No worries. I mix stuff up all the time. Ha ha

"They say it's best to forgive and forget, but it's even easier to not pay attention"
-themanwithnoname

"They say it's best to forgive and forget, but it's even easier to not pay attention"

LOVE this!!! I'm chuckling and giggling over here. Have no idea why but I find that quote by you, @themanwithnoname, to be sooooo funny.

AND sensible guidance to live by. ;)

Oh, please don't live your life by my little quotes. They're mainly stupid things that I come up with spur of the moment. I really wouldn't advise living your life by them. Ha ha

"Lots of people will tell you how to live your life, but before taking their advice see how they live theirs."
-themanwithnoname

Ok, so that's probably actually a good quote, but take it with a grain of salt. ;)

lol! howdy there @themanwithnoname!
well, the redneck version is ya'll or y'll so
if you want to be all sophisticated ya'll can type y'all.

Congrats Janton. Welldone three weeks in a row what an achievement. I am very glad to see it and well deserved
N Texas isn't that part of Oklahoma where they just forgot to extend the line over :)

howdy there @wolfhart and thank you my friend! I couldn't do this stuff without fun people such as yourself to comment to, thanks for all your help and advice!
yes that is the problem with Oklahoma, someone made a serious mistake when they made that border!

LOL Well I guess they had to have a panhandle too

Interesting. I didn't know that! I always thought it was "y'all."

I'm sure it is technically or grammatically
but I don't care about that! lol

Wow. Just finished taking a closer look at top engagement rank. @janton made 627 comments. With 338 additional depth replies. My goosy goomples! Amazing, @janton! Then I noticed new guy @paparodin right on edge of Top 10. Wowza.

I'm getting extra popcorn for next Sunday. ;) You Top Tenners are incredible.

Yeah, @janton goes crazy, but it pays off for him which is great.

Yes. And your type of crazy is paying off handsomely for you too, new guy. ;)

How are you doing? I have a feeling I dropped the ball last week on a comment but I may have caught up.

Where is 2018 flying? Once it's summer, it's time to start preparing turkey and ham for back to back festive seasons towards the end of the year. Geesh. Hello, 2019. ;)

I am just looking forward to the end of summer. I am not build for the heat, I prefer the cold.

That aside, things are good. Could be better, but I am working on it.

Yes, it's super hot here. I keep a spray bottle full of water and have to refill a million times each day to help keep cool. Unfortunately doesn't really get cold here but things start being so intensely hot usually early October.

I'm cheering you on as you create the better. Doing that too myself... just have to drastically reduce time on Steemit. ;)

lol! thank you Ma'am you are a very entertaining writer!

yeah watch out for the new guys! congratulations @paparodin

and thank you @angelacs for the very kind words, if I could write as good as you

I would have had a thousand instead of 627!

My pleasure, kind Sir!

Which rock have I been hiding under to have missed meeting you all this time? Very pleased to make your acquaintance!

thank you Ma'am..well I'm kind of a hermit so I've been invisible. lol.
No, I just started on here 4 weeks ago, first time came in 3rd and liked it.
Did you say you are in Texas?

I have just started to notice you after I have seen you rank in here.

Things like that seem to happen quite often.

howdy @paparodin ..yes sir the League is a great way to get noticed. Very good for a rising star such as yourself, next week you'll be in the top bracket I'm sure. thank you sir for commenting!

I was in the top bracket second to last week. I have to really push it hard to make it again this week.

I just started on here 4 weeks ago, first time came in 3rd and liked it.

Wow! That's excellent, @janton. Amazing actually. You new guys sure don't waste time. ;)

No, I referred to my fav Texan mama... I get her emails and she's a sweetie but knows how to use her boots well too. One of my fav online gals. I'm in Jamaica.

lol! that is superb! you gals gotta stick together.
what is life like in Jamaica? I know that's too broad of a question sorry.
are you a native of Jamaica and do you work outside the home to make money?

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hey, @janton,

Sorry to pause the lovely convo flow. I've been unsuccessfully trying to spend less time on Steemit. Have to try harder. ;)

what is life like in Jamaica? ... what is life like in Jamaica?

Pretty much like everywhere else. A lot of crap going on but a beautiful place to live. We call it 'The Rock' and it's where I was born and have lived most of my life. No matter where I live, I'll probably always have a base and spend at least a 3-8 weeks here every year.

... do you work outside the home to make money?

I used to. Left my last job in 1987 and promised myself I'd never work for anyone but myself after that. Done a number of things for $$. Business consultancy mostly and melding that with spirituality/consciousness development... facilitating workshops, energy healing sessions.... those have been the staples since '87.

In between, art work... sold paintings, especially prints in resort hotels and tourist shops... network marketing, on and off for a couple decades, offline then online. Probably worst biz decision I've ever made was to leave Herbalife.

Shifted everything online in 2004. Ran a membership site for a few years, doing group guided meditations and coaching. Then got in to writing and publishing a few series... non-fic and fiction after my Dad passed in 2014. Everything stopped when my sister passed Thanksgiving Day, 2016. Sick most of last year and slowly got back online late last year, early this year.

Steemit early February. Helped get me consistent with content creation again and am now about to organize brand new membership and coaching on something I've been doing since 1990 but never shared much.

By now you MUST be sorry you asked. ;)

How about you, kind Sir?

Thank you @angelacs for the great comment and kind words in support of the Engagement League ๐Ÿ˜

I'm not Texan but prefer Y'ALL!

You're Welcome, @abh12345. All true. You've gathered an excellent cadre of engaging and entertaining Steemians in the League. ;)

I like how you typed that... Y'ALL. Extra oomph! ;)

howdy @angelacs..and thank you for the kind words, you did yourself proud also!
It's an honor to be in such excellent company.
I'm in Texas.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Howdy, @janton. Missed this one and said 'Hello' above. But a pleasure to make your acquaintance, kind Sir.

Ahhhh... well. Your say is FINAL. I think you said it above...

well, the redneck version is ya'll or y'll so
if you want to be all sophisticated ya'll can type y'all.

Redneck all the way. Ya'll it is! That's how I wrote it the first time then changed. Will take care of that now. ;)

Thank you so much again.

lol! but expect to be corrected on it then you gotta tellem what's what!

Oh yeah! I'll tellem for sure! No more confusing this particular phrase. ;)

lol! yes Ma'am sometimes these people need to get educated!

Thank you, @angelacs. Good job to you as well. I thought I will not make it this week but thankful that I did.

Thanksss so much, @leeart! You top peeps ALWAYS say you didn't think you'd all make it... and then... ;)

Congratzzz again for great job. Have an awesome week too.

Thank you @angelacs! Congratulations to you as well :)

You're Welcome, @lynncoyle1!

Just trying to not let you all get over the horizon where I won't even see the dust swirls showing where ya'll at. ;)

haha @angelacs, not to worry, you will forever be in my sights โค๏ธ

@lynncoyle1, what's the code thingy for that cute little heart?

I've been meaning to look up smiley codey thingies and haven't. That heart is so precious.

@angelacs, it's from something called "Fast Reply"; I occasionally use it for replying to comments Here's a post. It's got several emojis you can use with one simple click...like these ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Žโค๏ธ

OMgosh!!! Sooo cute. Thanksss, @lynncoyle1. I'll check out that post and learn! ;)

You're welcome @angelacs ! The emojis are just one of the benefits too!๐Ÿ˜…

Thank you for the HUGE Congratzzzz @angelacs. I might have to start employing you to write my "thank you" posts. You make such a good job of it and I'm running out of new things to say! ๐Ÿ˜‚

HUGE Congratzzzz

Talk about a writing tell, eh?

I'm running out of new things to say! ๐Ÿ˜‚

That's sooo funny, @gillianpearce, because I was looking at it afterwards and wondered 'so what do I write next week?' LOL

Thank you, nonetheless. Maybe we can start stringing words and letters vertically like mad Christmas light designs or something. We have a few days so we'll think of something. Let's mull in between all we're doing in the meantime. ;)

I tried to write a poem @angelacs but failed miserably. But, as you say, we've got another week yet/ ๐Ÿ˜

Another quality week of dedicated Steeemians even during some bleak times as far as engagement here on Steemit. We keep each other strong and have encouraged each other to get out there and engage. It has not been in vain, look at those numbers!

First and foremost, thank you to @abh12345 for again doing the work to put on The Engagement and Curation Leagues. It's becoming a real hub for people who are serious about making a difference around Steemit. I'd be interested to see statistics on how many entrants there are each week (as we only see the top results). The Engagement League is one of the main drivers behind what I do on Steemit and I imagine it is for others as well. Thank you for the prize. I've powered it up already.

Also, thank you to @curie for sponsoring The Leagues. I've been competing for months now and it's one of my favorite things on the platform! The prizes are appreciated and I always power them up. :)

@janton, congratulations on taking the crown for the third week in a row. You've been a seemingly-unstoppable force since you showed up on the scene. I've enjoyed our conversations and look forward to more of them in the future. Wear that crown with pride. You earned it.

@lynncoyle1, I got to comment back and forth with you a bit this week. That's been fun. You're here, there, and everywhere, so anytime the Lynn train stops in town it's nice to catch up. You're doing a lot of hard work that doesn't even get picked up in the stats, so thanks for helping make Steemit a better place.

@gillianpearce, you're always a contender. Congrats on getting on the podium again! I don't know how you find the time, but you do it consistently. I think that's one of the keys. I'm still amazed that you're able to get out four posts per day, but hey, you gotta get paid! You'll be a whale in no time! Don't forget us when you're famous.

@glenalbrethsen, another fine showing this week. I saw you around in many different places and that was with you taking some time to do other things. You have been one of the people who have elevated everyone else's games and now we have a better idea of what we can expect from ourselves. Thanks for the motivation. I normally have something in the back of my mind that tells me I should try harder so I can beat you. :D

Also, congratulations to my fellow Top 10ers - @funbobby51, @eaglespirit, @bashadow, @maverickinvictus, @leeart, and @davemccoy. You all did great out there! You're some of the best and I'm glad to share the company of such as you.

Lastly, thank you to @themanwithnoname. I couldn't do this without you. Wait. Sorry. I got confused. Ha ha!

"You can engage with others, but for it to be meaningful, you must first engage with yourself."
-themanwithnoname

Thank you @themanwithnoname

I do like to hear about prizes being powered up right away :)

This week there were 320 valid entrants into the Engagement League, which means that 180 members who are on the list didn't make a comment at all this past week. That actually sounds like quite a lot, but I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting - That would be in line with @paulag's findings last month.

"You can engage with others, but for it to be meaningful, you must first engage with yourself."

Nice line!

Cheers!

I happened to be around, so I think I had that powered up before you even got the post out. :)

I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting

Sadly, 80% of new accounts going inactive sounds about right. There seems to be an influx, then slowly they leave. Do you have a limit on how long they can be inactive before you don't include them in the League?

That wasn't my best quote. They're meant to be more humorous, but I'm really tired and couldn't come up with something right away. That's the rule, it's got to be a top-of-the-head thing.

"You can put a hat on your head, but if your head isn't screwed on right, the hat will fall off with it and get dirty. That's why I always get extended warranties on my hats."
-themanwithnoname

I include them in the list, but if there is no comment in a week then they won't appear - and return to the list if they then return.

No need for humour when the quote makes good sense - I was thinking it was a spiritual effort ๐Ÿ˜Š

So they're really on the list until they opt out. That's probably not a big deal if it doesn't take any longer to run the query.

It was supposed to be semi-spiritual. Normally my new quote series is funny though, so I was trying to do both. It was too much.

"Before you juggle many knives at one time, make sure you know how to juggle. Surprisingly, not everyone thinks of this."
-themanwithnoname

hahaha what's with the quotes today? I like them!

After talking with @glenalbrethsen about how I kept misquoting him, I decided to start sharing some wisdom with people by way of making up quotes. :D

Well if it's ok with you @themanwithnoname, I may join in with some quotes of my own.

"When you're unsure of the accuracy of something, simply make it up using stats and big words. No one will notice a thing."
-lynncoyle1

Actually, the list is taking longer to compile and so I may at some point need to think about removing the inactive.

I can juggle 3 items quite well, never tried with knives though!

I was wondering about the compiling time. Maybe if someone misses three or four in a row then they're removed until they ask to get back in. Vacations can go two weeks sometimes, but three weeks might mean they gave up. I don't know.

"They said they were going to close the inactive accounts, so I went out and spent all my money... just in case."
-themanwithnoname

Thank you so much @themanwithnoname! What a lovely comment; it was nice catching up with you this week :) Congratulations to you too!!

Well, you're a lovely person so of course it was nice catching up!

"They call it 'catching up' because gravity pulls things down. If you're 'catching down' you're going to get hit in the head with a baseball."
-themanwithnoname

hahaha annnnd you're back @themanwithnoname !! Thanks for always making me laugh :)

"Life without laughter is like peanut butter without jelly, or themanwithnoname without silver. Just crazy"
-lynncoyle1


"Life without laughter is like peanut butter without jelly, or themanwithnoname without silver. Just crazy"
-lynncoyle1

YES! 10 Points for Lynnindoor!

Happy I can make you laugh. :D

You'll be a whale in no time!

Ha, ha, ha. That's hilarious @themanwithnoname. Although you could be right. I think I'm only approx 449,500 Steem power short. Easy, peasy. should be there by Christmas. ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚

And of course I won't forget you when I'm famous. although I'm not sure what that has to do with becoming a whale. I like a quiet life. ๐Ÿ˜Š

So you're a little short, that's ok. Keep at it and you'll be there before... something. It could be a while. Although you have a few strong supports and you post often, so I could see it not taking too long for you.

Quiet life is great! Good call.

"If you say you don't like the quiet life, sleep with a rooster outside your window. You'll soon get an appreciation for the quiet. Or the rooster might get appreciation in a soup pot."
-themanwithnoname

you're a little short

That's hilarious @themanwithnoname. That has to be the most optimistic statement I've heard for a long time.

"If you say you don't like the quiet life, try sleeping in Gillian's room when the world cup is on. (Not when Gillian's there of course because that would be just plain weird!) You'll soon get an appreciation for the quiet. Or the football supporters might get an appreciation for buckets of cold water".
~gillianpearce

Ha ha ha, I like your quote. :)

Well, @themanwithnoname, I don't know how far afield I got last week or the week before, but I appreciate you looking out for me. I guess I took some time off purposefully (my birthday counts), but most of the rest of it was not intentional. Saturday was just a lousy day to get things done in. Wednesday (being Independence Day and a day off for my wife) probably won't be so productive either.

At any rate, it's nice to think something I'm doing, especially in the leagues, is having an impact. I don't know how many of you really need motivation beyond your own desires to excel and to whatever fashion the incentives might speak to ya'll, but hey if what I'm doing is pushing you along somewhere back there in your head, I'm happy to be a part of the journey. :)

I'm kind of thinking it's time I started elevating my own game again. Enough of this lollygagging. I mean, I don't have all control over it, and I don't have to push myself relentlessly, but I probably should come up with an effort that's more indicative of the time I'm spending here, if not closer to my potential.

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

I mean, that 50,000 point mark has been well out of reach for me for a while now. Not sure how yet, but it's getting time to step up and just do it.

Yes! Maybe this won't be your week because of the day off on Wednesday, but next week will be the week. This is going to be exciting. Maybe we can get @abh12345 to send you private daily updates that you can post so we can track your progress as you seek to slay the 50,000 point mark starting next week.

"It's important to have benchmarks. Otherwise, how will you know where to put the benches?"
-themanwithnobench

Problem is, you kind of have to roll with it when you're feeling it, and I'm starting to feel it. :) Maybe I just kind of warm up this week, and go for it next week? I don't know. I can comment all I want but I need several people, maybe 30-40, that are willing to engage back. Otherwise, I'm doing more searching for posts than I am commenting. Not a good use of time.

You're right, you do need some people to comment back and forth with. You could always try doing two parts of a conversation with yourself. Ha ha.

Yeah, man, warm up this week and we're excited to see you break this this wide open next week.

Who's we? Me and you? Or you already spreading the word? As far as I know, you and I are the only ones aware that I've been thinking of 50,000 as a possibility. I'm not even sure how many people actually pay attention to the points. Okay, now I'm getting a little paranoid. :)

I could just set up another couple of accounts. Actually, I've been thinking it would be cool to set up some character accounts and comment like they would. The Darth Vader one that I used to see around a lot is some of the most hilarious things I've ever seen. :) At any rate, I could just spend all the day making comments to myself and whoever actually wanted to join in.

"Somehow, though, I don't think that would be keeping with the spirit of the leagues. Just a hunch."
โ€”glenalbrethsen

I'm pretty sure we've talked on the Engagement League post before about you getting to 50,000 points. I guess I was using the executive "we."

I've thought about setting up some other accounts too, but I had been saving my SP to get to 500. Now that I joined Steemsilvergold and delegated some SP to them, I'm back below 500, so I could spend the Steem without negative effect. I had a few ideas. I'll have to go through my mental list and see what I come up with.

That would be pretty funny if you had some good character accounts that talked to each other.

It probably wouldn't be in the spirit of the league, but it might be entertaining for me to witness! :D

It seems to me, and I could be totally mistaken about this, but a good old fashioned "fabricated" feud between two or more accounts would not only be entertaining, but potentially lucrative. The idea would be to make it somewhat obvious that it's fake, but not so obvious to keep people guessing. And, somehow avoid flags. People can get on a high horse faster than you can say, "Hi Ho Silver!"

Hey Asher, I'm sorry it took me so long to respond... I have been working on the Minnow/Newbie Palooza ;)...

I am first thankful that you continued again this week to get the game going. As always it was a big motivator to me during the week to keep going! I also appreciate the prize that you offer and love that it enables me to give some money back to your guys through @friendsofgondor! :)

And I also want to welcome @janton into top of the league for the 3rd straight week... That puts @janton in the league of the King @glenalbrethsen and Queen @lynncoyle1. Rarified territory indeed! Great job @janton, I'm very impressed and happy to see you being so consistent week in and week out!

Have a great week Asher and I hope you enjoy your sunshine and beautiful outdoor scenery! ;)

No worries :)

Yes I've seen the 'Minnow/Newbie Palooza' coming together and have sent you something for the prize pool.

@janton has started with a bang hasn't he! Hopefully someone can come out of the crowd and push him this week.

Good luck with your latest project, the one myself and Paula had in mind is on the back-burner for now, but hopefully other bits and bobs will be on the way soon. Cheers!

@janton really has done and I'm sure will continue to do a really great job! I'm ok with anywhere in the top 3 :)

Loading...

Finally, I made it back into the top 20 again. That calls for my happy dance again (it's been a while)

33C64F44-5FCA-42B7-A429-D20A914D4C46-24175-00001A2CB07A7BC6.GIF

I really tried my best this time, but still missed two or three days.
It's going to be hard to beat the toppers, though. I think I'll just be satisfied with my place in the top 20 and give up any ambitions I had to take over that top spot. I'm not ready yet to play with the big boys (and girls again, lol)

Congrats to everyone on the lists. You're doing a great job

woohooooo she's back!!! :)

I have always been so happy to make the list at all. Trying to climb it will be a whole new experience for me.

Welcome back with the happy dance!

Good to see a solid score from you again, much better than myself - the sun and the football limiting my engagement, amd the big-boys are just too fast!

They are fast for sure.
I assume next week I will drop again, or all the reasons you name.
Now Belgium has made it to the quarters, I plan to see as may matches as I can - checking out the opponents, lol.
And we do have a genuine heatwave here. No beach nearby, but an inflatable swimming pool in the garden is a great way to pass the time. :-)

Welcome back @simplymike. ๐Ÿ˜

Thanks, @gillianpearce
I'm not sure how long it will last, but it's nice to be in the top 20 again for once :-)

I haven't seen that in a long time. That gif just makes me smile. Congrats!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Congrats y'll, ya'll, y'all! See what I did there @angelacs? Lol!

Huge congrats to @janton! You are on fire. Keep it up.

Thumbs up to you @glenalbrethsen.

Thanks again asher and curie for this amazing league. I hope we can beat the 288 comments. Is it the highest number of comments so far?

Thumbs up to you, too, though I'm not sure why you mentioned me, or better yet, singled me out, @leeart! Congratulations too you, though, on making the Top 10. How are things going? I guess I haven't been in your corner of Steemit lately. Been trying to dig out of my own. :)

You are still making lots of engagement. Still opted to be excluded? Me, too. I haven't been making the rounds for most. Just trying to get here whenever I can.

Oh, okay. I'm trying, anyway. Between fewer folks posting and commenting (at least it seems like that for meโ€”the rest of you seem to have no problem finding people :), and my own slump (last two weeks have not been very good), my engagement hasn't been that high, at least not to my own standards. I guess it's all relative.

Yeah, I've still opted out. Janton has been doing quite well lately, but he's pretty new and can use all the STEEM he can get. We'll see, when I get back in. Could be soon. Could be never. I like the competition, though, so hopefully my name will continue to show up somewhere on the list. :)

Okay, well, I hope all is well. I'm going to try to get around more this week if possible. No guarantees, but I think the fog I'm in is lifting a little anyway, so maybe I'll have more ambition. Or not. :)

I was not able to make it to the top 10 for a couple of weeks I think. I was lucky to make it this week. I hope you get around more and enter the competition again :)

Thanks Lee!

I think around the start of the year we had a couple with 400-500 comments. A 2nd spot at the time of @arcange's auto message this week looks very healthy for this post :D

Well done on your prize, again!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜

So this is for getting rewarded for being activ in the community?
If yes i would like to join :D

Yes that is correct, you have been added :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98