Is it a violin? No, it's a viola!

in #english6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

Today I come to tell you about the instrument that has enchanted me since the first day I played it: The Viola

IMG_20180903_133628 - copia.jpg

Photo taken with Vtelca V8200 +

Yes! It may seem like a violin at first glance, but it is different, its size is a bit bigger and its sound is sweeter, melancholic and deeper.

Violin-Viola.jpg

Image taken from Wikipedia Source

Basically they have the same parts, the acoustic box, bow, pegs, bridge, but the strings are different.
The Violin has the following strings: Sol(G), Re(D), La(A), and Mi(E). While in the viola, these change a little and are: Do(C), Sol(G), Re(D) and La(A). The sonority is more grave than that of the small violin.

As an instrumentalist of this wonderful instrument, I feel it my duty to let you know this important part of my life.

IMG_20180903_133655 - copia.jpg

Photo taken with Vtelca V8200 +

Many times they have seen me in the streets carrying the instrument on my back in the case, and I listen to the children saying:

- Look mom, a violin!

They provoke a small smile, accompanied by a feeling of tenderness, 😊 and often the same happens with the Cello (or Violoncello):

- That violin if it's big! 😲

I can't blame them, it is a very little known instrument because it is very similar to its cousin the violin.

IMG_20180903_133346 - copia2.jpg

Photo taken with Vtelca V8200 +

It's believed that the viola is an ancestor, and the origin of the family of stringed instruments, but it is a subject that still causes controversy, since it's not known with certainty whether it is true or not.

It can be said that William Primrose (1903-1982) was the most outstanding violist of the modern era, and contributed greatly to the instrument's acquisition of more recognition.

William_primrose.jpg

Image taken from Wikipedia Source

And for those who do not believe that it is an instrument with a beautiful sound, I'll invite you to listen this piece:

https://d.tube/v/amyth/qc1z41as

I hope very soon to share more pieces played by me.

So far I leave for today, I hope you liked the information, greetings and much love for all. 😃

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Thank you very much for the support! 👍😁

Congratulations @amyth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82