It's Clay Time!!

in #english5 years ago

Working with the alphabet can be frightening for young second language learners.

The best way I found to work with the lower grades in ESL is to dance the ABCs and make shapes with the body while stretching. I’m in the second week of English camp and now teaching third grade Korean students. I have been frustrated over the years that students couldn’t get the basic alphabet even though they finished so many worksheets. I realized they were doing work and then forgetting it. They needed to own the alphabet. We started each day with alphabet aerobics making our body into the letters of the alphabet. We spent two days focusing on clay art and basic Claymation of the alphabet and simple words we could put together. We made it all the way up to X, Y, Z.

The clay is white but students used markers to add colors to the clay.

Students made simple words like milk and cat and dog. We had letter making races and then word scrabble for simple words in clay. Students like milk and cat. I have no idea why. One girl started to move her letters around on the table. I realized that she saw an animation in her mind. I took a couple photos and put them together for her and here is what I got.

Cat Gif.gif

In third grade students like English.

For some of them it is their favorite subject. Something happens in the next two years. When they get to fifth grade all of the students say their favorite subject is PE. It’s because they never owned the basic words and letters as their own so when more word were added and homework assignments and lectures about grammar were introduced the students just wrote English off as one of the boring subjects.

If I am bored then for sure my students will be bored.

I spent a week making simple comics and characters with the kids here. We had a role play that the kids wrote based on their characters and they had a lot of laughs. I actually feel better than I did when I started the English camp. However I would like to have a vacation. I will end this with a snowman one of the students made with the left over clay. So often students finish the minimum and say, “Teacher I’m finished.” I told them the first day when you are finished then make something new. This is what I got.

Peace,

@mineopoly

Sort:  

A great way to help students remember the alphabet, Christopher. Love how you put your heart into helping your students learn. Cute snowmen. ⛄️ 😊 U&R

I usually teach 5th and 6th grade and I was nervous about teaching these kids for a week but I loved it.

Hello there friend. Its been a while. I hope the holidays we're awesome for you and the family.

What a great way to teach the alphabet. I had Spanish in high school... in honors and did well but as soon as i graduated that was the end and while I still remember a bunch of words, its definitely not enough to understand or speak.

Good to see you @mineopoly

I'm always happy to hear from you @monchhichi23,

Language acquisition is very similar to learning to skate or ride a bike. There is tons of practice up front and it sure helps if you own a pair of skates or a bike. It really doesn't take much knowledge but a ton of persistence so the kid who wants to learn will learn.

What are you up too these days?

I have been teaching on the train or in my free time I filled up a sketch book of cartoons and stick figures. I'm working on the best way to put them all together.

Mardi Gras is in the beginning of March so I've been busy getting those pesky coconuts painted... once that's done things will slow down for me tremendously and I'll be able to write more.

I've never been on a train @mineopoly. How cool is it that you get to teach on one. I would love to take an educational train ride. And I would love to see your sketch book.

haha! great job sir mineopoly! Those kids are so lucky to have you there because you can solve these learning issues creatively and entertainingly. they need to give you a raise.

A raise would really help. I can only pray and act like I deserve it.

howdy again sir mineopoly! What is their system like as far as raises, do you get a small cost of living raise every year or something?

Nope. I'm stuck in a government contract frozen at 2007 wages. Foreigners don't have any union and they don't really want us here any more so I've got nothing on the bargaining table. Some policy needs to be written to increase our salary.

howdy again mineopoly! what the?? 2007? dang. they don't want foreigners there anymore because they don't think they need them anymore? Is that true?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Such cool ways to hep them to learnt he new language

I love your quote if I am bored then for sure my students are bored
What a great attitude to have

Thanks @tattoodjay,

I love your approach at capturing New York with a lens. You are persistent and look at things with a creative approach.

Thanks that is such a kind compliment and truly appreciated

!tip

🎁 Hi @mineopoly! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: The Other Side Of Art Or Graffiti In The City Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @mineopoly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84