Themepark Review: Toverland - The Youngest Park of the Netherlands

in #english5 years ago (edited)

This blog is a transcript from my review video of this park. If you don't want to read, but want to see a motion picture, you can scroll to the end of this article. But you'll miss some nice pics :-).

Park Introduction

Toverland Review EN.jpg

It wasn't so long ago that Toverland opened in Sevenum, near the Dutch & German border. On May 19, 2001 the gates were opened for the first time.
On this day the park consisted of only one indoor hall, in which there was not only a classic wave Swinger, but also a family coaster from Vekoma. Playgrounds, slides and gastronomy were offered in between those.

1.png

Already in 2004 the success was built on and a second hall was opened, the Magic Forest. This not only brought the log flume ride, but also the second roller coaster "Booster Bike" into the park and had thus also opened up the first outdoor areas.

2.png
3.png

In 2007 the small park got its third roller coaster. The one they opened with "Troy", named after the Trojan wooden horse was a large Wooden Coaster build by Great Coasters International. This ride is still a favourite of the international amusement park scene. The area around the roller coaster was extended in 2010 by the swinging ship and the mechanical horse ride.

20180716_103120.jpg

After the "Dwervelwind" roller coaster had been opened in 2012, the theme area "Magic Valley" followed in spring 2013. The rafting ride "Djengu River" not only offered a second water attraction, but also enriched the theme area with carousels and playgrounds.

20180716_142246.jpg
20180716_143732.jpg

The last big step was taken in 2018, when not only the new theme area "Avalon" with its impressive wing coaster and elaborate boat trip was opened, but also a new, large entrance area, the "Port "Laguna", was added to the park.

20180716_103656.jpg
20180716_112123.jpg
20180716_112240.jpg
20180716_112130.jpg

Review Introduction

4.png

The Park Reviews highlight the following focal points: Offers for children under 1m in height, family rides and major rides for thrill-seekers. In addition, impression of the theming and presentation, as well as a final assessment of the price value. Each Category can get a maximum of 5 Stars.

Category Kids

20180716_114537.jpg

Attractions intended exclusively for the smallest are limited to playgrounds in most amusement parks. In Toverland, however, it has been made sure that even the smallest ones can use many rides. Some highlights where children can have fun even under 90cm, sometimes accompanied by an adult, are Merlins Quest, the Paarden van Ithaka horse ride, the nostalgic carousel, the whirl tree or the Toverhuis. There are also many playgrounds and climbing opportunities. This makes Toverland a really good choice for families with very young children. Therefore, I can unpack the full score here. Of course, you're welcome.

Category Family

20180716_103648.jpg

The Park stands there even more strongly, if one considers the offer for all family members. in the list of highlights for a wide audience are rides such as Troy, Dwervelwind, Scorpios, the log flume ride "Expedition Zork" or the Djengu River. The Maximus Blitz Bahn and Booster Bike are also suitable for families. On top of that there are various sacks and boat slides, as well as various rides for every taste. It should not be hard to fill out the whole day at the Toverland completely. Boredom is certainly not a problem here.

20180716_143732.jpg

Thus the Toverland presents itself also particularly strongly in the family entertainment. Only a bigger show might be missing in this area, that's where other parks are a bit ahead. Nevertheless, I can give a healthy 4 stars rating for the family offer.

Category Thrill

20180716_114458.jpg

The Toverland is certainly not a paradise for thrill-seekers per se, but there are some pearls for those who like it a bit more action packed.
Of course, Fenix is the first choice, this B&M Wing Coaster surprised me with its fast and intense ride. The coaster is extraordinarily generous for its type in terms of the forces it exerts and leaves no time to breathe from the first drop into the depths to the final brake. As a fan of intensive roller coasters this ride is in my opinion a "must ride".

20180716_125422.jpg

But also coasters like Troy and Booster Bike are convincing. Not on the level of Fenix, but Troy is an absolute fun machine. Typically GCI the track changes the directions really stubbornly sometimes and the short but crisp Airtime moments should let each Coaster fan the heart beat faster. With Booster Bike it is again the somewhat rarer seating position that makes the ride as attractive as it is. So also for us thrillseekers there is activity and if you are honest with yourself, the choice of a few pearls is sometimes better than the absolute overkill, where you don't know where to start, right?

20180716_165333.jpg

The Toverland gets 3 stars from me when it comes to thrill. One of them alone goes to the courage to put such an intense wing coaster in the park. That should be rewarded.

Category Theming

20180716_161705.jpg

This leads us to the category of theming, which is also an outstanding strength in Toverland.
This starts with the already mentioned Darkride part of "Merlins Quest", but runs through all areas and types of rides. Every corner, every attraction and every building has a little story to tell. Everywhere everything revolves around magic and sorcery. Even the buildings of the entrance area hide magic effects that can be triggered. With the new entrance area, the overall image of the park has also been improved, as the transitions to the individual areas have been simplified.

20180716_113947.jpg

In addition, the halls have also been improved several times in the meantime and are no longer inferior to the outdoor areas in any way, resulting in a wonderful overall picture, which usually does not have to hide from the big ones of the industry.

20180716_104025.jpg

Only at a few corners, such as the bare hall wall at the Fenix Station from the direction of the final brake, one notices that budgets or time were sometimes a little too tight here. However, it must also be clear that there is no multi-million or even billion company behind Toverland, as is the case with Universal and Disney.
I have a very good 4 stars rating for the overall picture of the park and the design.

Category Price & Value

20180716_161721.jpg

Finally, let's look at the prices, because these must also match the offer, otherwise the best portfolio will not be convincing.
Since the prices change every now and then depending on season and novelties, I always recommend a look at the homepage of the park. At the moment, the price scale of Toverland is as follows:

5.png

The day ticket for children between 90 and 120cm height costs 23,50€. Children under 90cm have free entrance. Adults and guests over 120cm pay the full price of 33€. In view of the fact that many attractions can be used by all age groups, one can understand the full price beginning at this size. Moreover, the total price is not exaggeratedly high and those who buy their ticket online in advance get a discount on most ticket types.
For visitors aged 55 and over, or with disabilities, a ticket is available for 28.50 euros.
For wheelchair users and guests who have birthday at the day of visiting and can identify themselves by passport there is free access to the park.
Parking at Toverland costs 10€, which I think is a lot, but is not unusual anymore.
If you travel with a group of 20 people or more, you pay 25 euros per ticket. There are also individual offers for youth clubs. Please visit the homepage of the park for individual offers.

6.png

You can obviously also spend much money in the park. Especially when it comes to food and drink, although the park is not more expensive than others. Snacks and drinks are between 3 and 8 euros. One gets full meals between 8 and 15 euros, whereby the limit can be much higher depending on the choice. But this is really nothing unusual.

20180716_113739.jpg
20180716_161748.jpg

All in all I see the Toverland well positioned with those pricing. they rank here in the healthy mid class of the family parks and offer a lot of quality for the called prices. That gives them 4 stars for the called prices.

20180716_161802.jpg
20180716_164924.jpg

Now just in short on the opening times

conclusion screen.jpg

Toverland has not only a summer but also a winter season. The opening hours vary depending on the season and events. Here you should have a look at the homepage first. In winter the park has different opening times than in summer and only the two halls and on weekends the Troy Area are open. Those who come in midsummer should first check if you could make it to the midsummer evenings with extended opening hours.

20180716_165024.jpg

With this, we got an overview of the Toverland, but as always, all of this is only my personal opinion about the park. Do you see it differently? Do you have anything to add? Then get it down in the comments, I am looking forward to your opinions.

Sort:  

In some ways smaller is better as it is just a good day out for the family. By not having the big name rides I imagine it isn't as busy so there is less queuing. The only problem is you will only likely go once a year as it is just too limited.

I love this kind of theme parks. My husband comes from Den Bosch so we have visited Efteling many time. This makes me think of Efteling. It's kind of a younger sibling :) It also looks a bit like the Efteling, just maybe a bit small. Have you visited it as well?

I know that I will visit Toverland as soon as I'm in The Netherlands :) Thank you for this post as neither myself or my husband knew about this park. And the funny thing is that we drive next to the Sevenum every time we visit Holland :)

Congratulations on your curie vote!

Hey thank you for your comment. Yes, I've visited Efteling aswell, many times indeed. We have a yearly Planet Coaster Community meeting there. The funny thing is, I've actually stayed at Den Bosch last year for the meeting and after two days of Efteling I've visited Walibi and Toverland before I've gone back home. This year, we have the Meeting happening early July and I will stay again at Den Bosch, but the Tour after the Efteling meeting will be a bit longer this time, including Walibi Holland again and then travelling to duinrell & drievliet, before I change Hotel to Wavre (Belgium) to visit Walibi Belgium, Bobbejaanland and Plopsaland from there.

It's kind of sad, that many peaople just don't know about toverland. It's grown very well the last years and is now a full fledged themepark which is absolutely worth visiting.

Greets,

Danny :-)

Hello Danny :) May I ask what is your profession? I have no idea what is Planet Coaster Community - does it have anything to do with roller coasters? I'm sorry if it's a silly question but it just struck me that you spend a lot of time at the theme parks so I thought that it might be related to your profession :)

Well, I spent a lot of evenings in Holland watching TV and I have never seen an advert for Toverland so maybe they don't do a good marketing job :) But I'm sure that if you'll keep promoting them there will be more people coming :) You should ask for some kind of commission or a free ticket :)

Have a great weekend!

Martina :)

Hey,

basically you can say themeparks, amusement rides and they're technology are some sort of hobby for me. I'm travelling around (atleast europe until now, but might expand when I get the chance) and visit themeparks.

I just enjoy the environments in those parks and the rides they offer. I'm not that addicted to "Flatrides", which are the many different carousels and stuff which turns and spins around, but really have fun on rollercoasters, themed darkrides which tell storys or free fall towers. I can ride those all day without any problems but get nausey really quick on the spinning carousel things. In addition, I really like themed areas where you'll be brought to different worlds full of fantasy and storys, I'm able to be a kid again in those places and really enjoy it. Life itself is serious enough and for me, it is a way to get a balance to my everyday life.

"Planet Coaster" actually is a PC Game where you can build and manage your own themeparks. It's possible to be extremely creative and there is a large community, which shares many people with the themepark and rollercoaster communitys (seems obviously, i think) and we are holding yearly meetings at the efteling and additional ones at other yearly changing themeparks. Those are really fantastic, creative and lovely people and the man who organized it every time is actually a dutch guy.

With youtube I started since I've found out that I really have fun on video filming and editing and I've sort of combined two interests with my channel about themeparks. Since last year, I've decided to try and do every video in german (which is my native language) and english, to reach more people with my stuff. The same is true for these blogs. I'm not really a "professional" blog writer or video editor of some sorts, I just do what is fun to me and show it off, to see what other people think about it. :-)

Greets,

Danny

Now I understand. It's a very interesting hobby and I actually enjoy going into theme parks too. And like you I can't stand carousel and I actually never even take a ride as I know I would get very sick. Efteling has beautiful themed attractions. I love Villa Volta and Droomvlucht :) I also enjoy the roller coasters there. It's a great idea to hold meetings there. It must be a lot of fun!

I didn't know about that computer game but it sounds like a great thing too, especially when you are creative :)

I have also wanted to make youtube videos but it's just too much work plus all of those editing so I decided that it's not worth it. BUT reviews like yours are important and definitely worth the time that you spend on them :)

Hope you have a great Sunday!

In addition, my actual profession: I'm a electronics technician at JenOptic and responsible for final assembly and Outgoing Quality Control on imaging modules. Cant talk in too many detail about this. ;-)

Oh, I'm sorry for asking. I really thought that it was related to the theme parks :)

No need to apologise, the thing is that I'm bound to some NDAs (Non disclosure agreements) in my job so I'm not allowed to talk in too many details on the web. ;-)

This is SUCH a timely post for me! I'm Dutch born but raised in Australia and living in Thailand and planning to take my daughter (14) back for a family visit next April. We have family in Losser so Sevenum is pretty darn handy. I noted the no-time-to-breathe roller coaster - check - she'll love that. The themed bathrooms and attention to detail also so very, very Dutch! The hobbit vibe of the restaurant pretty cute and reminds me of a Dutch story my mother used to read: Paulus de Bos Kabouter. LOL... I could get a real FEEL for what to expect from Toverland and I'm sure gonna be spending an awesome day there with my girl and her cousins. Much gratitude from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Hey there, I hope you'lll make it happen and I wish you and your siblings a wonderful and magical day. :-)

I KNOW my daughter is gonna love the roller coaster. She just came back from Korea and managed to get to LotteWorld twice. LOL. Sharing it with her Dutch cousins will be very cool. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thats neat. Lotte World is also on my bucket list if I can ever manage to visit Korea someday. :-)

Haha.... it is ALL she has talked about. Her video from the roller coaster made me feel almost unwell. 🤣🤣🤣 it was her first solo world travel experience at age 14... she studies korean language and spent 5 weeks with the family of school friends.

Posted using Partiko Android

The theme park was impressive. There are so many to choose from and I think every one those rides will really give you such a wonderful experience. I bet you don't have enough time in a day to have an authentic experience for each of those. Aside from taking on the rides, you also have a lot of walking to do which I think is good enough especially if you have the contentment of being astonished by the sceneries and landscapes. That is every man and child's dream, I am sure of it. Why man? I myself have never experience going into a theme park and I am really looking forward to going in one someday.

By the way, your review is good as well. You have shared every detail that a theme park goer would really appreciate. You indicate the necessary information that the readers will look into and have a background on what to expect if it happens that they decide to go there. The theme park will really be grateful to your feedback.

Well done. Keep up the good reviews of these wonderful places.

Hey thanks for your comment. With Toverland, you should not even have Issues to enjoy almost everything in one day, since the Park is not that well known of at the moment and therefore not that crowded most of the times.

For example, at the main Attraction "Fenix" I had never longer wait times than 15 Minutes, this visit was even at a beautiful summer day. ;-)

Greets,

Danny

hi @vpgtube
damn, your review is really detailed and comprehensive of every detail !! You can see that you really enjoy attending these amusement parks! I think the funniest thing is being able to share fun with the family, especially with children who will surely be amazed by all these games. And it's nice that children also see that even adults have fun and come back small, forgetting the gray of everyday life for a while. Did you go with your children?
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

I do not have children (yet? time will tell) but what you said of forgetting about the gray of everyday life is exactly what I enjoy most on these trips I do regularly. :-)

Greets,

Danny

you managed to convey your message perfectly !!

Hi @vpgtube,
awesome video and theme park description. Are you for some reason from Germany? :D I see on the pricing list that they do not narrow it down to age but to hight. So that could mean Hobbits can visit the park for free every day? :P
Overall, I think the prices are super fair for the offering :) Looks like a real adventure for the family. Would you go there again? Was it worth the travel?
I think you should continue to do reviews, I appreciated it a lot :)

Hey thank you. Yes I'm from Germany and yes, I would go visit Toverland again. It wasn't the first time I was there and I will go there again, but not in 2019, cause there are many other Parks with great new rides and some Parks where I've never visited yet, or for some, it's already many years back.

I will do more reviews in the future, they will come in parallel to the review videos (which are a bit more work to be honest ^^) since I can basically use the transcript and beautify it up a bit with the taken pictures from the trips. :-)

Hi vpgtube,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks much man! :-)

Wow man. This place seems like a huge one over there. In your pictures, I liked the B&M Wing Coaster, looks like the most thrilling and scary I guess.

Go to came here, thanks to @curie

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @vpgtube! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I haven't been to a theme park in too long. This just makes me wan't to take a holiday and do something fun. Too much work can drive you crazy so a fun break like this is just the call.

This one seems to have a lot more medieval and action theme rather than the cartoony type you normally see. Looks great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43