English Phrasal Verbs (143/365) - Tick Someone/Something Off

in #englishphrasalverbs6 years ago (edited)

Yelling Man

Image Credit CC BY 2.0

To tick someone off means

A) to annoy someone (Am. Eng)

Example sentence:

  • Parking on the driveway ticks me off every time.

B) to check something off a list (Br. Eng)

Example sentence:

  • Ticking items off my to do list is always a pleasure.

C) to scold someone who has done something wrong (Br. Eng)

Example sentence:

  • My wife ticked me off for not leaving my clothes on chairs instead putting my clothes into the laundry basket.
Sort:  

I think I have heard the first (A) use of this phrase, I didn't know the other two. Thanks for sharing.

Hi markku. Tick off is to either annoy/upset or as in a list to complete or work your way through it.

My wife ticked me because whenever I work the mechanics of the car, I mess a lot of clothes, she does not like the mechanical smell. Hahaha

This one can be very handy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76