English Phrasal Verbs (52/365) - Butt In (On Something)

in #englishphrasalverbs6 years ago (edited)

Image Source

To butt in (on something) means interrupting something, typically a conversation, or intruding into or interfering with something.

Example sentences:

  • Are you always butting in when other people speak? It's a bad habit you should get rid of.
  • Sorry about butting in on you, but there is an urgent matter that calls for your attention.
Sort:  

100 Percent correct. Good example. Means to interrupt.

In some of his publications that happens a lot. and also in the publications of friend Jaro

Some people are always butting in when other people speak

This PH I had never heard it, at least not in any tv medium, is it some kind of rudeness or something? is that I find it curious that I have not heard at least one on tv

I think @cryptoandcoffee might be better qualified to answer this one. But I don't think the world "butt" in it necessarily means that it sounds rude. The words "cigarette butt" or "rifle butt" are not rude, either. Butt is simply the back end of something.

the QuaLity of asshoLes

You are a grammatical tutor, I like your educative English post as always @makkujantunen

Thanks for your kind words again. It seems, however, that to earn an upvote from you, I will still have to up my game. You're a tough customer.

lol

It's a better way to interrupt a conversation! thanks for the english class

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70