Aminuki's Contest - Enjoy The Moment. Small moments makes the life beautiful

in #enjoythemoment6 years ago

I and my sister right now visiting our parents. Our mother is a good cook and I am a forced 😑 cook (I am health conscious and prefer to eat homemade food). My sister loves eating and she is a lazy cook 😆.

But during this visit, my mom was teaching us how to make idli (south Indian rice pancake) and I am almost disinterested when it comes to cooking. Surprisingly she was very much interested to learn that.

Just to inform you Idly is a traditional breakfast made by steaming rice flour. They look like small white rice pancakes made by steaming rice. I am giving reference picture for your understanding.

breakfast-2408818_1280.jpg

source

The real amusement came on the next day when she wanted to try how to cook that idli herself. Our entry was ban for a while in the kitchen so that mom can’t give her comments and she can take all the credit. So after some preparation, she has announced that as we already had idli on the previous day when mom taught her so today she is styling it in the form of a cake. We were surprised to hear that and I was more worried if I will get my dinner or not. 😮

b3971304-1376-419f-bd8e-c951c61d5d53.jpg

Once the cake was cooked, her happiness was out of this world. I don’t remember if I was ever got that happy on scoring top marks in my class during the school time. She was so happy with her achievement that she was dancing with her cake and clicking pictures and sending photos to her friends. (idli bana li means I made the idli)

IMG_5145.jpg

We were so amused to see her excitement 😀 and then we got some of her idly cake retreat with tomato sauce.

bb2eacac-d844-4ae6-9b0d-f713edd6a6bc.jpg

I named it amusing idi. 😇 as this whole session of cooking, her enthusiasm and eating brought so much happiness for us. Whenever I refer to those idlis she gets pumped up again as she was two days back.


This post is created for the Enjoy The Moment Contest run by @aminuki. If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends :)


I am also part of #ccc by @freedomshift

https://steemit.com/ccc/@freedomshift/6-30-18-saturday-or-cat-turday-meow-updates-on-ccc-rules-upvotes-and-prizes-giveaway


Follow me: @nids209

Sort:  

Haha,,,iddly, chutney and sambhar....I think this is your first post away from your comfort zone writing...the philosophical, human mind oriented subjects...Hehe just kidding...

I really loved this post..the way you took the chance of iddli making to a post...Good one....You must be enjoyed it...

BTW only rice flour wont ake iddli properly, but it needs urdu dal too..and to be mixed in a correct proposition and to be kept for an overnight...

Any how thanks and appreciate your effort...

How was the day

I am glad you liked it.

I know about urad dal but I could not find the English translation of it :P... she made rava idli cum cake :) but I can't tell you the craziness she showed. :)

yes, I can understand. the photos reflecting its tastiness and she have every reason to be happy. Rava idli too a popular stuff. You know with- that mix Dosa is easy to make.

See I have mentioned I am a forced cook :P so I don't know much about cooking. Just know cooking what is necessary to survive (being north indian dosa idli etc is luxury, basic food is chapati, dal and vegetable curry)

I know that, I was just saying so. Being in Delhi surrounded with north Indian friends I know it is all chapati, Dal, Gobi .etc.

Even your reply is one line it makes an attempt to touch another level by saying like cooking for surviving ete. Do you more sad inside than the Philosophical smile outside.

Wish I have the freedom to ask why! May be later.

I am not sad from inside or outside. I just say things straight, I am a no filter person. And the fact is I am not fond of cooking, so I just mentioned it. :)

Not to misunderstand, normally or generally speaking those who tries to convince others with such philosophical stuffs is either people at the far end of the life- maybe 50 or 6o or like those who are experienced some very difficult times in the life., especially my thoughts gone in that way because of your post on expectation and realization at the very early stages of life. Sorry, it could be a wrong assumption from me though.

It was a friendly chat and a concern from a friendly heart. Sorry if you felt offended.

Hope your days are good and colorful.

See first of all there is no point of sorry because I did not feel anything good or bad. It was your quick judgement based on your understanding.

Another thing why do you feel I am in my early ages? :P

The other thing I would like to say (though I usually don't say such things) we become opinionated on the bases of our understanding of life because we have seen usually something is happening in one particular way.

I was philosophical when I was in my teens. There is always a scope of different things in life :)

Other things I am not trying to convince anyone with my stuff. I am just sharing my article. If somebody is disagreeing with my opinion, I am presenting my clarification. Accepting it or rejecting it, is his choice. It won't affect me.

Besides this, I love to pick the things I feel making sense to me and if I am disagreeing with something it does not mean I am trying to impose my opinion on others. Everyone has their free will.

You too have a great day. :)

I really enjoy your post , so freshness, so sincere, I was there with you, seeing your sister dancing ;D Thank you for sharing this my firends :p

Thanks for such a lovely feedback. I myself enjoyed a lot writing this experience. Thanks for providing such opportunity. :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

It looks very appetizing @nids209 !

Thanks, are you feeling hungry then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94