(IJCH) Another Favorite Book is going to be a movie - Arthur C. Clark's "Rendezvous with Rama"!

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) Another Favorite Book is going to be a movie - Arthur C. Clark's "Rendezvous with Rama"!

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Another Favorite Book is going to be a movie - Arthur C. Clark's "Rendezvous with Rama"!

Source

Funny Thing.

About 4 days ago, I finished rereading a favorite book that I'd read many years ago. It's a science fiction novel by Arthur C. Clark's titled "Rendezvous with Rama".

At that time, I decided to write about it, but never seemed to get around to it.

Then, while researching it for my article - literally seconds ago, I found out that "Rendezvous with Rama" is going to become a movie!

About Arthur C. Clarke

Source

Since I was a young boy, Arthur C. Clarke, along with the other great Science Fiction writers like Asimov, Heinlein, Philip K. Dick, provided countless hours of riveting entertainment and filled my mind with "the possibility of unlimited possibilities."

Sir Arthur Charles Clarke (16 December 1917 – 19 March 2008) was a British science fiction writer, science writer and futurist, inventor, undersea explorer, and television series host.

Source

He is famous for being co-writer of the screenplay for the 1968 film 2001: A Space Odyssey, widely considered to be one of the most influential films of all time.

Clarke was a science writer, who was both an avid populariser of space travel and a futurist of uncanny ability.

His other science fiction writings earned him a number of Hugo and Nebula awards, which along with a large readership made him one of the towering figures of science fiction.

For many years Clarke, Robert Heinlein and Isaac Asimov were known as the "Big Three" of science fiction.

Source

Rendezvous with Rama - The Book

Source

Rendezvous with Rama is a science fiction novel by British writer Arthur C. Clarke first published in 1973.

Set in the 2130s, the story involves a 50-kilometre (31 mi) cylindrical alien starship that enters the Solar System.

The story is told from the point of view of a group of human explorers who intercept the ship in an attempt to unlock its mysteries.

Source

The novel won both the Hugo and Nebula awards upon its release, and is regarded as one of the cornerstones in Clarke's bibliography.

The concept was later extended with several sequels.

Source

My Thoughts on Rendesvous with Rama - The Book

Source

The first time I read the book, I was merely entertained by all the future technology (e.g., interplanetary shuttles, asteroid mining rigs, etc.).

But this recent rereading of it made me think more about the future human civilization portrayed by Clark.

In that civilization humans have already inhabited most of the planets in our solar system.

Source

Although Earth's human population never was trimmed down to their one billion target, it sure was drastically decreased by strict "birthing laws".

But humans being humans, many would have multiple wives (or husbands) that lived on different planets!

Anyway, I will not give away any spoilers here.

You'll have to read it - and enjoy it - for yourself...

Rendezvous with Rama - The Movie

Source

The release date is yet to be determined, but it is well above the vaporware stage.

In fact, Morgan Freeman will be producing it.

See this video:

"Morgan Freeman on producing 'Rendezvous with Rama'"

And here's a couple Trailers:

"Rendezvous with Rama - First Teaser Trailer HD"

"Trailer - Rendezvous with Rama™"

I highly recommend reading the book.

And don't worry.

When the movie comes out, I'll surely spread the word...

Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

jc17.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

I just might have to go pick this book up. Thanks for the info I like sci fi stuff.

I love the writing of Arthur C Clarke! I hope this will end up being a good movie...

With all of the reading I do, I have yet to read anything by Arthur C. Clarke. Not sure why. I actually haven't read much in Science Fiction. I will add this to my list...rather long list LOL

The "Big Three" + Philip K. Dick are all worth reading.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, Jaichai

I really hope they do all the books into movies. The full story is just far too amazing to stop at one!

I will be at the stationary today, my own piece. They are all interesting

Posted using Partiko Android

I really love Sci-fi movies, can't wait for this one to come out!!

I love sci-fi too. It's been a passion since I was young.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

You are most welcome!

I read the book some years ago. It's not really on par with Clerk's better works such as 3001 (my favorite), 2001, The Songs of Distant Earth and his collaborative work Richter 10 (which was almost a Soft-Dan Brown Thriller). I still have to read the other 3 books.



Please upvote my post

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37