Currently Watching: Chinese Drama! I'm kyaaaing over 'Legend of Fuyao'.

in #entertainment6 years ago

Finally, exam week is over!

Fufufu, I don't have studying for them (until the next one comes along).

Eh, I don't think anybody enjoys exams, at least I don't know anyone who looks forward to them. Even studious people that I know jump into the muddied waters of examinations like a daughter-in-law facing a particularly meticulous and very exacting mother-in-law.

Now that torture is over (not really, just a tiny little bit), I got back to watching 'Legend of Fuyao', a chinese fantasy-slash-historical drama that I dropped a few weeks ago.

Capture.JPG

Here's a picture of our heroine, Meng Fu Yao! Isn't she gorgeous?

Here's the synopsis from My DramaList:

Meng Fu Yao, a woman born from a divine lotus petal. She journeys through the five continents towards the heavens in search of a secret order and to reveal a conspiracy originating from the heavens. In the process, she falls in love with the crown prince Zhangsun Wuji.

Well, it doesn't sound like a very interesting drama to indulge in from that rather short summary...

But, seriously, it's proving to be a rather entertaining one.

Here are two trailers of the drama from Youtube. Enjoy!

The drama is adapted from a novel, one that I want to read but can't due to the fact that I can't read Chinese...

Here's a summary of the novel by Cfensi:

Meng Fuyao (Yang Mi) becomes a disciple of the Xuanyuan Sword Sect as a child, though she is despised for her lack of talent in the art of cultivation. Fuyao masters a powerful set of martial arts skills by chance, and embarks on a journey to collect the secret talismans of the five kingdoms, which will later enable her to enter the sacred land known only as the Firmament (cangqiong / 苍穹).

She is joined by several admirers, including crown prince of Wuji Kingdom Zhangsun Wuji (Ethan Ruan), the ruler of the Tiansha Kingdom Zhan Beiye, assassin and physician Zong Yue and noble young sir Yunheng among others. Funnily enough, there are only 8 major male characters in the novel, and 7(!) are romantically interested in Meng Fuyao.

Together they help pacify all the political and military uprisings in the smaller kingdoms, and defeat the evil being guarding the Firmament. Of course, Meng Fuyao also gets her happy ending with Zhangsun Wuji.

I'm not sure if the original author wrote really well, but I'm enjoying the work of the current translator. The tone and the descriptions are pretty good, and the way that the characters are depicted makes me want to read on more, though unfortunately I have to stop and twiddle my thumbs in impatience since translation is going slowly.

Translator-sama, gambatte! Fight on! Please release new chapters for the suffering mass of readers...Huhuhu...

To be honest, the first four episodes that saw I didn't feel promising.

Capture1.JPG

Since I put up a pic of the FL, here's one of the crown prince, Zhangsun Wuji.

If you read some of the original novel, which has the same name as the drama, you might end up with certain expectations in mind, like how the characters should look like or act.

As a follower of the novel, which is currently being translated online (you can check here, I was unhappy when I saw that the characters didn't seem like the ones in the book, and the plot was also kind of changed.

Still, I ended up enjoying it after a couple of episodes. I'm currently in the middle of Episode 8, where I ended up squealing in glee after witnessing cute interactions between the ML and FL.

Before I continue fangirling (yep, I'm pretty much fangirling, though it might change if later episodes prove more trouble than they're worth...), I'll give my own short summary.

Meng Fu Yao, a slave girl from a martial arts sects, ends up learning powerful martial arts that people all over the continent wants. To discover the secrets behind it, she sets off a journey after being betrayed by the childhood friend she loved, with a mysterious crown prince who hides a lot of things tagging along (or was it her who was tagging along?). Oh, by the way, the prince has this cute hamster, who looks more adorable than he looks valuable.

Capture3.JPG

Episode 8, Episode 8!

Besides our male and female leads, there's a whole cast of interesting characters with their own stories and agendas, plus the villains are the type that you just love to hate (something that I've found out is rather common in Chinese novels and dramas).

Eh, I don't think I did a good job trying to garner interest in the drama, anyway, just go on and watch it! I'll probably write another post about this drama when I'm done with it.

Capture2.JPG

Now, I'm done with this post!

I'll go and watch more episodes before going to bed.

The pictures were screenshots taken while I was watching.

Community Logo by @ivan.atman


For classical music lovers and musicians, join us in Discord!

Check out the #classical-music tag for classical music related posts.

And follow the classical music community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio{*≧∀≦}

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73