Stop Complaining About The Plastic Bag Ban

in #environment6 years ago

On July 1st a plastic bag ban came into effect in Queensland and ever since, people have been complaining about it like its the end of the world.

Never mind the fact that South Australia has had a single use plastic bag ban in effect since 2009. And never mind the fact that beloved special buys brand Aldi has never had single use plastic bags, made you buy bags as well as bag your own groceries.

Retailers Coles and Woolworths are offering cheap plastic bag alternatives in the form of these reusable bags which cost 15c each and are made from mostly recycled material.

20180707_150600.jpg

This bag from Coles cost me 15c and it has been used about ten times now. I never. Forget my bags because I make sure to put them back into the boot of my car after I've taken the groceries out.

Because the bag ban apparently confused people even though retailers were warning customers for up to a year prior to the ban, Woolworths offered these bags for free for a week after the ban. And now Coles is doing something similar because apparently Queenslanders are too stupid to remember their bags.

In amongst all of this, customer service staff at registers and in the store are apparently being subjected to abuse from disgruntled customers over the ban, how pathetic especially given its a government ban not a store level decision: it is the law.

It honestly surprises me that this is even an issue. It really highlights how dysfunctional and disconnected from nature society has become.

Banning single use plastics that cannot be recycled is a good thing, deal with it. If you forget your bags, put the cigarettes or junk food back and pay for a 15c bag you cheapskates.

Sort:  

Fucking YES YES YES.... love it.

Google texas plastic bags ... they are too weak to make it law. Stoked we are doing this. Read my last post on rubbish here in Indo

People hate change and like to direct unhappiness anywhere... dumb

Plastic is probably the best and worst thing humans have invented. I saw your post, I went to places in Mexico like that too.

just so desperately SAD. And makes me feel so powerless.

I didn't know this came in. I carry around reusable bags anyway, but I'll be interested to see this in effect when I'm back in Dec.

The world is becoming more and more aware of the plastic problem we have, and thanks to these local initiatives and TV programmes like Attenborough's Planet Earth 2, more people and companies are taking action to combat this issue.

The fact that retailers actually gave plenty of warning and even gave those reusable bags away for free, and yet some customers still complained, just shows that no matter what you do, there will always be some dickhead complaining that they never got the memo or saying that it's so unfair!

Nice post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11