Ice cubes fall in Port Harcourt, Nigeria

in #environment6 years ago

 


30 minutes ago, the city of Port Harcourt was flooded with rain and ice cubes. A friend captured the video and I wish to share it here with you. It is already on facebook. 

This is the first time it happening again after a long while. While growing up in the Northern part of Nigeria, we have seldomly seen ice cubes fall while it rains. 


Well, I went online to search for the name of this type of rain mixed with ice cubes and what could be the possible cause. I got confused! Lol! 

Some described it as;

Ice cube rain 

Ice pellets rain 

Sleet Rain 

Hail rain 

It is believed that it usually happens when the weather is very cold. 

Watch the video on YouTube. 


All pictures and video were sent to me by my friend and I have uploaded them on imgur.com   


Much love from me to y'all.  

Thank You For Reading!

I Read and Appreciate All Comments!

If you find this post valuable,

Please Upvote, Resteem And Comment.



@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me. 

Sort:  

wow very scary for us because in our country there was never any rain of rocks. friends can I know my facebook name I want to see the video.

Oh! I'll send it on steemit chat. Been a long while @berkat.

thanks my best friend @ogoowinner

Wooooow! Fantastic! Ice cube falling there heat want to kill somebody here in zamfara.....nawa o

Hahaha! Come over!

Lolz....you want NYSC to sanction me

Such things do happen in Nigeria indeed😀. I'll like to experience this someday.

Oya start fasting and prayers! Lol!

Me I would like to experience this kind of rain on a Monday morning oo, so I won't have to work that day.😁😁

For real??

I know some people that will say this is end time signs ooo... Hahahahaha

Hahahaha! End time indeed!

Its pretty impressive. I imagine that the ice cubes make a big noise hitting the pavement and the windshield. It happened quite a few times so i'm more used to it, but i always had the idea that Nigeria was a very warm country and that something like that didn't happen there. :)

Yeah, Nigeria is warm, but we have a few cold regions.

Yes oo like Jos.
That place ehh is American in Nigeria..
You can't ever think of using cold water to bath...

Wow! I was scared for the wind screen of the car. Never experienced this before.

Yeah, I would have been scared too if I was there.

O God! let some ice fall in my street.lol
I wanna have an experience of it here.

Hahaha! Start fasting! Lol!

Ok dear. Bt will you join me in the fasting?.Bcz it wil make more impact when more than one!.lol

Please I need this kind of rain in owerri here....
At least it would look like we are in obodo oyibo ...

Wow! You reside @Owerri?
It has happened before in the North
Jos had snow sometime too
This particular one is called Hail stone

Seriously? I've not seen or heard anything like ice cube rain, I guess this is as a result of well you know climatic weather condition that seems irregular in the atmosphere @ogoowinner

It used to fall in Kaduna when we were kids.

You lived in kaduna?
🤔🤔🤔

Wow!!!! In Nigeria??? So surprising but pH is a very cool region. Hope you felt like you are in abroad sha?? @ogowinner ..lol

I'm not in ph o! But I have a lot of friends there.

Ehen where are you then?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88