Buying my first environmentally friendly six pack of beer

in #environment5 years ago

Have you ever wanted to drink beer without having a negative impact on the environment? I know I have. That is why I wrote about how Carlsberg is making six packs of beer with a new environmentally friendly method that requires no plastic. I won't repeat myself too much, but here's the original post.

I found these new six packs of beer in the store for the first time a few days ago, and wanted to test them out since I had already blogged about these. I totally didn't just use that as an excuse to buy some beer on a Saturday evening! I didn't really intent to buy Carlsberg this time, but hey, why buy from a company that wraps their beers in plastic when I can instead buy it from one who actually does something about it?

DSC_0933 – Kopi.JPG

Anyway, I did have some concerns with this design when I first saw it. Is it really as durable as they claim? To me it looks like it will fall apart, and it does not really seem that suitable to carry to a party without risking it breaking. So let's test it out!

Good beer, good design

I gave the beer a bit of a beating to test it out, and I'm positively surprised by the durability of the "Snap pack". At no point did it feel like any of the beer cans were even close to falling off, so it seems to be just as durable as a regular coat of plastic to me. You need to use a bit of force to get the cans apart from each other tough, but I guess I will improve my technique for this over time.

DSC_0944 – Kopi.JPG

I removed a beer to test for further durability, and it's still very durable even with an uneven distribution. I would say that this method of packaging is superior if you want to carry 5 beers by hand, since this would be a bit problematic with the plastic coating.

What are the benefits of this type of packaging?

There are two main problems with the old way of keeping six packs of beer together, and let's take a closer look at that.

  1. The usual method here in Norway is to cover the entire six pack with plastic. This uses a lot of plastic, and I often find leftovers from this in public parks and places like that. It creates greenhouse gases upon production, and takes a very long time to break down when thrown into a non-recycling place.
  2. Other places uses "six pack rings". These are better for the environment in terms of creating less plastic waste, but they have some other nasty problems. The main problem being that they tend to get stuck around the necks of birds, sea turtles, other marine animals, and even on land mammals. Google "six pack ring animal" to get a lot of nasty photos of the damage this causes. But be warned, it's not pleasant to look at!

I give this post the same conclusion as the first time I wrote about this technology; I hope more companies follow their footsteps, and join the battle against plastic pollution. And in the mean while I will be glad to mainly drink Carlsberg and potentially other types of beer that provide an environmentally friendly alterative to plastic.

And before someone comes in and say that aluminum cans are bad for the environment, let me just point out that these will all be recycled, and aluminum has great potential to be reused after being recycled. It might not be perfect, but it's not too bad if we recycle the cans. So I still consider this to be pretty environmentally friendly.

Thanks for checking out my blog post!

Sort:  

Nice!! I remember that post ;) Here in the Czech Republic, we mostly buy beer in glass. I buy my beer in glass only. The bottles are returnable so except for the little metal cap, there is no waste from it at all. Here is my latest purchase, I got these guys about an hour ago :D Very good brand btw.

IMG_20181030_173948.jpg

Nice! I think glass bottles are better for the environment; glass tends to have very little emission compared to most of the other potential containers. It's not really common here, but maybe I should be better at considering glass flasks instead of aluminum ones.

I think cans are not a bad choice either ;) Anything that replaces plastic bottles counts :)

Only not sure about the brand... ;)
We have hundreds of tastier beers in Czech Rep. Try some better than "europivo" ;)

Tak jasně, že pro nás Čechy Staráč žádná pecka není, ale pro zbytek světa je to špičkové pivo ;) Navíc ani nejsem žádný pivní gurmán, z českých piv mi nedělá problém skoro nic ;) Tyhle byly zrovna v akci :D

Jasně, na žízeň skoro cokoliv ;)
Jestli máš rád hořká piva, tak doporučuju zkusit Bernard z Humpolce, Skalák z Rohozce, nebo Hubertus z Kácova.
A hrozně rád ochutnávám piva z malých pivovarů. Hmm... že by další námět na článek? ;)

Díky, tipy předám kamarádům, kteří mají takový pivní kroužek - objíždí minipivovary po republice a ochutnávají a hodnotí jejich piva :) Jejich domovskou základnou je rodinný pivovar Chomout v Olomouci. Pokud na tohle téma něco sepíšeš, rád si to přečtu ;)

Já toho moc objetého nemám, ale tyhle malé pivovary jsou mi sympatické. Většinou produkují velmi kvalitní piva a většinou to provozují lidi, které to opravdu baví.
Chomout neznám, díky za tip. Zkusím naplánovat až tam pojedu ;) Ale třeba Moritz mi v Olomouci opravdu chutnal.
Značky co jsem psal nejsou minipivovary, ale pokud by měli zájem, tak určitě můžu u nás doporučit https://www.pivovarclock.cz, kde je i restaurace a pěkná zřícenina hradu a vůbec krásná příroda Orlice.
Potom třeba http://www.pivovarmordyr.cz

Super, vyřídím! Aspoň teď taky vím, odkud vlastně jsi :) Nevím proč, ale měl jsem pocit, že jsi někde od Plzně :D

Ne ne, Východní čechy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.193 which ranks you at #858 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 846).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79