You Already Have An EOS Username

in #eos6 years ago


Some of you are probably getting tripped out witht he EOS situation since we are almost 107 hours into the testing phase and a mainnet hasn't launched yet. Well it is confusing so don't feel stupid. If you registered your ERC-20 EOS tokens you can get a little piece of mind and see what your initial 12 character EOS username will be you can go to this page.

https://eosauthority.com/

That will show you your EOS public key, the username associated with it, and the balance that you will have on the mainnet launches. Don't get too tripped out about how to access it once the mainnet launches unless you are like me and are going to try to go after certain usernames. You know what the most rat bastard business model would be? If someone ran a script and snagged a ton of the major Steemians usernames on the EOS blockchain and then sold the names to the Steemians. Now that would be savage. I wouldn't do anything like that though.

Another thing I wanted to say reference is a conversation I had with @cryptomancer who is with @buildteam which is the same group responsible for minnowbooster and SteemVoter. They are a Block Producer candidate for EOS as well.

He cleared up some confusion for me because there is the EOS Jungle testnet running and he is saying that it is going to remain a testnet. If you want to create usernames on the testnet and also use the faucet to fund them with EOS and Jungle testnet coins and do some experiments you can.

cryptomancer-convo.png

I thinking at this point I should just build the newest version of the code locally instead of on a VPS like I did with DAWN 3.x and then just connect to the Jungle testnet that way and do some tests and get ready to be able to connect it to the mainnet when it launches. Maybe I can register the username @haejin and make completely useless technical analysis content when the Steemit competitor launches over there. It seems like a lucrative concept......... oh wait... only one person with any power votes for @haejin over here. Nevermind......

I will keep you guys updated as much as possible but again I'm along for the ride as well.

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Do you know how to create your own EOS username after mainnet launch?

If you don't plan to be a BP you can just ask to activate your public key on their testnet.. And then you can play with it via cleos

i'm going to have to build the new code today. Running the VPS was sort of expensive for that amount of power and I don't really want to build it locally again. The funny thing is I had all these free cloud instances that I mined Electroneum on in the fall / winter and I wish I had those credits still. Maybe I can find another credit instead of using my Vultr account.

Ahh shit. Something just happened in June, didn't it? I seem to recall thinking a few months ago that I had to do something with my EOS holdings/wallet/? before June. Can't remember what that was, though.. Did I miss something critical and lose my EOS?? :/

You were supposed to register the EOS before June 2nd but the good news is they have accounted for all "unregistered" EOS and it is very likely there is going to be a process you can go through to recieve your real EOS coins in the coming weeks.

So don't freak out too much.

If your coins are sitting on an exchange like Binance you don't really have to do anything. They are going to do the swap out for you.

Ok, that's a relief. Thanks for the info, @brianphobos.

@brianphobos I will be so happy to see EOS up and Running and Becoming a The Star of Crypto's. At that Point we can tell BIX to get lost...............

Yeah same here..... the only real complaint people could start to have is that it is taking a little longer than a lot of people maybe thought at first and having two groups sort of competing to end up becoming the Mainnet could get confusing especially if the voting is close and if it is a race to 15% votes for one to officially launch and then if they launched at similar times that could be a little bit of a mess in some respects. I'm fine with one launching and then a few months in the future another one launches or something but both of them launching at the same time could certainly be this weird Bitcoin / Bitcoin Cash or Ethereum vs Ethereum Classic confusion for newbs but worse because exchanges wouldn't know which one to sort of get behind first.

hahhahhaha! not bad idea at all the creation of that @haejin account

It is a interesting business proposition and then if he wants it he can buy the account name. lol

Sure he will do!

I am so out of all that EOS excitment. Maybe and finally I should take a minute to read and check more about it LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25