The launch of EOS, I am so excited for the future, but what will come out of this?

in #eos6 years ago

This text started out about my relationship to eos but evolved into my relationship to crypto in general. If you don't care to read it all, jump down to the end and share your thoughts on my questions. I´m so excited for the future, what do you think it will bring? :D

My experience with EOS and looking back

The last few weeks have been amazing in my eyes, I love every second of my time geeking down in the space of EOS. I am pretty sure my girlfriend is a bit tired of hearing some of the following:

The main question being:

-- What are you doing?
-- I´m reading up on EOS BPs

-- Do you wan't to go to the beach?
-- I can´t right now, I´m busy, so much happening in the EOS world

-- Come to bed
-- Not yet, I have to....

I guess you can figure out what I am trying to say

The EOS Launch has been a big part of the last few weeks. Even though I have been following the space since January, the amount of hours I put in then compared to now is pretty different... I am a person that tends to get a narrow interest and I cover all my time with that. I tend to have this narrow interest for a while, and then move on to the next thing, learning as much as I can. However, since I found the interest of cryptocurrencies that interest has more and more frequently been directed in this area.

I have evolved into another person

Since I first invested in crypto, my priorities has changed. I have in much lost my interest in buying stuff, I have lost the interest to consume things for the sake of consuming. Sure, I still love buying new tech gear, but only if I can properly argue for the usage of it. The same goes with pretty much all areas of my life, I buy only if I really need something. I think that is a healthy way of thinking about it, there is no reason to buy anything unless you really need it. However, I see a lot of people that has their priorities in other directions so to speak.

The biggest change is my relationship to saving money

Sure, I have always had a savings account in my bank, I put in some money there, and then I take out some money when I need it. I have invested in some stocks here and there. But I have never had a plan, I have never really prioritized it. Instead I have put in money if and when I have some spare. And what that leads to is that my buffer has not always been the biggest so to speak.

However, since I started to develop an interest in cryptocurrencies

An interest in their ability to change the world and on top of that being a fun way to invest money. I now look at the whole aspect of saving money very different. Today instead of waiting until I have spare money to save, I do the opposite.I try to reduce costs in my life so that I can invest more money in my future. Each cryptocurrency I invest in, I first try to read up on the project, their ideas, their vision and the team members. This has helped me making mostly good affairs, however, I have made a few bad ones as well. But that is the risk of crypto, and that is what I love about investing here. The excitement of every day going in and checking the status of the project, their roadmap, the daily value. If it´s stalling, or if you drop the interest, you can sell and move on to the next project.

My biggest issue with cryptocurrenies

I have no one in my area that I can actually have a chat with about this. No one that I hang out with has any interest or love for crypto, they want to discuss boring stuff and other people. Which has led me to spend more and more time with my internet friends, but not even at that place I can find all the intelligent conversations I am striving for. That is, until I found EOS and it´s community. Most discussions I overlook involving cryptocurrencies are value based, and even though that is interesting. That is not what I want to discuss, sure, at times it can be fun to speculate price and compare to the past. But I have interests that are much bigger than that, because I see how blockchain has the potential to change a lot of aspects in the world.

These potential changes are scary, for some pople

When I start to talk about these possibilities, people loose their interest almost immediately. And that sucks, because I am so passionate about blockchain, technology and cryptocurrency. However @seanxa posted an interesting article about this and I see that I should really start talking in a different manner when it comes to this. I am a personal trainer and when I talk about health, exercise, training etc, I have an easier time to use vulgar language (reference to seans text). But for some reason when I talk about the political aspects of blockchain, the implications of the technology or cryptocurrencies in general... I doubt that I am using simple language and real life implications for them.

I live in Sweden, a country going for cashless society

For Swedes in general, the need for crypto in day-to-day trade is not a necessity. Simply because we have had banks forever, I had my first personal debit card when I was 13. We as a society trust our banks to keep our money and we have no reason not to... at least that's what we think as a society. Even though we have a few examples in Europe (Cyprus, Greece) of banks taking funds or blocking them. We do not seem to relate to that ever being us. We have a bail-in system that literally means banks are legally allowed to take the funds in our bank accounts to cover the needs of the bank in case of an crisis. So in my eyes, we should be aware of this, but most just don´t care. It´s happening to "them", not to "us". Them being less developed countries, and us being Sweden...

But that is not that wierd

Swedes has been taught that the government will take care of you, no matter what. The government will make laws protecting us and they know better whats good for us than what we know our self. And we have an history of being treated well for listening to them. But governments or banks taking advantages of citizens for the "greater good" seems to have escalated. Perhaps it has always been like that, just that I have not listened. I have been one of these people that keep ignoring all bad that is said... simply because it doesn't involve me.

Back to the love

Okay, I went a bit sideways with how I intended this text would go, and that is pretty much how I am. I have a hard time staying on one subject, as it relates to so many subjects. Everything is connected, not only what we talk about, but we as people. I am connected to you, and you are connected to me, in some way. If it is that you are reading this text, or if it´s in a deeper level, who knows. But this connection that is spread all over the world, I believe that the blockchain is an technological example of that. Internet has made communication global, and the blockchain is for the first time, making finances global. We are only in the early stages, and I don't think that finances will be the biggest change that comes from the blockchain technology.

Rather I think it will be a way to connect the people of the world

With instant payments, all over the world, our global economy just went global for real.
If you look at the crypto projects you will notice something that is quiet unique, groups of people, from all over the world work together on the same project. Sure, companies has had offices all over the world, but not at the efficiency and scale that is happening right now.
Take the launch of EOS for example, a small centralized company called Block.One is writing a software, this software is then released to the community to do whatever they want with it. And what happens?

One of the most serious collaborations I have ever witnessed occurs!

People from all over the world, speaking many different languages, that doesn't know each other are all working together. There are a lot of groups of people that are all "competing" for 21 spots, but there are also 100 standby spots for being a block producer. These people have different backgrounds, different values and different ways to get things done. Even though that is the case, in just 7 days they managed to reach consensus and launch this project together. I mean, can you give me one example of governments collaborating all over the world being this efficient at doing anything?

What will the future give us?

I think the launch of EOS is a first example of this kind of collaboration. Even though I count myself as somewhat of a thinker and with an open mind... I have no idea to anticipate what will come out of this. No matter the scale of EOS, this social experiment will lead to good things in the future.

Where will it take us?
What can be done?

Are you as excited as I am?! This f*cking rocks!

We live in exciting times, and being a witness of this, being a part of what is happening is pretty astonishing.

What do you find most exciting, and in what way?
What do you think will happen?


No matter what comes out of this, I am excited!

Coach Bjork
https://coachbjork.com

Sort:  

You make a lot of good points and it's interesting to read your personalized thoughts and story. Bank bail ins as well as currency controls are a big concern for sure and so it is wise to hold some other asset types.

There's another Steemian who lives near me that is a personal trainer. @caribbeanmon

Thank you for these words, I went both ways about if I should publish this text or not.
I try to diversify my savings as much as I can, but atm, the majority is in crypto.

Thank for that recommendation, I will look there for inspiration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71