Getting Down With Portraits

in #esteem5 years ago

Changing it up and down

Getting different looking photos from the same poses




tddpbjij00.jpg


I’m really having fun with my portrait photography sessions. I’m taking many standard shots to fine tune my technique and composition, so naturally there are a lot of conventional type portraits being produced.

My friend-models are giving me their time, so in return they can use the photos on their social media, or wherever else. I try to not produce too many shots of the same poses, but there are only so many poses - especially since they are not professional models.

I try to create some variety by changing it up a bit;


A change of perspective

tu8ngoxe5h.jpg

u2vrwr1jom.jpg

Changing the view point can drastically alter the photo. To paraphrase what @kevinli said in this DTube video, “crouch way down”. I like to take that to a different level and either lie down myself and shoot up at the model, or the reverse. Another variant of that is to shoot the model upside down while she’s lying down. Heck, you can both lie down.

I find that photos taken while lying down seem a little more intimate for some reason. There’s an element of vulnerability to it


Stand between the light

acf7s9skuz.jpg

Back lighting the model is a very widely used method. It’s a favourite for shooting romantic scenes like weddings and engagements. Depending on the light source, it can alter the image drastically.

Backlit against the golden evening sun, for example, can give that golden highlight in the model’s hair and soften the skin - reducing the appearance of any (so called) imperfections.

You have to do it right though, otherwise you’ll end up with a silhouette. I use a fill flash to avoid that, rather than over exposing and blowing out the background.

Put some distance between you

1hdqtrogya.jpg

A common piece of advice is to fill the frame with your subject. I once heard from a famous portrait photographer that filling the frame is much more important than anything else. Well, rules are there to be broken (once you know them).

If the environment is interesting, I often move back a little to include it in the photo. It makes the photo seem more like a lifestyle-holiday snap, but I think they can be very interesting.

Shoot their reflections

dn63tw1wc2.jpg

rwunzamoy3.jpg

I like to create some behind-the-scenes type photos. To do this, I like to assume some kind of onlooker/fly-on-the-wall type role. For instance, when my model retouches her makeup, or fixes her hair, I like to grab some quick shots while she isn’t totally paying attention. These can come out pretty nice.

There’s also the totally cliché but interesting reflection shots through a mirror, shiny metal or water.


So, you awesome portrait photographers out there, what are your tricks and tips? Let me know - I’m eager to try new things.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

My tip, always and forever to anyone that is into photography, is that it's all about the light! Light light light, different colours of light, coming from different angles, the most flattering ones are around sunrises and sunsets. I would highly recommend staying away from mid day sun with portraits, and many artificial light is also very ugly. I rarely shoot portraits during dull overcast day, or straight harsh sunlight.

Hope this helps! :)

Great tips thanks ✨
I agree with light being paramount 💡

The first and second one are a bit akward Ade.. I love the last 2! I just saw your vid on that today also and then creep to the IG account lol.

So, you awesome portrait photographers out there, what are your tricks and tips? Let me know - I’m eager to try new things.

Self portrait, you should look on @eveuncovered's profile a lot a lot. She actually takes all that herself and it somehow just looks all great!

Great job Ade! Get on Discord now! LOLOL (never stop trying hahahahah)

I see someone talking good behind my back, thank you 🤗

Please let him shoot a few with you in it at SF3! :)

There is reason why I do self portraits, I don't like to model for other people :P

Oh Nooooooooo hahah - understandable! ;)

awkward as in "intimate"? :)
Hahah. Nice one. I saw your comment on Instagram thanks 🙏🏿⭐️

I've seen some of her photos yes, they are very good.

LOL @ "get on Discord" :)

really, self portrait related!!!

Awesome portraits man! And very good tips, thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks for stopping by bro :)

Any time man! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

U. R. Still. Artist!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow.
Mind Blown!
Peace.

Particularly love the last two pics, keep it up man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98