Making Moves

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Photos speak a thousand words.

They add an extra dimension to a blog post. Ever since I’ve started blogging on Steemit, I’ve found a new appreciation for a particular type of photo - the GIF.


yqubtclmu8.gif


What is it?

As already mentioned, it is a photo file format. It is an acronym for Graphical Interchange Format and was developed at Compuserve way back in 1987. Ref

Controversy

There is some controversy in how to pronounce "GIF" - "Jiff" (like the sound in Jeep) or "Giff"(like the sound in Give). Personally I say it like the later.


9xcg3irr4x.gif

GIFs add a movie-like dimension to a blog post, without having to embed an actual video. At times, they are even more suited to a post than a video is.

There is a certain sub-class of GIF that I've become very fond of and have been messing around with lately called cinemagraphs. They are basically GIFs but cinematically done. It’s hard to explain. You’ve go to see it to see what I mean. Check them out

ksfhx55eh6.gif

How I make them

A GIF is simply a collection of images played back one after the other in a given order - like a movie. Which is why they are mostly made by capturing portions of a movie.

I make them on my Mac with the tool called Giphy. It’s a little tricky to use, and I could suggest a whole bunch of improvements to the developers if I knew them, but the results are great.

grrfrf2rt8.png


Here's one of me and @redrica for laughs.

ivyojyfj7x.gif


Banner.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

I like gifs in extraordinary funny or spontaneous moments. But why do I see them so little on blogs? They do not match or how?

I think most people just don't know how to make them. Also many blogs don't display them properly. Steemit is so good for things like Gifs and embeded videos because of the Markdown language

GIF images are unique in their own ways because they add some sort of image interaction into a content , and are also attractive and Catchy to the eye of the audience they also add some sort of beauty to the post @adetorrent

Boss i love this gif not bad at all how is your day

That cinemagraph site is incredible! Some of those gifs are works of art. The one with the lop-eared rabbits especially - the more I look at it, the more I see.
I'd love to create gifs, but I think it'll take me a while to get the hang of it. One day I'll sit down and have a go.

The last one looks like a real video. Or not? I actually learned that gif is a collection of images rather than a short video just this week - terrible! 😁But eager to create one myself! Have you ever tried the moving images? They are like 3D. Loved it, need to create more!

Well, that's effectively what video is too :) - they're just one photo (frame) after the other played at a given speed. haha.

Sorry! Only seeing this mention now (I really should check my Busy more often)... When the hell are you back, so we can finally do better collabs eh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85