Planning to Install VirtualBox on a Laptop? Read This

in #esteem5 years ago

First of all, I have to admit, I love VirtualBox. Because of VirtualBox I made my employer save about $10,000 in software and hardware purchases (server hardware and server software).

A co-employee of mine from my sister's company called me about his laptop because the installed guest OS on his VirtualBox was not able to connect to the network.

I was caught off-guard

I frequently use VirtualBox on desktop that only has a single Ethernet card or network card. I was troubleshooting the network problem of the guest OS on the laptop but I couldn't fix it at first try.

But an idea suddenly popped-up on my head. What if the laptop is using the wireless network card rather than the wired network card?

My co-employee is using the wired network connection not the wireless connection

As it turns out, I was correct. I immediately changed the settings of the VirtualBox to use the wired network card over the wireless network card and voila, the problem is fixed.

How the problem happens

As it turns out, when you install a VirtualBox on a laptop it uses the wireless network connection as the default network card.

So, if you are accustomed in using VirtualBox on a desktop that only has one network card you might not going to bother on changing the default network card.

On a desktop that has only a single network card it will use that network card by default. But not on a laptop, you might think that the laptop's wired network card will be used as a default then you are wrong.

When I began troubleshooting the problem I was only thinking about the wired connection of the laptop since it is the one being used by the laptop.

I forgot that a laptop usually has two connections, a wireless connection and a wired connection.

So, whenever you install a VirtualBox on a laptop make sure change the default network connection of the VirtualBox into the wired network connection since VirtualBox uses the wireless network connection by default after installation.



I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father and a husband.


357u2dlv22.png

t2igarqmc5.gif
s6g5fdmpr8.png
2b61yhskz8.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

My desktop have wireless bro... I would like to try that Virtual box! 😊😊

Need mo sir ng Oracle VirtualBox, install mo yun, and then need mo ng installer ng guest OS na gusto mo gaya ng Windows 10, Linux, or Mac.

Meron din sir tinatawag na Virtual Desktop sa Windows 10, press mo lang Ctrl + Windows Key + D sa keyboard, Ctrl + Windows Key + Left/Right Arrows to switch, Ctrl + Windows Key +F4 to close virtual desktop.

Helpful yan sir lalo pag nasa opisina ka, para nakahiwalay yung pagbubukas mo ng applications para sa opisina at pang personal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30