Our society today, through this ‘hey-look-my-life-is-cooler-than-yours

in #esteem5 years ago

Oh what I wouldn’t give to be back in the Bali warmth, it is getting chilly in WA! Especially down south! Brrrrrr! Missing those tropical runs and the 1.5 seconds it took to work up a sweat. I find it so much easier and more motivating to be active in warm weather! Now all I want to do is cuddle up in front of a fire and drink red and it’s not even winter yet!

My jogging partner (I use this term loosely…very loosely)

image

Who do you follow and why
Last night I went through all the people I was following and asked myself that question for each and every account.
I was and now it’s less than 500.
My home page was filled with posts from people I didn’t know and things that didn’t inspire me. I’d miss posts by my friends or daily reminders from my favourite writers or photographers.
I unfollowed all accounts that didn’t Inspire, entertain or educate me. I also unfollowed accounts of people I didn’t know or had never interacted with. And truth be told I doubt any of them will notice!
It’s amazing the accounts we accumulate on here; accounts that become inactive, accounts of brands you once bought from, accounts of strangers you met one time, accounts of people you thought were hot who are now married
I think it’s important to cleanse from time to time as we mature and our interests evolve both online and in the real world.
I once followed a lot of beauty and fashion accounts and now I’d rather follow mindset, photography and poetry.
I once followed strangers in exchange for them following me. Now I don’t care. That’s not the point of this platform.
Perhaps this will result in a drop in my following but I’d rather have people who follow me because they are actually engaged and inspired rather than on the basis of follow for fuce
The cleanse feels uplifting and I was ruthless about it but if I have unfollowed you and you are upset, please DM me as there may have been some I unfollowed by mistake in the process.
This is another step forward in my journey of conscious and authentic living. X

image

  • Who’s been watching my workouts on my IG stories
    Keeping up fitness levels when you travel can be HARD so I’ve been sharing my exercise routines to show you that you don’t need a gym and can get creative with your workouts! I’ve had lots of positive feedback so far and wanted to gauge the interest in me creating an exercise program of some sort? Would you be keen
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This happened to my instagram account.

My home page was filled with posts from people I didn’t know and things that didn’t inspire me.

I was like that, then I deleted my instagram account and uninstalled it forever. I no longer check anything. It never happened to my steemit though. I regularly purge people I follow and replace them with fresh users who post great contents and inspire me.

For me, steemit is the same as the others for exchanging ideas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87