Visions - Dreams of Peace and Distress

in #esteem5 years ago

Greetings to everyone, the following story was inspired by the digital art of @xpilar, I invite you to visit his blog. The picture that motivated this story is the following.



Source

Visions

Dreams of Peace and Distress

Curious shapes swirled, twisted and twisted in the sky. Visions of crystalline clouds moving in vortices of colour in the middle of a strange starry sky; a false sky projected on the ceiling of the room, the sweet and relaxing sound of the breeze moving between the tops of non-existent trees and the soft aroma of freshly cut grass were the announcement of a life that was about to die out.

The usual routine of the common room began, repeated at least once a week, some of the twenty occupants were living their last moments, and the wet nurses arranged everything to make the event as peaceful as possible. Simon, a child he hardly knew and who had been sedated since his arrival, was the next to leave that room.

Lucian, he saw those clouds moving through the ceiling from one side to the other, slowly carried by gentle winds, when would the day come when those provocative forms would come for him, perhaps he would never notice it, perhaps in the unconsciousness or ignorance of the moment he would not know it, until it was too late and he could not enjoy them in his last moments, perhaps insanity would make him think they would come for another, or, perhaps, today they came for him and he had not yet realized it.

Lucian woke up again in his room, one of his companions was shaking him.

-Wake up Lucian, you have nightmares again, -he heard him say in his unconsciousness, he repeated it over and over again as he shook him by the shoulders.

Lucian blinked agitated as he saw William's face speaking to him, a few inches from his own, then he realized he was sitting on his bed. He raised his arms in sign that he had come to his senses.

-Now, I'm awake, -said Lucian stunned, and squinted his eyes, -What happened, why do you wake me up?

-You're talking in your sleep again, and you sat on the bed again, I woke you up before I gave you the walk again, -said his roommate.

-I'm sorry I woke you up, and did the other boys wake up, too? -asked Lucian worried.

-No, they're still asleep, you didn't make much noise, you were talking almost in whispers, I wasn't asleep, I have an exam tomorrow and I was still studying, -said William -What were you dreaming? You were talking about smoke and wind.

-I don't know, it's kind of recurring, it's like being in the dispensary room, but they projected images of colorful clouds moving from one side to the other and there were sounds that seemed to numb you, -said Lucian, standing up and stretching his back-. But instead of being calm, I felt a great anguish, as if I knew something irremediable was about to happen.

-Have you told the nurse about this? -William asked.

-Yes, she told me that there was a relaxation protocol that is used in the case of terminal patients, which is similar to what I describe to her, but it is applied in private rooms, not in the common room, but it has never been necessary to use it, because in Perseus someone has never died.

That morning in Fenrir, Simon, the child in the bed near the door, died after a respiratory collapse, eight weeks after one of his lungs had been removed, tomorrow possibly another child would occupy his bed. Lucian closed his eyes and concentrated on the sound of the vital signs monitor and even though it was not night, he fell asleep.

Text of @amart29 Barcelona, Venezuela, September 2019

Other stories from the series The Age of Perseus

I can only thank @xpilar for allowing me to use his digital art in my publication and for motivating my creation. Thank you very much @xpilar

Thank you all for visiting my publication, I hope your comments and I appreciate your support, until next time




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87