Praying for My Grandpa

in #esteem5 years ago

1.JPG

My Grandpa was born 100 years ago today. He didn’t live to celebrate this day because he died from cancer at the age of sixty-two. Grandpa (my mom’s dad) wasn’t a very affectionate man like my other Grandpa (my dad’s father), and it wasn’t until I got older, that I really learned to love and appreciate him. Grandpa was a good man. He was hard-working and moral, and did a great job of raising his four daughters. He enjoyed fishing, camping and music. He especially enjoyed listening to his girls (and later grandchildren) singing around the piano.

Grandpa almost always wore bib overalls and carried a red bandana handkerchief. He often finished a meal by breaking Grandma’s homemade bread into a glass of milk, adding sugar, and eating it with a spoon. And most days after lunch, he would take an hour nap before heading back out to the fields.

Night after night, for many years, our family prayed for Grandpa’s salvation. He and my dad farmed together, and Dad often witnessed to him, but Grandpa always put it off. Then came the day that we learned Grandpa was dying of cancer, and he didn’t have much time left. We cried at the thought of losing Grandpa, and prayed so earnestly for him. It was just a few days later, when my uncle walked into Grandpa’s hospital room, that Grandpa told him he needed to get things settled with his Maker! And less than two weeks later, the angels ushered Grandpa into the presence of God.

1.JPG.jpg

I prayed for Grandpa for almost 20 years, and never did get discouraged and quit. So why do I get stressed now when I don’t get an instant prayer answer? As a child I had no doubt that God would answer my prayer, and I didn’t try to take control of my life instead of trusting God completely. Lord, forgive me from doubting you and trying to do things my own way. Thank you for caring so very much for me.

Today’s smile: Some of us learn from other people’s mistakes: the rest of us have to be the other people.

o2vMGM7W-nQ.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79