Delegating Tasks leads to hiding out in Pub Cellars

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

I have been a general manager for a good few years now and my biggest influence once told me that the best general managers do nothing. This really caught my attention and I too would like to do nothing. This guy ,lets call him Mr E , used to walk around all day and people would come up to him and tell him this things are done and that thing is will be done and he would nod. He had the place running like clockwork. He was over 700 people working for him and he knew what was going on everywhere because he didn't have his head buried in office or some part of the floor. He was looking around, aware of what was happening and he was indeed doing nothing but running the show at the same time.
A few years later I was in Frankfurt Germany. He was now running the country and I was in his shoes. Doing Nothing . I loved it. I really settled into the role walking around all day having the chats.
wyqs0y3kq1.jpg
Me and my colleague Chris with some German bloggers with hats telling them that we mean business.
When the store opened we started with 850 staff. That's the most people I ever had under me. Recruiting all these people for minimum wage jobs are bound to throw up a few nutters. There was one man called Mohammed that was around 6 foot 5" and a big unit. He would bow passing my office door which I thought it was hilarious. I was showing my friends who came to visit the set up and they picked up on the bow and started calling me "Papa Blanchy". I still get that to this day.
Anyway Mohammed was as nice as pie to me but he used to go down on the shop floor and be all ignorant to women. He also punched a wall when a female manager asked him to do something. Mohammed had to go. He was on a temporary contract anyway and the girls were afraid of him. So this is where my delegation techniques had to be called to action. Myself and Marek my assistant manager knew that this wouldn't end well. Marek knew Mohammed didn't like him and telling Mohammed that his services were not required anymore was likely to end in a very angry beast. We had 7 people in HR but none of them felt comfortable as more stories about this guy started surfacing. I told Marek that I didn't give a shit once the wall puncher was gone by the end of the day. Marek was taking a leaf from my book and delegated tasks himself. Two managers called Bajram and Claudio were given the task to tell Mohammed. I could tell what Marek was thinking . Bajram and Claudio could handle themselves. . Claudio was a small little Argentinian I thought was a pushover until I played against him in midfield and he was the opposite. He ran rings around me and could look after himself. Bajram was from Kosevo. He told me if he can survive a war he can survive anything. Myself and Marek knew this was to happen at 3pm in the training room. We hid out in the office beside mine and waited for the meeting. There was shouting and chairs moving and finally a punch through the wall. Bajram phoned me,
He is looking for Marek.
I turned to Marek
He is after you boy. Haha
We better make ourselves scarce my friend
Marek looked worried. The little Polish fella hated confrontation especially if it was from a 6ft 5" Turkish man who liked punching and was keen to punch Marek.
The probem about our building was that there was only one exit so we made our way down the fire escape and straight into the pub across the road. This was called the "Tranny Bar" and we would always go there for Prinks on a saturday evening. We called it the 'Tranny Bar because we were sitting at the bar one day and we saw a guy going by with a shirt and tie up top and suspenders. We started laughing. He or she got off their bike, came in and sat down beside us and ordered a pint. We got talking to Julia and she said that the bar was a local for transvestites and prostitutes so it was then christened the tranny bar from that day on. A Welsh woman ran the bar and she was fucking mad! She looked like somone that was either going to punch you or hug you. So we were having a pint when at the corner of our eye we saw Mohammed walking out of the store. One of the bloody security guards pointed over at the tranny bar and he started walking towards it. I asked the Welsh woman that that we needed Santuary so she told us to come in behind the bar and hide in the basement where the beer cooler was. So there myself and Marek were in the basement of some dodgy pub getting hunted down by a mad man. Mohammed walked in and asked the Welsh lady if she saw us. She told him that she didn't and off he went. The coast was clear. We went home , got changed and spent the rest of the night in the Tranny bar out of loyalty to Welshy and soon forgot about our unfortunate event. The last photo of us in the tranny bar with one of the locals. Size of her hands!!! Yep weird mannequins in background. It was crazy place, Frankfurt. A great old experience.
mhn44980x6.jpg

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

wait .. what?????? is this for real??? i read the entire story and it turn from firing a person, to hiding away from him in a bar. What did i just read...😶

Yep he wasn't happy! Fight or Flight and we chose the latter. Good job Germany have some great watering holes to soften our flight

You wuss. Kop yerself on, la.
lol

Where are you now? (not still hiding I hope!)

I had a staff rebellion in hostel one LA time - they were butt hurt with me - I wanted to give them more money for more work, and they didn't want it. They were half holidaying, so I can't blame them for the decision..
Fair enough, their choice, it didn't bother me.

But one dude - (why are they always the big lumps ?lol), he was agitating for no reason one night, on the balcony - and they didn't know I was listening - walking around is always a good idea in any place you're running...
I didn't have the luxury of security - I was the security.
He left later that night once I'd confronted him, and the staff were back to their happy/moaning ways and everything was hunky dory.

...It's crap being security and running the place ! lol

butt hurts is a new term for me! I am still trying to figure that expression out.😂😂. I look back at it now if we stayed around Marek was going to get beaten up because the guy was violent. It was like a little tropical storm. Better to wait it out for a few minutes than to face it head on when temper was high. We met him a few months later in H & M and he was all smiles.

oh my gosh...the guy has issues, but hope he learns something n be a better employee

soz for no t upvoting - still recovering my RC's...

No problem Lucy. That’s just a decoration. I wouldn’t upvote me either ! 😂😂😂.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh my goodness, what a story! At least the woman was willing to give you some shelter and the man went off without actually hurting one of you. Delegation at its finest, and an important lesson for people running stuff to know their employees and how to get things done.

Yep otherwise you will have to do it. It takes a long time to really master delegation because if you are a grafter all your life then you feel guilty for doing nothing. Im fine about it now 😂😂

Hahah..so all hood thatvends well.....you are a good General Manager and good technique to handle the human resources....manahmging 850 people is tough task. I can imagine, while i was at work i used to have 18 people under me...and it was coping with 18 halloween...took too much to handle them and at the same timr play as puppet in management hands.....still i survive a good 2 years...and throrughly enjoyed each moment....

Posted using Partiko Android

@steemflow the good and bad tradition in Germany is that if it is a staff members birthday then they are obliged to bring in a cake ( for their birthday) So with that amount of staff there was a slice of cake on my desk every lunch time! Num num num num . 😂

Hahaha..thats the reason you being so sweet all the time general manager. Enjoy the cake....hope to share tye slice someday....steem on 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.090 which ranks you at #9422 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 692 places in the last three days (old rank 10114).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 5.38% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blanchy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

hahaha! great story sir blanchy! that looks like a fun bar to hide out in and it's handy being right across the street. So you never had any trouble from Mohammad again? Sometimes those guys come back.
Good grief man, 850 people! how many do you have now?

I came back so it’s around 280. Mohammad popped in the week after to say sorry. He was just a bit temperamental.

Posted using Partiko iOS

oh how nice of Mohammad to do that, did you thank him for forcing you guys to have a fun night out at the tranny bar? lol.

You came back from what? You mean you came back to Ireland? yeah we all know about your triumphant return. hehehe they probably gave you the keys to the city.

😜Ireland would be small scale business compared to Germany so I wouldn't have that many staff. So I have to tie my own shoelaces again unfortunately. The keys to the city?? They may give me the keys to Dallas for putting up with you!!

lol! So you're saying at work you can't just walk around and do nothing like in Germany? That type of management doesn't work on a smaller store?

Unfortunately not but I do know all the tricks of the trade!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10