A Night with Bozz in Grand Rapids Michigan: Part 2

in #esteem6 years ago

The other day I started telling you about a trip my wife and I tookwith two of our nieces to Grand Rapids, MI.

If you didn't check it out, you should really go back and read up. It will help you understand the rest of the story that I will be bringing you today.

We had finished up getting ready in our hotel room and it was time to try to get some dinner before we went to the show.

We took the short walk down the street to a place I have been to several times before. It is called Z's Bar & Restaurant and you can see my full write up here if you want more info. It is a really great little place and we had a very nice dinner there. The food and the service were amazing as usual. My wife and the girls had never been there before and they were all very impressed with my selection.

Leaving Z's, we took another short walk to the Van Andel Arena. It is a relatively small arena where a local hockey team plays. Additionally, they host a large variety of concerts there. My wife had never been to a show there and she quickly decided she would never hesitate to come to a show there again.

The size of the arena makes the seating fantastic with most all seats giving you a great view of the stage. The crowds were starting to pick up over in this area of town, so we quickly made our way through the security check and found our seats.

It had been a while since I bought the tickets, so I was not really sure where our seats were going to be. I was pleasantly surprised by how well I had done.


IMG_20181006_184928.jpg

After we found our seats and got all situated to see Midland, Brett Young, and Thomas Rhett, the girls decided that they wanted to go buy a t-shirt. I took them down to the "merch" area to see what kind of stuff they had.

The lines were huge, but the people working the merchandise area were very quick and efficient. As we were standing in line the girls noticed that they were selling small glow sticks for people to use during the show. Here is the deal though... the glow sticks were $5 USD a piece. I told the girls "unless the glow chemical is mixed with Thomas Rhett's sweat, I don't think it is probably worth the five dollars".

They quickly piped in "yeah, I can buy a package of ten of them at the store for five dollars". It was pretty funny watching their reaction as well as the reactions of the people around us.

They soon decided on the style of shirt they wanted so I paid the worker and we were on our way. I love concert t-shirts, but I am not a van of the crazy prices they charge for them at the concert. $35 USD a piece for each of the shirts didn't seem too bad though and the style they picked out was really cool. They also both picked out the same shirt, so that was kind of sweet.

We headed back to our seats and got ready for the show to start. We didn't realize it, but it was 90's night at the arena, so they were playing lots of music from that era to get the audience pumped up and many people were dressed up in their 90's gear. I even saw a guy dressed up as Brittney Spears in a schoolgirl outfit. It was sort of disturbing!

IMG_20181006_193916.jpg

Midland was the first opening act and for me they were the main reason that I wanted to go to this show. As I mentioned in my teaser post last weekend, they have a sort of old school country sound. It takes me back to the likes of Brooks & Dunn, George Strait, and Alan Jackson. Sadly because they were the first opening act, they only sang about five or six songs and then they were gone. I loved what they did though and sang along with pretty much every song!


IMG_20181006_193146.jpg


IMG_20181006_192847.jpg

Somewhere between one of the shows, I caught my niece next to me taking selfies. Not wanting to be left out, I felt like I should follow her lead and do the same. I tried to imitate her pose, but I don't think I pulled it off as well as she did. What do you think?


IMG_20181006_184959.jpg

Next up was Brett Young and my wife was really excited to see him. Probably about as excited as I was to see Midland.

Brett Young is more of a ballad singer, but he has some upbeat songs and I really enjoy most of the ones I have heard. He just released a new album at the beginning of this month, so we weren't sure if we would hear new material or his older hits.

He mixed it up and play a great variety of his older songs as well as his new single that was just released. My wife and I found ourselves singing along to all the ones we knew. Sadly, being the second opening act, his set was very short and he was gone much sooner than we had hoped.


IMG_20181006_201557.jpg

IMG_20181006_205245.jpg

After another intermission, it was soon time for Thomas Rhett to take the stage. I didn't realize it until close to the end, but they actually had a DJ playing the music to hype the crowd. He was doing a fantastic job of playing the throwback 90's jams and the crowd was practically lit by the time Thomas Rhett appeared.


IMG_20181006_202614.jpg

You can just make out the DJ on the platform at the lower part of the picture above.

Here are some final pictures from the show. Thomas Rhett did a fantastic job and played all of the songs that you would expect him to. Everyone was singing along to basically every song the whole show. It was fantastic.

IMG_20181006_220928.jpg

IMG_20181006_214936.jpg


IMG_20181006_212935.jpg


IMG_20181006_212933.jpg

In all, we had a fantastic time. Even though it wasn't my original plan, I am really glad that I got to share this experience with my nieces. They had a blast and it will be a memory they hold for a long time. I look forward to the next show I get to take them to.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

A great summary about your travel. Keep up the creativity

Thank you!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

. I even saw a guy dressed up as Brittney Spears in a schoolgirl outfit. It was sort of disturbing!

I can imagine.

I love how you are sharing this outing with us from beginning to end, must have been a great trip for you all

It was! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.393 which ranks you at #6916 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 6930).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #125.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 279 (10/12/18)

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76