Bozzlife: Toughest Monster Truck Tour

in #esteem5 years ago

Not having any kids of our own besides our dog Jovi, @mrsbozz and I try to make it a point to spoil our nieces and nephews as much as possible.

I know it's not true everywhere in the world, but for the most part I feel kids in general these days have a lot of "stuff". Things they play with for a hot second and then instantly forget about, break, or lose.

Because of that, my wife and I have always tried to gift experiences rather than things. We have taken our nieces and nephews to concerts, plays, and on this occasion a monster truck rally.

Somehow(I am still trying to figure it out), @mrsbozz wiggled her way out of this event that is stereotypical of every boys dream and talked her father into taking her spot. It was just as well because the boys were excited to have "Pops" coming with us and quite honestly, at the end of the day I think he had as much or more fun than the kids did.

The venue where the event was being held is pretty small. They hold many events there, but it is most often used as the hockey arena for one of our local teams. Having talked to people who have been to similar events before, I knew it was going to be loud.

I reached out to my buddy Mike and my parents to borrow their hearing protection. I then had my own set of "shooting muffs"(the green ones) that I added to the collection. We were good to go for the big event!

The tickets for admission weren't that bad of a deal. I actually sprung for the "family four pack" so we got a discount coupon for food or souvenirs too. I made the mistake of purchasing my tickets early because it apparently wasn't sold out and in the days approaching the event they were advertising significantly discounted ticket prices.

There was another big monster truck even happening about two hours down the road at Ford Field on the same day as this one. I think a lot of people(including some of our friends) opted to visit that one instead. Apparently, because of the venue it is much bigger, quieter, and not as smokey(because of the vehcile exhaust).

I remember as a kid coming to The Dow Event Center(back then it was called the Saginaw Civic Center) to see the monster trucks, so I didn't really mind that my nephews first trip would be to the same place.

We got to the venue probably a bit earlier than we needed to, but I wanted to make sure we got a decent parking spot so Pops and the boys didn't have to walk too far. Plus I figured it would be a good idea to get settled and have our food out of the way before the event started.

They kids can be picky eaters, so one of them opted for a soft pretzel while the other just wanted popcorn. Pops and I both got a decent but soggy hotdog which we scarfed down pretty quickly so we could attend to the kids.

It ended up being a lesson in futility though because... boys

It was actually a pretty big box of popcorn so even though it looks like a lot here the loss was minimal.

This was the basic setup for the event. As you can see it really isn't that big of a venue and it makes you wonder how they are going to really be able to manuever at all. I seriously remember it seeming much larger when I was a kid :)

The announcer was trying to hype up the crowd for the 15 minutes prior to the event. He interviewed some of the drivers and worked to get the crown involved and excited.

This is just another view of the center display with the tour logo on it. I really spent very little time looking at the "jumbotron". The seats we had were very good and you could easily take in everything that was happening in the arena from our spots.

Though still big, I feel like these trucks are a smaller version of the monster trucks I remember from my youth. I am guessing part of that is just because I am an old man now, but I also think over the years they found that scaling things down a little bit probably allowed them to have more trucks running at once.

There were a couple of guys running small remote control monster trucks around the course before the event started. I have a feeling they were still probably $200 or $300 trucks and a far cry from the RC toys most boys are familiar with.

I just noticed I am already at 800 words, so I am going to start throwing more pictures your way and less commentary!

This is actually a circuit that the drivers compete on apparently. Each year they have a "season" and points are added up from each event so that an overall winner is awarded at the end of the season.

Each event is split into three categories, the first being "jumping" or "wheelies".

The opening picture is another example from that round.

The second round is the longest and consists of one-on-one races. They start with the group of eight and eventually work down via bracket to two finalists. The annoucer called it "Chicago Style".

In between rounds they needed to clean things up. I grabbed a picture of the Bobcat grooming the course.

It was about this time we were 45 minutes or so into the event and my youngest nephew saw the cotton candy vendor walking through the stands. His concentration was immediately destroyed and his focus soon became fixated on where in the stands the cotton candy was as opposed to what the monster trucks were doing.

Trying to bring him back to the event, I broke down and bought a bag of cotton candy for him and his brother to share. It worked for a while until he saw the snow cone vendor.

Not wanting to go overboard I simply told him no and ignored him until he fell asleep. No lie! I think had we been in a bigger venue with less downtime between rounds it might have been able to hold the boys attention longer... live and learn.

During one of the intermissions they had a BMX squad come out and do some tricks for the audience. Many people took this time to hit the concession stands or bathrooms, but I found it really entertaining.

During another break they started moving some cars around and we knew the most exciting part of the event was going to be happening soon!

They had a "special guest" truck that someone had rebuilt to immitate one of the classic monster trucks of the 80's called "Showtime". They had restored it down to the exact same decals.

Finally, it was time for the freestyle round where the trucks get 90 seconds to do their best crushing and tricks.

I took many more pictures from this event, but I didn't want to totally overwhelm you. Two of the trucks got damaged during the event and were not able to finish all three rounds.

It was a fantastic day spent with my nephews and my father in law. I was just about rolling on the floor laughing when Pops was excitedly telling Mimi(my mother in law) about all of the tricks the trucks and BMX riders did.

I resisted breaking down and buying the boys a snow cone, but I did end up buying them each a battery powered monster truck from the souvenier stand on the way out.

So much for gifting them experiences not things!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Taking your nephews out for experience related treats is a special way of looking out for them. I am sure they love it as much as you guys do and see their aunt and uncle as their other parents.

Looks like a cool event. And that is really neat when you talk about "gifting experiences" rather than to just "give things" to your nieces and nephews.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats the kind of event UI would love to go to, but if I ever do I now know to take my ear Muffs I hadnt thought of that but I am sure these trucks are so noisy it would be crazy loud without them

Thanks for explaining the different kinds of events they do, I have seen the one on one races on TC and the web but didnt really know about the other styles

and lastly why is it at events like this even if soggy the hot dogs always taste so good

Well I know around here the reason the dogs are so good is because they are Koegels. It is a local brand that makes some fantastic Frank's! Their Vienna's are my favorite. They have a skin on them so there is a definite snap when you bite into them. On a side note, are you doing okay given everything happened in your Homeland these past 24 hours. Even though you aren't there I thought of you immediately.

Posted using Partiko Android

Firstly yes I am fine, a bit shocked this is so unlike NZ for something like this to happen, people are in total shock and anger that this happened, sadly this is happening to much around the world, to many people are fueling hate instead of respect and I hope that changes soon, these things need to stop, thnaks for thinking of me, its been a bad week with so Many UN staff and others dying in the plane crash out of Addis and then this :(

I do believe I had a Kroegel Hot dog once and loved it, I am not sure when and where but the name does ring a bell

I think Koegel does distribute to a couple states around Michigan. You could have had one when you were travelling through here too. I am glad you are mentally handling it okay and it is indeed sad that there is so much division and hate out there...

Posted using Partiko Android

It probably was in Michigan I did visit there a few times :)
Things have to change there is so much good going on in the world but for so many the focus is only on the bad and fostering more anger

I've always wanted to go to one of this shows. Not just go, but drive one of those big cars. I don't even have a bicycle, but I've always loved big cars. Love the photos, and it's great you give the kids this kind of experience. They will remember this much longer than if you had given them some money.

They are pretty impressive machines! I am lucky enough to have a truck but nothing that big! Thanks for the great comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi bozz,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 429 (03/15/19)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 106 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Somehow (I am still trying to figure it out), @mrsbozz wiggled her way out of this event

I'd have found a way to wiggle out of it, too. Nice post though. Great pictures.

Thanks! I appreciate it! I seriously can't believe how many I took!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85