Home Improvement with Bozz: Cooking Table

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I talked about the new lights I installed to go with our new deck. Today, I am going to talk about the cooking table I made.

The picture to the right is our old deck. You can see on the top level there is a stainless steel gas grill. This gas grill was unique in that it didn't use tanks. Instead, they had connected it to the natural gas line that runs to the house.

Personally, I don't use gas to grill, I am a charcoal guy 100%. The nice thing about the gas grill though was the side burner. Even in the middle of Winter you could find me out cooking something on the side burner that we didn't wnat smelling up the house.

Bacon, taco meat, pickling brine, you name it, if there was the possibility it would leave a lingering smell in the house, I cooked it outside.

When we had the new deck installed, I had the contractor remove that old gas line. It really looked like the person before had not installed it safely or properly. I figured it was best to choose safety over convenience.

We had the old grill hauled away to be recycled and I started trying to figure out how I was going to still be able to cook outside without the side burner.

I thought about getting an induction cooktop as they are very popular now. The problem with that was I would still have to find a place to plug it in. Suddenly, I remembered my wife and I had an old camp stove that uses small liquid propane cannisters. We have many of the cannisters still and they are fairly cheap to buy at the store.

I headed off to the local hardware store with nothing but a rough plan in my head and half of a Saturday to accomplish something.

I decided to go with Cedar wood because it is supposed to hold up to the elements without being treated. I grabbed three 1"x2"x8's and four 1"x4"x10's.

o4r4sgr0zd.jpg

I also grabbed some screws and headed home. I got out my trusty miter saw and slowly a frame started to take shape.

This is the bottom of the frame. I needed a way to easily attach the pieces that would become the base for the table top.

I used a countersink drill bit so that I could get the screws close to the edges without splitting the wood. Additionally, this allowed the screws to sit flush and give the table a nicer look.

10xi4e4nm4.jpg

Looking back, I should have bought one more of each of the pieces of wood. I wasn't able to make the legs quite as nice as I had wanted. It is always something I could go back and add in the future though.

The picture above is of the frame flipped back over with the supports for the table top installed.

Now I just had to add the table top and the legs. Once I got moving on the project I was really able to finish it within an hour or two.

6insl3yo4a.jpg

Here is a picture of the table fully assembled. As you can see the table top on the left has some spaces between the boards because like I said, I should have bought one more board.

The smaller section on the right came out just the way I wanted it.

ye00s1xdpi.jpg

I measured as I was building the table to make sure the cooktop would fit perfectly on the left side. I knew I wanted to keep an area on the right side for prep work or to put a trivet on to move hot pots out of the way.

Because I used Cedar wood, the table is very light and extremely easy to move around. I don't think that would have been the case had I purchased treated lumber.

I made the legs 30" high thinking that would be long enough that I wouldn't have to bend over much while I was cooking. Again, looking back I might have made the legs just a little bit longer. An extra six inches in height might have been the way to go.

Bonus!

As a bonus today I am going to show you some pictures of me testing it out and cooking some taco meat.

puv2s75lfv.jpg

As I have mentioned before, my wife doesn't care for beef, so we usually use ground turkey or chicken. The one thing we always start with though is a diced onion. We put garlic and onions in pretty much everything we eat.

My wife and I both have mild high blood pressure, so we are both pretty careful about the amount of sodium we take in. Because of that we always make our own seasoning blend instead of buying the packets at the store. Those packets are usually full of sodium and who knows what other chemicals as preservatives etc.

Our spice blend is a simple "eyeballed" mix of cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, and oregano.

b5hs99ksrk.jpg

I add the spice blend towards the end after the meat has cooked through and the onions have softened up. You can see the end product above.

Thanks for reading! I don't do it all the time, but I am always excited when I can get out in the garage and do some woodwork. My buddy's dad has a custom cabinet shop with all kinds of fancy tools, but I feel like I do pretty decent with what I have!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 256 (9/13/18)

Thank you!

Nice DIY job.. can you come around to mine.. there's a lot that needs fixing here!

I coukd, but I would have to bring my wife and buddy. My buddy because he can fix the stuff I can't and my wife because I'd be dead meat otherwise.

Hello
it looks nice your job but I think I'll stay with the dog resting this Thursday hehe

She isn't too sure about the new deck. I think she will get used to it though. Laying around doing nothing is her favorite thing to do.

haha like my cats. They are happy seeing how we work

NOW that's what I'm talking about!!

I could definitely get some use out of one of those near my BBQ area.

Thanks! I haven't decided where I am going to put it yet.

I upvoted your post. Thank you @yehey for steem delegation, we are helping to promote authors with good content.

Best regards,
@Council

Please vote @Yehey as one of your Witness. Join us at https://SteemChat.com steem community.
Use @automation chat bot for a fun conversation.

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you! I have been a fan of @yehey for a while now.

I hope I can keep it up.

Cheers to you.

Well, I just double checked and I gave you my vote! Good Luck!

Highly appreciated your support and Thank YOU again.

Now there's a fine looking table my friend! I can get stuff to look like that but it REALLY takes a long time. Like buy the boards on Saturday and finish up with the table on Sunday :)

I've used quite a little cedar when I lived in Washington state and I'm going to suggest you put some Thompson's Water Seal or something like it on the table. Just cause....

I make my own Taco Seasoning, too. I add black pepper and onion powder to the mix. I actually have a recipe and more or less measure the stuff . Chili Capene. I also put some 'Red Pepper flakes in the mix.

Very nice! It is so much nicer to know what is going in your body. Plus like your mix then you can spice it up a little more if you want to! Thanks for the compliment on the table. I'd like to get a router table someday so I can do some nicer finishes on stuff and those little flares that give it that little something extra! I will look into getting some kind of sealer on it.

Awesome job @bozz. You make it look so easy, but I know it’s not! You got to measure everything, otherwise it won’t work. You got skills for sure 😊

Thanks! I appreciate it! There were a couple of boards that didn't come out quite right, but I was able to hide them!

What a fantastic and creative idea. It looks like it was fairly easy to design and assemble and it looks so functional. I love that you thought to add a side section for putting your plates and utensils or sauces, whatever.

I have always wanted to have an outdoor grill that is attached to the house and runs off natural gas. Although I do enjoy charcoal grilling, I love love my gas grill as well. Someday I want to have the same grill as Tim "The Toolman" Taylor.

Thanks, I tried my best to make something presentable :) I used to want one of those grills that is half gas, half charcoal and then has a side burner too, but now I am really happy with just my charcoal grill.

That's a neat idea, that would be perfect for camping if it also had foldable legs. Might be a project for next year :)

It would be awesome for camping. As I mentioned, I can't believe how light it is. Our travel tailer has a cooktop built in to the outdoor kitchen though so it will probably stay at home.

Awesome work on the table, my Dad was a carpenter/Joiner and loved making things, its one of the things I never inherited from him

My wife also has given up read meat so chicken is our main dish these days

I wish I had taken a shop class when. I was in high school. At the time I was more focused on college prep classes though. If I could go back and do it again I wouldnt have skipped it.

I did a woodworking class at school, but it just wasnt somehting I had a knack for

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85