Inside the mind of Bozz: My DLIKE Dillema

in #esteem5 years ago

Disclaimer

Let's get this out of the way right at the beginning: I delegate to Dlike, I support what they are doing and this post is not intended to be negative towards them.

I would be lying if I didn't tell you that I struggle with posting to dlike sometimes though. Ever since I began on Steemit, it has been hammered into me what it means to create a good post and and what comprises a good post.

I have a feeling that most people(including myself) look at dlike and think, "all they are doing is reposting articles with no commentary or anything. How can that even be considered a post?"

A few days ago, I came across this really cool article that I just wanted to share with people. I didn't have a lot to say about the article. It was pretty cut and dry and covered all of the key points pretty well.

I was still cringing when I went to post it on dlike though. Why? It was because of that ingrained belief that I should only post something with more than 500 words hand written with loving care by me and me alone.

It has taken me a while(okay like two days), but I am finally starting to realize, it's okay.

We already have enough front ends for Steemit and Dlike isn't trying to be that. They are trying to be something totally different.

Let's look at Pintrest since that is the closest thing I can think of to dlike. I don't personally use Pintrest but @mrsbozz does. Occasionally she will need me to look up a recipe she has "pinned" and I have to be honest, there isn't a single original post on there. Most "pins" take you to someone else's blog post where you can read about the recipe, or the home improvement technique or whatever.

Whether it is their intent or not Dlike strikes me as being more like that.

Ch Ch Ch Ch Ch Changes

Now that we have accepted the fact that dlike doesn't have to be a platform for high quality blogging lets talk about the things that I think they should change.

They have already made some changes to their front end and I think they look fantastic.

It also seems more responsive already even though areas like the wallet are not functional yet. They are in the process of releasing their token to an exchange or two and wallet functionality should be back after that.

If their desire is to be something like Pintrest though, I think they are going to need to implement one of the key features of Pintrest. That would be boards. I couldn't tell you how many boards @mrsbozz has. It might be easier to count the grains of sand on the beach or stars in the sky. Boards allow her an easy way to go back and find stories that other people posted which she finds interesting though.

I think Dlike could benefit from something like that. If there is someone out there more knowledgeable about dlike than me, please feel free to correct me if I have got their intent totally wrong.

I hope I don't though, because if I do that means everyone else is right and dlike is just a dumping ground for spam and crap content.

Second, there were several things that Musing didn't do well when they were in their prime. One of the things they did do right though was change their settings so that replies to questions only showed up as a post on the persons blog if they checked a checkbox.

I think dlike needs something like that and I think it would help them get some more users. Some of those users that are on the fence like I was. Those that only want to share certain things with their blog readers but other articles with dlike users.

Like Steemhunt I think a lot of people right now are just throwing up anything they can find hoping to get some upvotes and some tokens so that when they(tokens) go live they might be able to make a profit.

Steemhunt has a larger vision though(SteemReview) that helps give some creedence to what they are doing right now. I believe if @dlike wants to continue to grow, they need to find that larger vision and I think the two features I mentioned would be a great step towards that.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Hmmmmmm. I'm off to check out Dlike soon as I'm done here.

This may surprise you but I have a boat load of arcane stuff that's been published before or currently. I'm a true gearhead and have stuff that other gearheads would might like to look at. I don't much care about the rewards structure but would like to get some of this out so people can see.

Thanks for the tip, I'm off to Dlike land!

Hey no problem. It would be awesome to see some of your older stuff on there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I know a fair number of people who are against using Dlike. I have personally never used it, just because I think many people would not like it if I did.

That is part of my problem with it. I think it has some decent use cases and it is too bad that people may never realize those because they are afraid of what others will think. I'm not saying I am going to be spamming my blog up with simple article shares, but if I want to share a simple article occasionally I should be able to without fear of being judged or retribution. Quite honestly at a fundamental level how is it any different that resteeming someones post, or retweeting someone, or tweeting an article someone else wrote? Again, all of this is based on what I believe their intent to be. If I am wrong about that, then everything goes out the window :)

I had not heard of dlike and havd no idea what it does but your post has made me curious so of I go to take a look at it

I don't think it is for everyone, but I think it is at least worth taking a look at.

Yeah I took a quick look and it is an interesting idea

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @bozz! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Well, this is the first Ive even heard of Dlike...

Ill have to go check it out.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Inside the mind of @bozz

A bass voice with a whole lotta reverb echoes these words in my head every time I read them. But apparently that reverb is not just an echo.

Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @bozz just sent you 2 sbi shares. Keep up the good work!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 426 (03/11/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28