Oh Boid! Mining with Bozz

in #esteem6 years ago

How many of you remember the SETI@home project that was released in May of 1999? Back then (I know it really wasn't that long ago), it was very costly and expensive to have the supercomputers parse through the data they were pulling from space.

To aid in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI) would send out small packages of data to those who wished to partcipate. Their home computer would then in turn process the information while the machine wasn't being used but was still on.

This allowed them to have thousands if not millions of machines working together to solve complex problems that might otherwise take vastly more time, resources, and money.

Since we are now in the age of crypto and blockchain, it is only natural that the two get paired together.

Enter BOID

BOID is a social supercomputer that works very similar to the way SETI@home did. You can join a team and then start solving a real world problem while mining for tokens at the same time.

For example, the project I am currently working on is "Mapping Cancer Markers". This feels very appropriate for me since less than a year ago I was diagnosed with testicular cancer. Thankfully, they were able to remove the tumor and after radiation I am now in remission, but this project still hits very close to home.

The project is built on the EOS blockchain and is still in the Alpha stages. They have a decent roadmap of things they plan to add over time. There is currently an app for Windows and Apple that you can install. Additionally, they have a browser based app that you can run on any platform.

If you are interested in joining, please feel free to use my referral link. You will then be part of the team I am on and you can start mining. Full discolsure, what ever team you join, a small portion of your mining goes to them. It is beneficial to be part of a team though because of the contests.

If you want more information on the project itself, please check out their Discord Channel or their website.

I have been told that mining currently is dependent on CPU, but GPU and HDD are coming in later releases.

I am a member of the @eos.detroit team on BOID and I learned about it from their Telegram.

As I mentioned before about the roadmap, they have some exciting things in store for the future of the project. There are weekly challenges and your BOID Power that you generate can be used to mine for different cryptos.

I read somewhere that BOID uses a very thorough process to vet each charitable project that you can contribute to. This way you know that your processing power and effort is being used for the greatest good.

If you have ever been curious to mine crypto, but thought you had to have a fancy rig to get it done, BOID is a great way to get your feet wet. Plus you just might be doing some good for humanity in the process!

image source

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Okay... more things to check out on EOS... I've got a lot of catching up to do! I might set up a computer for this later in the week, I figure I have a bunch of inactive machines just lying around...

That's all it takes! EOS has some great stuff in the works.

I used to have 5 or 6 PCs chugging away at SETI back in the day
Was awesome

Anything to prevent or cure cancer is obviously a worthwhile cause for the extra computing power as well.

Don't suppose you have a list of which cryto you can get paid out in? Don't see it on the website.
STEEM by any chance?
LOL

I think right now, it is just EOS because it is on the EOS chain. Since it is still in Alpha I think they are still working that stuff out. I figure it can't hurt to start building up BOID Power now though!

Cool, I'm in under your ref link
If you are actually Detroit-based then /wave from across the river
LOL

:) I am a little farther North, but still in MI and Thank you!

Thanks for the excellent shill! Glad I read this post :-)

Glad to have you join us zyx
Hopefully a few more will sign u under bozz as well

I shilled HARD tonight lol, but its for a worthy post

That sounds real interesting I will have to go and check it out

It is pretty cool!

I have bookmarked it to check out tonight

Sounds cool, and yes, I to am old enough to remember SETI ;-) I installed under your referral if everything went right. I'm in team BOID Vips under the name PsychadelicgrinThunder (who comes up with these? ;-) ) Thanks for sharing! :-)

That isn't the team I am on, but no worries. Thanks for joining!

Arghh.. I see now: you're in team EOS-Detroid or something... Strange, cause I did have your avatar on screen after I clicked the referral link... I'm sorry for that!

Still, glad I joined the global computer and grateful that you wrote about it :-)

Again, no worries! Thanks so much!

I still have a small mining rig but don't mine anymore. I think the cost of the electricity surpasses the value now. Its a bit of a waste really.

I don't think I would be doing this if it was one of the main coins. Results with those seem pretty unattainable unless you are part of a pool or have vast resources. I was willing to give this one a shot though because it is new, it only requires CPU right now and it goes towards solving some interesting problems. If things get to intense I might have to stop...

Wow, I definitely remember this SETI project! I remember several years ago the Ripple community did a similar project for various non-profits working on different scientific endevours. I remember setting up my computer to work on a few of the projects and then it shut down. Not too long ago I found my wallet and discovered that I had earn about $500 worth of XRP at the current market!(When I was mining it was only worth a few pennies...lol)

I will definitely give it a look!

That is awesome about the XRP. I have never been a fan of Ripple, but that is just a personal thing. That is a great find though. Give BOID a look if you are interested in that kind of thing for sure! I like the fact that it is helping out some great causes!

I like the fact that it is helping out some great causes!

That's what I loved about the other project. At the time I had never heard of Ripple and it was brand new. I just thought it was cool to earn crypto while helping some of these organizations. It was on the World Community Grid and the project was called Computing for Good.

That is very cool! Interesting to know that this isn't a new idea, but it is the first one on the EOS platform. Thanks for the info and the awesome comment(s)!

I wasn't able to register for some reason. I still don't have any eos as well, but will remember to try and sign up again via your link when I do get some.

Hmm, that is weird. I guess I am not sure. I don't think you should need any EOS to start because adding your account to it is optional. I guess try it again in the future and then let me know.

When I try to register, it just keeps loading. Left the tab open four a couple of hours and nothing changed. Didn't get an email either, really weird.

That is weird. The interface is a little slow to load, but not that slow! Maybe try again tomorrow and see what happens.

I do remember! I actually was part of that for a while. Until the inevitable problems with a poorly supervised project comes around :)

I'm thinking I'll ship you a PM sometime after the dog walk, if that's good with you...

Yeah, no problem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20