Some amatuer macro photography and fungi Friday

in #esteem6 years ago

I wrote a post the other day about a walk my wife and I took last Saturday. As we were walking, she kept pointing out things I should take pictures of to write a post about.

These mushrooms were one of the first things we saw. She mistakenly said I should take pictures for "mushroom Monday". I told her it was "fungi Friday" and went on to take some snaps.

lb4l2rky5i.jpg

As cool as the mushroom is, I am really impressed with how I was able to catch the droplets of dew on the grass. It is pretty prominent in both pictures and is probably my favorite thing about each of them.

nyr6bv1v8g.jpg

About a month ago, we took a trip to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I wrote a post about that too! While we were up there, we decided to dip our toes in the inland lake we were camping at.

Under the water, I noticed that there was something besides a common rock sitting on the sand. I reached down and was able to pull this out of the water.

bwmvly4cxf.jpg

Shells like this are pretty common in Michigan, but to be honest I haven't actually pulled one out of the water and examined it since I was a little kid.

I love the striations on the outside and the way that the color varies between the lines. Of course inside it is just as beautiful. I tried to clean as much sand out as I could, but I was worried about dropping my phone in the water.

lz7w9g7507.jpg

Finally, I want to share a picture I took a while ago just near the outside door of my office. During certain times of year, the mayflies spawn and they tend to cover pretty much any surface you can think of.

q3wfdagq1g.jpg

My Google Pixel phone has a built in blur mode so you can take cool pictures like this. It focuses on the main subject while bluring what surrounds it.

Anyway, the time of year I took this photo is always special to me because it reminds me of vacations we used to take when I was a kid.

When I was younger we used to travel up to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan for a week and rent a cabin. As part of the cabin rental, you got a free boat rental. Then if you wanted a motor for the rowboat you either had to bring your own or rent one.

I can still remember the sites, sounds, and smells from that place. The water lapping on the shore, running past the fish cleaning house to the dock and leaning down to catch minnows...

One of the other things we used to do is pick mayflies off the side of the cabin and use them to fish for whitefish. Those were some awesome summers and now anytime I see a mayfly I am always transported back to that place and time.

It's amazing how just looking at a little bug can transport you away from the hear and now. Thanks for letting me share some memories and photos with you. Have a great day fellow Steemians and don't forget to make some memories!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Shells really feel like little treasures - they're even more gorgeous when they are wet. For me when I hold one I always understand why they were used as a currency in other times :-)

So true! Like I said, it has been a long time since I have picked one up and taken a really close look at it! There is a tourist trap shop on your way up to where we were visiting called Seashell City. They have all kinds of shells there!

Awesome! It's great to collect them, I take at least one from every beach I visit :-) The sound they make when you for example have a few in your pocket is amazing too :D

Your post is proof that time is non-linear. Just look at how easy it was for you to go back in time and see the bugs, the fish and the lake. :)

I like how you changed the frame of reference from taking some nice snaps of mushrooms to a bug, and then to a distant past.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Droplets of moisture on the grass is super effective in photography, after you see the final on a bigger screen you wonder which is more rewarding, the mushroom or drops on the surrounding grass. Nice photography all round @bozz

Thank you! I agree, it looked much better on my screen before I uploaded it.

Loved your nature photography, @bozz! Nice shells, shrooms and insects!

Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you! I appreciate it!

Oh cool, you have a Pixel? That would've been my phone if it was more easily available in my country. Takes pretty decent picture I have to say.

Good to see you're also interested in macrophotography!

Yes, I didn't realize there was such a big base for it, but now that I am on Steemit, I see how popular it is. I love my Pixel. I am probably going to try to upgrade to the Pixel 2 once the Pixel 3 comes out. I rarely have the latest and greatest when it comes to cell phones. The markup is just too ridiculous on them.

Wow. Great Macro! And double dog wow, it's a phone camera?

Aside from the cool photos, I really like the mayfly memory at the end. It really is amazing what will send me (us) back, isn't it?

Thank you. A very nice post my friend!

Thanks! I appreciate it. I have a picture of them all over the side of the building, but the detail wouldn't come through on here. I was trying to make it more than just some photos, so I am glad the memory meant something to you!

Wow, very nice post.... Your comment on my post actually pulled my attention... You've made something very great keep it up man... Very nice images.... I take pictures too...

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Get the mushies in the frying pan together with bacon and eggs... hmmmmm.... :)

That does sound tasty! It would be even better if they had been morel mushrooms. I keep wanting to get out and search for those some day. I have never tasted them, but I have heard they are amazing!

Such a cool selection of macro shots reminds me I need to get out and take some macro shots sometime

I know right! I always forget that there is such a huge following for that kind of thing. I wish my phone was better at taking them because I always forget to take my actual camera with me whenever I go somewhere.

I carry my camera bag with me almost everywhere I go, but with the new Sony I havent got a macro lens as such, but thats a poor excuse as I do have extension tubes :)

My dad used to be the same way. He insulated and padded the center console of our old van when I was a kid so he could keep all of his camera gear in there safely.

I always dream of adding a special slide out case in the back on my SUV with foam insets for all my gear lOL

Huh. I just figured out a way to tie my Nikon on the top of my pack so I can get to it all the time. Otherwise it lives in the saddlebags and they are tough to get into when I'm full loaded.

So I'm now looking for that Goldilocks waterproof camera bag. I'll let you know.

Yeah on a bike it would be a challenge for sure, Luckily I drive or walk so it is easy to take mine with me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73