Wednesday Walk: Brooklyn Botanic Garden

in #esteem5 years ago

This post is for the #wednesdaywalk challenge started by @tattoodjay. He often posts pictures of his walks around New York City so I thought I would post some more of my photos from a trip I took a long time ago to the "Big Apple".

It has actually been so long ago, that I don't remember what a lot of the photos are of. In fact, many of the features that I have photographed may no longer be there. Additionally, my camera was great for the time, but by today's standards, it is woefully lacking...

I think the pictures do a good enough job speaking for themselves though. So here we go!

I took this picture not just because of the cool bridge, but also because of the turtles that were sunning themselves on the rocks. Can't see them?

How about now? One of the cool things about my digital camera back then was it had a pretty decent optical zoom. This allowed me to get some decent close up shots without the camera guessing and pixelization like you get with digital zoom.

I didn't think of it, but I should have thrown this picture out there for #treetuesday. It was an interesting looking fella that was twisted and wrapped all around the pole.

I'm always impressed by the number of fountains in large cities. They tend to be a focal point and a place that people want to congregate. This small fountain though was on the edge of the gardens I think based on the buildings in the background. You can see there are a couple of benches to sit next to it, but none that really give you a straight ahead view.

One of the centerpoints of the garden is this sphere on a pedestal. It has rows of shrubs around it that gave me the impression of a maze. I used to love mazes when I was a kid so this area really hit home with me.

As I was going through the pictures for this post, I came across this one and the first thing I thought was "man, they need to mow their lawn". Isn't it funny how I was probably captivated by the blue flowers blowing in the breeze when I took this photo and now that I am older it just makes me think about work!

I have six pictures very similar to this one. Most of them are blurry though. My guess is I was trying to play with a prolonged exposure to try and capture the water in a "stopped" state. I think the camera just wasn't up to the task. Either that or my skills weren't as good back then as I thought they were.

And finally, one last waterfall to close out this Wednesday.

If you ever get a chance to go to Brooklyn and visit the botanic garden, I highly recommend it. Though Central Park in Manhattan is much bigger, the botanic garden has more of a peaceful vibe with many areas to explore!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Its been a few years since i visited THe Brooklyn Botanic Gardens but I do agree with you it does have such a peaceful relaxing vibe to it, and your photos captured that feeling very well, Central Park is huge of course and you get the feel to rush through it if that makes sense, in BBG you just want to take your time and relax and enjoy the lovely scenery

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thank you!

MOst welcome my Friend

Ah... Japanese style gardens are the best! It is nice in a city to be able to find one of these, and find a bit of peace and tranquility in the middle of a busy city!

For sure! Well said!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful garden! That is my favorite kind of place to go for a walk!

Thank you!

Oh wow, that place looks absolutely gorgeous and so lovely. You must have had an amazing day being there and so peaceful!

It was very nice thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great captures of this beautiful park!
Steem on :)

Thank you!

Marvelous shots @bozz. Thanks for sharing. Love the turtles basking :)

I thought they were pretty cool too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks awesome! I've never been here before, I might have to check it out in the spring!

Thanks! You should definitely check it out!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very inspiring photos! I suppose that such a walk is very relaxing and restores a large amount of life energy and gives peace of mind and a positive mood for the whole day or even a week.

Indeed. I love being out in nature. I think that is part of the reason my wife and I enjoy camping so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Loved the pictures i must say

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91