Caleb in the Bible – My Son @bxlphabet’s Name Part Two

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

yx4rfoyuv1.jpg

I recently posted about why I named my son Caleb. Caleb is a name from The Bible. Today I did some research about that.

Caleb was teamed up with Joshua as one of many spies who were sent by Moses to scout the land of Caanan. This is The Promised Land.

The other spies returned to say that even though the place was promised, it was too dangerous and could not be taken. Giants were there, and most of the spies said that God was wrong about the promise of this land.

Verse 30 of Numbers says that Caleb was the lone man out when others were afraid:

“Then Caleb silenced the people before Moses and said, ‘We should go up and take possession of the land, for we can certainly do it.”

Caleb possessed a “different spirit” and kept his faith when others feared and were ready to turn back. Joshua agreed with Caleb, and they were the two that said the land was theirs if they would take action.

That action had to wait 40 years. God made the people wait until the fearful generation died off. Only Caleb and Joshua remained in their 80’s when the land was finally taken.

= =

My son Caleb is often the lone man out. I have watched him struggle with his “different spirit” many times. As a child, he was very courageous and went his own way even when It was hard.

He often came home from school frustrated, “Why can’t anyone understand? I have the answer, but they do not see it.” I never knew what to say, or how to help him through these times. “Be true to yourself,” was my only advice, and that is the advice he took.

Caleb’s friends were always the odd ones. I was told many times by teachers to “keep him away” from the friend he had made. Caleb is very loyal; “dog-like” is a trait of his name. He wouldn’t give up his friends for anything, and I thank God never asked him to.

Now my Caleb has ptsd that robs him of his faith and courage. Many of those good friends are dead already, and have been for years. My obesity caused my son’s ptsd and the tragic early deaths that keep coming make it worse.

I pray everyday that my son finds his faith and courage again. With that, he can fight his giants and return to the promise he has.

I found these sources to read about Caleb from The Bible:

Who is Caleb in the Bible?
Caleb, Man With A Different Spirit – His Inspiring Story
Bible Character Study on Caleb
The Story of Joshua And Caleb
What is the story of Joshua and Caleb in the Bible?
Bible Verses About Caleb
100 Bible Verses about Caleb
Caleb From Wikipedia

The photo for this post was taken at the Cherry Creek Park in Denver Colorado, when Caleb visited there in his late teens. I’m not sure if he has his camera on a timer, or if he asked someone to take his photo.

This park is one of my son’s favorite places in the world. I love to see him so happy and smiling and I hope I will get that chance again.

@bxlphabet was using a point and shoot camera for his trip to Colorado.

~ @fitinfun

Sort:  

Hahaha! I like it too :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Recently read the Bible,
It is mentioned that Jewish talent is the real equality between men and women.
So women should be conscripts.

Nice looking young man and I like the name you gave him.

Oh, how I understand him, my friends always were older too as my peers looked too childish to me. Nice young guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87