Coming and Going Kylemore Abbey Galway Ireland

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Kylemore Abbey used to be a family castle and was built in the mid 1800’s. It still stands in Galway Ireland. Now the castle is run as a religious retreat and monastery by Benedictine nuns. I thought monasteries were male oriented, but I guess not.

This is the front entrance of the main building on the spacious and lovely grounds. Visitors are coming and going on tours provided here. Their revenue helps to maintain this treasure which must cost a fortune to run.

wrnxkmq7ks.jpg

My son @bxlphabet came to this site while on a pilgrimage to Ireland with his church youth group. They spent a day touring the building and grounds and he took many photos of this place.

In particular, he has many shots of this entrance. Some have people and some do not. I can see he was trying to get a good angle on this door, and you see one of his most successful shots.

The building is huge and not symmetrical, so it seems Caleb had a struggle. I’m not sure if he was trying to get people in the shots or not, but I think the scene looks better when they are there.

I like the detail of the mossy greenery in the top left of this shot. The nuns have their work cut out for them to clean that growth off the roof.

My son rarely takes more than one photo of anything. I process his photos now, and I am always intrigued when he has tried many times at the same place. This door might win the prize for "most photographed" if I ever take the time to judge that contest.

I wish he was here to let me know what he was going for. I hope this photo is one he would like to have published.

I’m posting from my laptop with esteem today. I’ve been having a lot of wifi issues lately. Out of all the places I post, esteem has been the quickest and most reliable for me. I am so grateful to @good-karma for providing this service and @iamjadeline for suggesting I try it. In these uncertain steemit days, I value consistency over everything else.

My son’s photo has inspired my text. @bxlphabet was using a point and shoot camera for his trip to Ireland.

Sort:  

Great click.

Very nice casle, immagine how many decade and still exists

Plain and spectacular

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05