Is Singapore Very Clean and Orderly?

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

I had a lot of preconceived notions about Singapore.

Here is what I expected:

  • lots of police
  • immaculate streets
  • all new buildings
  • rules posted everywhere
  • no smoking

Here is what I found instead

  • everyone rushing like mad
  • no police seen
  • men in shorts
  • few signs with rules
  • streets not that clean
  • lots of old buildings
  • lots of smoking

And here is some information about all of that.

The first thing I noticed, and the most prevalent thing, was that people were in a huge hurry everywhere. I don't know if this is the same as in the states since I have been gone so long now.

But in all of SE Asia where I have been before, the pace of life has been slow and laid back. Not in Singapore! Everyone was rushing everywhere I went. I was quite astounded to see this. I had to watch myself to not mess up the flow, and still I was annoying people with my slowness.

They went insane on a blocked escalator and not just because of me. Stand to the left and get your luggage over there too, or Singapore people will jump over you.

Lots of men and women were on bikes and scooters. No helmets were in view. Singapore has high taxes and fees for private vehicles, so this is the reason for all the two wheelers, motorized and not.

image

Bike Parking MT Lavender (few locks)

image

In all cases the riders were moving fast and swerving around us walkers. The scooters were sharing the sidewalks, and many people were carrying them in malls and other buildings.

I expected something like a police state, and it may be, but not anywhere that I was. I did not see any police anywhere except at immigration and they were nice there. I did see some signs, but not like I expected.

image

And the smoking! Every trash can had people smoking near it and people were sitting on random curbs with their cigarettes too.

In most of SE Asia I have seen very little smoking. Singapore was an exception. I noticed a lot of cigarette butts on the ground. I thought they had heavy penalties for littering, but maybe not.

The streets were generally clean, but not that clean. Bangkok still wins the prize in that regard.

Men in shorts were everywhere. These were like Bermuda shorts, tight fitting, and came to just above the knee. I have not noticed that style anywhere else.

The building and architecture were mixed with old and new. I did not see anything too exceptional except from the bus.

image

The streets were pretty good for rolling luggage but I had obstacles at times.

image

My hostel had an elevator, but you needed to go up stairs to get to it!

image

This post is for @bxlphabet, who asked for details about my Singapore trip. He normally is not too interested in what I do, so I am leaping at the opportunity.

Yesterday, his landlord contacted me to say he has to leave now. Today I woke up to a somewhat panicked message from him, telling me he was going. This means he is out on the street somewhere with nothing, I guess. My son was already homeless for five years, and did not want to go through this again. All I can do is pray for his safety.

~ Sharon @fitinfun; Caleb @bxlphabet's mom

Sort:  

Congratulations @bxlphabet ! You received a 11% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 50.00% upvote from @whalepromobot courtesy of @fitinfun!

You got a 14.07% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

You have been defended with a 14.81% upvote!
I was summoned by @fitinfun.

You got a 35.74% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @fitinfun! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

You got a 9.67% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @fitinfun!

To support this service please vote for @chitty as a witness.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from massive loss up to 20%

You just received 25.76% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @fitinfun!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
15% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

This post has received a 45.46% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @fitinfun. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 24.62% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @fitinfun! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87