From A Trip to Jogja: Around the Squares

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Hellow Steemit Fellows 😉

image at the North Square, one of the famous place in Jogjakarta


Aahh.. it's already Friday😄 and we're at the Squares last week (August 31st, 2018), and this is a perfect time to create another post about our trip to Jogjakarta, the special region in Indonesia which also a province that has A King as Governor🌟, Hamengku Buwono X.

image This picture is taken from the outside of the gates of the palace and The Alun-alun Lor or North Square is right in front of his gate, that's a hall where he accepts the guests in special ocassion


If you are a tourist, The Palace must be an interesting place to visit, even if the access only for limited parts of it☺ but for me, The Square itself is so attractive. This wide open areas with 2 big old Banyan trees in the middle of the field, just like another gates to the palace.

image The first attractive thing that made me loves to spend my time at The North Square, not the zip for sure 😂


My husband was looking around to find a right place to recharge my phone, but this boy and his red hand gloves drew my attention, so I came closer to him to find out what was he doing with the school uniform, the gloves and the whistle at the big field. Ahaa.. He was training his birsd with daddy and lil brother to fly.
I asked him about his activity, he told me two or three times a week, he would taken the birds for fly training. He called the bird that flying by blew his whistle 2 or 3 short notes, and move his hand down as a sign, and the flying bird will fly down to his hand and wait for the food.

image that is a special worm for the bird, please let me know if you recognized what bird it is


The phone battery was draining and I need to recharges it because I still have many pictures to take, so we left the boys and the birds continued their training and off we went to a restaurant. But, this stone on the grass with another little wild birds around attracted me😊

image wish that it could told me stories about the squares and its burnt out colour among the grass


image the boys are spending their time in this lovely afternoon with their bikes, and the restaurant we head of is behind the sign of the Square


Banyan trees are everywhere around the North Square, but the most famous twin bantan trees are at the South Square (too bad that I can't have any pictures of it because we arrived at the South Square when the night falls

After spending almost 2 hours at the restaurant (remember my post last week about food?) and the phone is alive again, we're back to the Square from the other side, but then back to the middle again, because of these!😂

image A man and his wife were training their Australian Parrots, Mas Budi is The Jogjakarta Parrots Diningrat Club leader, a club for little parrot's lovers


While the wife is busy filming the flying birds, I took a chance to ask her anything about their activities😊and Mas Budi attract other visitors by putting the birds on their head or shoulder. The birds have name, Cote, Jojo and Fio😁 its understand 2 words in english beside its name, Go and Good Job but "nyanyi" for singing😂😂😂 I heard Cote was singing for her human mother when she told it to. I failed to approach any of the birds whilst Jojo was taking a nice place to rest😄

image maybe she thought it was a dread lock branch but the man scared it will poop on his nose😂


Mas Budi taught me how to approach the spoiled bird😊 He asked me to touch its head and then put the bird on my hand but its flew away, then He took Fio the nice one on my shoulder, so I can have this photo for you😉

image Fio is already sold out and taken like me 😂 a bird lover from Celebes Island has bought it for 10 millions IDR and would be sent there the next day, so that afternoon was a last training together with Jojo and Cote


While enjoyed my time with the birds and its owner, I saw other birds flying around really close to the ground from the east side of the square, Mas Budi told me it were motorbikes and cars😨 He verified his statement by telling me the price of the birds are equal to the price of a motorbike and a car😲. What are they?

image a motorbike

image a car


Those are from The Jogjakarta Free Flying Club☺ and I think I was a lucky visitor of the North Square that day. We're planning to go to the crowded and most famous street of Jogjakarta, Malioboro Street to spend our first night in Jogja. When we reached the southern part of the Square, a trishaw driver man approaches and My Husband agreed to use his services.

image he still use the pedalling trishaw and offered us to explore the place up to South Square where the famous Twin Banyan trees grow and most couple really like to try to pass through with blind fold eyes


There're two kind of trishaws on Jogjakarta, pedalling and motocycle, we used both of them but a pedalling one is the best if you want to enjoy the atmospheres. Well, there're online taxi and motorbike services or horse cart called Delman too, but if you like walking, jogja is the nicest place to explore with foot.

image Here we are, it's me, my hubby and Mr. Suroyo our guide


A trip to South Square actually took time 10 minutes by his trishaw, but He is such a smart one. He drove us to many places to drain my wallet 😂 but its worth. He drove us to a famous special foods souvenir shop but we didn't stop because foods were nothing in my plan. Then He drove us to a shirts shop where My hubby spent half a million IDR for 7 shirts😯 though we can have 20 shirts at Malioboro Street for that prices😡

image Shooping Man


The night has fallen when we left the shirt shop and continued our exploration to another place that Mr. S suggested us to go. He took us to an art gallery where a man he called as Romo and his name is Mr. Suhadi sells his beautiful Clothes Painting called Batik and I got a gift from Hubby for the shop😊 a 99 name of Allah. Mr. Suhadi forbids me to take any picture of his gallery if I didn't bought anything😅 so I took out 300K IDR for the painting☺

image for the sake of feeling to protects his hard works, I decided not to photograph many pictures here


The next place we visited is The South Square 😉 aarghhh Finally! We decided not to stopped there but let Mr. S pedalling around the square slowly. Yeah.. off course I can't see the twin banyan trees that grow in the middle of the Square😁. There are many people enjoying their friday night out there. Dozens of lightfull pedalling cars were parking around the square waiting for passengers, you can hire it for 50K IDR for a round trip the Square, pedalling it by yourself off course😉

image exciting view, isn't it?


We've done with the trishaw adventure that night😁 time to go to Malioboro Street and this time Mr. S succeded on his proposal to stop by the snacks shop😂 someone needs a rest room and I bought my favourite snacks, Brem and other special foods for the next day adventures😡 the price is a bit expensive at the weekend.

image random snap of Malioboro Street


After taking a rest to recharge my phone again and ordered some drinks, we decided to go back to the hotel and this time with the motor trishaw.

image This man is the driver and he is a quite one, not like Mr. S who has a lot of things to talked about and really nice to hear his stories though, I got his phone number too


We're heading south of Jogjakarta to Pogung where the hotel is. The moto-trishaw is really something😯 the wheel chains was a bit lose and sounds unpleasant, that made me in a ready to jump position mode on, in case its cut out anytime😅 but 30 minutes later we've arrived safely at the hotel. Feeling exhausted and a bit drowsy, we agreed to sleep as we entered the room.

image a common place to eat along the street to the hotel, near to the biggest University in Jogjakarta and Indonesia, Gajah Mada University, one of the reasons why Jogja also well-known as City of Students


All right, I'll end up this crappy post about our first day in jogja. All photos are mine if there's no link to the source. Will write about our adventure in Jogja on the second day later, I need to dig out some additional information about the place we went😉. Have a nice weekend and feel free to add your comments💝👐☕🐙

Sort:  

What a complete and lovely report! It felt like being there in the middle of that square with you and hubby.. thank you I needed that since I'm trapped here in this office in a cold September day 😁

Hello there @f3nix 😉 thank you for your nice comment, I am on a training to write a good post with my messy english 😊 (the reason why I've never had a nerve to join your challenge😔) so glad that you enjoy the report. Hope that I can order a delivery service for you to bring this "wedang uwuh" from jogjakarta to warm your day at the office 😉

image

Ohh what a gorgeous tasty drink! I'm sure that it would revive my zombie senses in this Friday afternoon, where I'm basically waiting for the weekend! We don't know each other but I see that you're a positive awesome steemian who strives for improving (like me! I know what you mean about the English).. in case you feel about giving it a shot, don't worry the doors of the contest are always open for you, we just have fun together 😉

Thank you @f3nix 😉 this hit drink called wedang uwuh, uwuh means waste or rubbish 😂 but don't think about anything in the recycle bin. It is made from cloves leaf, bayleaf, nutmeg leaf, cinnamon bark, fresh ginger root, lemongrass stalk and secang (haven't find its name in english) stem that make the hit drink reddish. This is really a good deink for your health too.

Yes, we don't knowveach othet but I think I've accross your path through steembasicincome posts and discord 😉 your finish the story challenge is the most famous one in sbi contest. I can't believe that ginabot notify me that you add a comment on my post😊

It's a very healty infusion! Some marketing geniuses could make it become a trendy drink I'm sure. I like exploring the platform looking for great steemians.. thanks for your compliments, at the contest and in the @bananafish community we just try to be creative, empathic and easy going. All the best and take care 😁

Bagus banget postingan nya

Kata siapa 😂 dibaca atau lihat foto saja?

Lihat foto, bahasa ngak ngerti

😂😂😂 sama kalo gitu😆 abis nulis, saya ikut bingung ini tulisan apaan😅 terima kasih atas komentarnya.

Wow! Really satisfying, I had my fill watching those lovely scenes of you and nature, those birds are lovely and friendly!

I’ll find time to visit your blog again.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @korghawk😉 glad to know that you enjoy the story😊 I create this to entertain readers, since I know nothing about crypto or inspiring information to write. Please do if you want to.. free of charges anyway 😂

Nice story to read, Kak

Teeoh? Nyaaan... 😂😂😂 rhap 8 jeum bak ta tuleh, miseu hana nice to read chit.. ka keuh ta kira mayang2 aju..

Hehe. Pantesan dahsyat Kak, rupanya sdh 8 jam

Hahaha.. itu 8 jam ngetik sampai kelar, ngedraft dan milih foto totalnya satu hari😂 dah nggak sanggop edit lagi, kuposting teros... pokok jih na adegan sok paten meunan ka jeut lah

Panyang lah proses nyan Kak Cici ya. Lheuh meuposting kemudian baro lah ada kepuasan tersendiri

Jak nyou loen tuleh saboih teuk rhap siuroe seupot😂 untong na aplikasi foyo grid, miseu han.. ka meukeuboh ureung view.. 50 foto 😂😂😂

Just like always you make me feel like I am walking (or sitting!) right next to you! Only thing missing is tasting the food and the aromas!

Looking forward to hearing more of your vacation!

You have very good English!
I don't even know one word in your language and you know thousands in mine!

Thank you @donna-metcalfe 😉 I keep the food aromas for the next posts, sometimes I forgot to take the picture because the foods were not really interesting, wrong choice 😊 I'll post about "stones" later. Aahh... I wish you'd post about foods too😉

Stones? That doesn't sound like food to me! But still maybe interesting?

I forget to take photos of foods I cook because I am hungry and just eat them! I was very proud the other day because I made lasagna for the first time. I took a picture of it and on my phone it looked good. But sent to my computer it was terrible, out of focus and dark. By then it was too late to take another photo, the lasagna was eaten up! But just for you I will try to remember and take better photos!

Hahaha😂 What a day @donna-metcalfe, if only you knew how I'm curious about lasagna😊 I live garfield and I hate to watch him eating lasagna by himself and never had a chance to make one (I've never ordered any lasagna at pizza hut because it's too expensive for me) ... make sure you'll take the step by step of the making pictures too.

Well.. I'll post a story about adventure at the old temple made with love and a short visit to eat rabbut skewer 😉

Hah hah - yes that Garfield would do anything for lasagna!

I have had it at a restaurant and cooked up the frozen kind but never made it at home. Once I made stuffed maniccoti which is similar, large tubes of pasta boiled then stuffed then baked. When the noodles are cooked they are very floppy and hard to hold on to to get the stuffing inside! Oh, I have made fresh lasagna noodles! But ate them separately with sauce, not in layers.

(Here is a post I made about making fresh pasta, with photos! - https://steemit.com/busy/@donna-metcalfe/making-fresh-pasta

Two years ago I bought an electric pressure cooker that can also be used as a steamer and rice cooker. I use it often and have collected many recipes, including one for lasagna. But to make that I needed a special pan - a 'springform' pan. It has a solid bottom and the sides can be removed separately. Also the recipe uses special pasta - noodles that don't have to be boiled first. (Yay!) With these special things it is easy to make, layers of pasta with meat, cheese, and tomato sauce in between. And lots of Italian herbs mixed in for seasoning. You must cover the top with foil so no steam or water can fall into it. The pan goes on a trivet to keep it out of the water in the bottom. Then pressure cook it about a half hour.

Now that I have a springform pan I have also tried making another thing I have never cooked at home before - cheesecake! One of my favorite desserts. Thank goodness my husband also likes it. If I had to eat one all by myself I would not be able to fit into my clothes! So far I have made one with shavings of lemon peel and another with lime peel. Next I think will be one with orange peel!

god your post with 19 image trush

I'm preparing another one with 50 images 😂 I hate to say this... I don't know how to make an image collage, do you suggest me to use any apps?

yes!!! plesa your post 1000 image to succes you win in steemit !!! that na teuh hay...

if you can post ngon 1000 image, you akan win
all steemian other, di key can now post yang laggey nyan, saweub no laptop, modal happey bangay

wakakakakaka... neu pateh peu han, nyan loen post pakek hp bangai, baro ka lheuh loen peugot draft ngon 20 oun photo, gara-gara neu kira jumlah photo loen, jadi teupaksa loen mita aplikasi dan loen peubulat2 mantong photo nyang saban atawa tentang cerita yang saban.

oh nyou, Loen saja teumuleh lam basa inggreih, saweub miseu lam basa toko ka rame that ureung tuleh dan tipke photo jalan-jalan geuh, teuma tanyou panee na tjareng teuh bak ta teumuleh beulagak, ta tuleh lagee na jeut teuh mantong, rupa jih ngon loen nyang awak luwa nyan, hantom ji teupeu bhah nyang loen tuleh nyan, maka jih.. nyan jeut keu strategi nak jitem baca lee ureung luwa nyang na meu asoe bacut vote jih. namun miseu komentar, teutap ta harouk dari droun atawa uleebalang nyang teungoh sibok that.

btoi that cuk kak e....
mye tatuleh ngon basa inggreh adk meukeurabee hana meuri, tp mye ngon basa toko payah bna kata2
mutiara bacut dan beumeu saneut lengkap kosakatajih, mhan jikira le gop postingn tabeue, hek that bak ta rncang myo ngn bsa toko mmg

wte lon transgender basa post dronh kdg lon teukhem kuh,, pue neuplaku...hah.....

Saweub bhs inggreh ngen basa toko beda semantik jih, maka hanjeut ta pakek translator google. Saweub maseng2 na gaya bahasa drou jih. Miseu loen translate dari basa inggreh u basa toko, biasa jih perle watee panyang syit untuk edit, istilah tanyou dan awaknya beda jih lagee langet ngon bumoe.

Miseu loen tuleh lam basa toko watee ji translate lee awaknyan.. mumang jih syit, maka..bah lam basa inggreh, awak baca cukop meuphom kok. Tulesan loen nyou hana sapeu dibandeng ngen tulesan awak indonesia laen yg hayeu2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07