Sellers in My Day

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Fellows👀

image a man is selling the flag's poles


I haven't write anything for three days. It is not hard to find something to write, I made many drafts but nothing really important to post anyway. I checked on my phone gallery and more than 400 photos available, but reading and commenting are challenging. While waiting for costumers at My Father in Law small shop ( He's going to Mekkah for Hajj Procession), I saw a man pushing a cart and shout out loud " tiang bendera/flag's poles". I have been seeing many flag's poles seller in the last two weeks. Yeah.. Indonesia will celebrate the 73rd years of Independence day on next August 17th. Every house needs a flag's pole, but many neighbours already had their permanent flag's poles. Hope that someone will bought it from those sellers.

image A woman walking around to sell her cassava chips door to door


I have seen her since monday around our neighbourhood, I heard her soft voice "opak..opak", nobody bought any of her chips. I can't stand it anymore, so I bought 2 packs of her cassava chips, the price is IDR 15k equal to $1.1😢 I took a chance to ask her where does she lives? She said that she lives 5 KM away from our neighbourhood at Bojongsari, Which I don't know exactly where it is.

image these cassava chips are thick and garlic flavoured, 4 pieces in a pack


I was going to make a little interview, but My sister in law, Mbak Eli from Madura needs me, I handed over the money and accept the Opak, The seller continues her business.

image A boy is helping his father selling baloons and plastic toys at the Grand Mosque, Al Mujahiddin, West Pamulang where people were gathering to send their relatives to go to Hajj Dormitory before They take a flight to Mekkah-Madinah for 40 days


I spent half a day waiting for the depart time of the Pamulang Hajj Group. My FIL belongs to the smallest group, but The Group Leader is really kind and helpful, He ensured us that My FIL will always be in his cares during the procession. So, I took time to explore the areas.

image A woman is selling character baloons


![image]() *Another woman is selling toys and baloons*
![image]() *the painted dolls made from scrap's wood called boneka ondel-ondel, a traditional art from Betawi/Jakarta*

Ondel-ondel is a famous traditional art from Betawi. In the past, it appears occasionally in a special festival or party, just like "barongsai" from the Chinese culture. It is getting hard to find the human ondel-ondel group to play in the party, now, but sometimes I could see a big single ondel-ondel would dancing and waiting for some coins from the passersby on the side of the busy street. Begging but not beggars.

image A man is selling small towels


image A man is selling cutting flavoured ice, it is a hot day, but none bought his ice


There were many sellers at the location. Kids were around, baloons are their favourites. There were any kind of food sellers too, but I forgot to take their pictures, so crowded and hectic especially when all the Hajj Group member boarding on the buses...people were crying, but not my man.

image bang topik, my sister in law driver and my man are enjoying their best standing pose


No, they are not sellers.. they were just tired and bored with the crowd. We left the Grand Mosque after the buses that will take My FIL and other Jamaah to do the pilgrimage disappeared from our sight. But I made an appointment with the sisters in law to join them tomorrow at the Airport, where we will waves our beloved old man, My old man who said that He won't make any phone calls to us, but I doubt it.

image This man gonna misses Our Old Man starts from Friday, where he always parks his cart in front of our small shop, My Old Man is His regular Siomay costumer


People are struggling for their life, they walk around offering services and selling things, sometimes they succeeded, sometimes they're just fails to sell anything but I saw They keep on trying. They don't think about getting rich by running their small business. But they are the richest.

the richest person is the one who is contented with what he has ~Robert C. Savage~

Thanks for reading and stopping by, 💖👋

Sort:  

What a wonderful and fascinating post!
Wishing your FIL a blessed Hajj!

Thank you @donna-metcalfe😊 how are you? Glad you are back! Thank you for the wishes.

I am doing better day by day! Soon I hope to start posting again.
I forgot to ask - how were the cassava chips? Are they crispy? With the garlic flavor I think I'd like them! At our farmer's market I buy pita chips with a spicy lemon flavor, yum!

Yes.. cassava chips are crispy and some sweet soy ketchup will make it more delicious. Haven't seen the woman today.. I need to buy more😊

Pita chips? Is it made from cassava flours?

Not cassava flour just regular wheat flour. When they are baked an air pocket forms, so sometimes called 'pocket bread'. When cut in half there is a pocket to put a filling - falafel, meat slices, a variety of things. When they are dried they make a thick chip (the cassava chips look similar). The man who sells them is Lebanese and he sells all sorts of hummus dips, cucumber salad, tabouleh salad. He says they are his mother's recipes. That might even be true!

Aahh.. I see, the pita bread for making "kebab" here.. I think I knew how to make pita bread if I put a good attention to my old recipe book😁 it is different from cassava chips whic is selling in form of raw one that you can deep fried it before you eat.. or the fried one, like the packs that I bought from the woman.

We eat cassava chips as snack.. just like eating flavoured potatoe chips. But the size is as big as my face😊. Well.. Indonesian people really like chips, I'll make a post about all kind of raw chips that available in the market when I have time to get the picture first😉

I would love to see the different kinds of chips! We love chips here too! My weakness is for potato chips with "salt and vinegar" flavoring. The first bite is so sour I make a face! But then I have a hard time stopping. :-)
I think I would like a potato chip the size of my face!

I have made pita bread before, and the falafel from chickpeas. But now there is a very good Lebanese restaurant not far away and I think theirs are better!

I have made pita bread before, and the falafel from chickpeas. But now there is a very good Lebanese restaurant not far away and I think theirs are better!

Hahaha.. I like your choice @donna-metcalfe 😉 I love to try any recipe that I find it easy and challenging, but only for onetime... when there's an option to getca cheaper and better same one, I'd like you do😂

Well donna, I hope that I didn't make a mistake on choosing the righy words for "kerupuk" as chips in english. We have shrimp and fish chips, tempe chips, aahh there's one unique chip, but I don't know whether it stil existed.. chips that use sand to fry it.

greetings sister @cicisaja freedom

Hellow @ululazmi10, were you just waking up?

Beautiful post @cicisaja. It's sad that so many areas are still like that. Just trying to do what they need to, to get by. I bet their home lives are filled with such love and family.

I forgot. I feel the same way about posting. I have 3 different posts I have started and they stray way off path. So I stop to come back to it or take out portions and save them for later. Too much going on in the head.

Dear @tryskele 😊 thank you, some people will say that they have no choice but keep moving because life goes on.. but some might stop and murmuring then blame on the others.

I don't want to post something in order just to keep active on Steemit, but I want to contribute to this platform by creating good posts, so..I'd better slow down. Thank you.

In some cases that may be true. Overall life is what you make of it. If you're miserable, the only person that can change that is yourself. I have been 'fighting' that lesson. My job I have right now I like most of the people I work with, I really like my actual job. However, due to my shift I only see my husband for maybe an hour a day until Saturdays. I don't get to spend time with my friends or have any outside activities due to being asleep during the day.

While I have been off, I was offered a job 830am to 530pm M-F. I will have the same days and times off as my friends and days off with my husband. Same pay for now. It's with a former coworker so I would be in a better environment. I know it would be better in the long run, but I am unsure. I promised myself no more 'settling' If I did this I would have the time to put into Steemit consistently and pursue another avenue of income.

I don't see you putting a post up for the sake of getting one put out. I did that once and it was horrible. I was tired. I didn't reread it, the comments reflected that they felt it was rushed and not my normal quality.

I don't see you putting a post up for the sake of getting one put out. I did that once and it was horrible. I was tired. I didn't reread it, the comments reflected that they felt it was rushed and not my normal quality.

And I can't write to meet others requirements😁 I am not working on steemit but having fun with a little wish to know more people and learn from them. But, maybe one day, I'd like to get an extra earnings from steemit to support others ..

@tryskele : may I know the reasons why are you still working, now? Is it because you really like it to enjoy your life or something that made you have to?

I met many people who blame the government, community and development for their bad situation, some were really live in structural poverty but some were just lazy. I repected you who still keep your job after all you've been through, but I hope you will share more time with your beloved one.

Well, except when my kids were very young. I have always worked. I even opened my own business when my youngest was 9mos old in a very vain attempt to get it running hire staff and stay home.

As for now, it's what I need to do. My mom used to tell me that it doesn't matter how much money you make you will always have bills and debt to equal the amount of zeros on your paycheck. Meaning, if I make $100/week I would have $50 in bills. If I were to make $1000/week I would have $500 in bills. It's all relative. A direct answer though, I like having food, electricity, internet, a home. In order to have what is considered basic needs here I need to work. No income, no place to live, no food and can usually end up in jail for what is called squatting. The economic situation all over is bad, after reading @el-nailul's post it does put a different value on money.

Even though I don't have proper transportation, I am going to take the other job. As I put it, I miss my life and no job is worth that.

The good that has come out of this shift, is I have gotten to talk to my daughter almost everyday. She's in Philadelphia and will be graduating with her Master's degree next summer. This will probably be the only thing impacted by my schedule change. I should be able to talk to her when I get off though. She's 2 hrs ahead of me.

As for Steemit. I picked 1 day a week to focus on. Then looked at contests between those then helping get greetersguild up and going I was posting 4 times a week. One personal 3 for SGG. Now that I don't have that, I am trying to work into what @wolfhart is doing. To spend an hour a day on a post (research and posting). Not getting upset if I can't. Just one day at a time. I spend most of my time commenting and chatting :)

Never be afraid to ask me anything. I'll answer. I may say can we do this on Discord LOL. I love the friendship we have started :) Oh and you may be getting your super secret room

Doing this on discord will distract me from commenting on post😂 well.. I will ask other personal question through discord.. but I need you to make long comment reply.. we need the score to make Asher busy😂 counting. I'm thinking about posting one post one day before, but it didn't work because I was too busy commenting😂

I can't do onehouraday... it takes 3 hours to create a post in english, 45 minutes for acehnese and 1 and half hours for bahasa indonesia. Half day to research😊 . Will do that next week.. rescheduling my to do list, because I have a job to run our little shop now, nit many costumers.

So.. you're working for the living cost, just like the others do. That's a good news about your daughter, now you'll have time to talk to her. What about social life? Meet old friends or relatives? Do you have time for that?

LOL That's ok I fell too much due to my little break. I do need to get back up there. Currently, no social life, no time for friends or really anything. I come home from work unwind for an hour which is paying bills and hopping on Steemit. Talk to my daughter if she calls or head off to bed. Sleep, get up go to work. Most days tho, I go to bed late just so I can spend a little time with my husband.

With my friends, I've had to plan ahead a week or 2 for a Saturday or meet them for breakfast during the week. When I do Saturdays, that cuts into hubby time.

I love reading and painting, I just don't have the time. Tonight is a good night. I have to stay up since I go back to work tomorrow...well tonight. That way I can stay awake for my shift.

Ok make them 5 minute freewrite posts? We make list of topics and we'll each do one and we can plan 2 days a week to start?

Amazing post @cicisaja n very motivating too... we have everything but still we get upset over things and look at these people struggling and still happy whatever they have. Hope we also become like them in any situation we should thank Allah for everything. Stay blessed dear.

My dear @shanu😊 this is just a common post, I didn't have much time to think about the better story to add. But I agree with you, those sellers are amazing☺ they're not complaining but struggling.. thank you for stopping by and commenting too 🙇

anything that looks cut kak cici photos ,, from the seller flag pole until the balloon sellers, if the mother cici sell what?

kop kha dronh cut da, peu nyang mrmpok neu poto.
meunyo mrmpok hantu ek neu teujeut foto? haa....

Loen meukat sunti mameh 😂 hana suwah foto.. saweub ka pasti sabee na ureung bloe, han sanggop peuna barang.

Loen dumpu loen foto, saweub ka na rencana tulisan jadi tinggai mita foto yang paih mantong. Bak esteem han jeut ngui foto atra gob atawa sumber google mantong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25