The Gunpowder Falls ~ Part 2

in #esteem6 years ago

This is part 2 of my walk along the Gunpowder Falls State Park. Here is my part 1 post if you missed it!

p2cnvf059x.jpg

My husband scouted ahead for a safe space to cross.

nxdydml20i.jpg

While I waited, I noticed this old foundation, possibly of an old spring house.

bsg2foc3d2.jpg

gcujho913v.jpg

4ljad1l3dq.jpg

When he returned he informed me, it wasn’t to be. All the rains we’ve had caused more water At this point, I was sad that, again, we wouldn’t make it to the falls but I knew I had already pushed myself past the point that I should have. If he had found a way to cross then I would’ve continued on regardless but we may try again next month if I’m up to it as my husband thinks he may have found yet another way in. So, we turned around and had to head back to where the car was parked. Had to stop a couple of times to catch my breath and take some more photos…of course!

g79kos68gd.jpg

On the way back, we took a little different way that was a little shorter and we got to see lots of mushrooms. These were on the ground and at the base of a tree.

ks2145jti2.jpg

We spotted these up in a tree.

rlhauripzj.jpg

We saw this large branch in the ground. It reminded me of a wishbone and it reminded my husband of a sling shot. Both of us thought it was cool looking.

ou0dy9jkwr.jpg

Remember those people trippers I showed you in part 1? These here, almost got me! Remember the good thing about almost? It means it didn’t happen!

1p5t8by0ur.jpg

I was happy to see this trail marker. It meant we were getting closer to the lot. At this point, I was thinking that I’d really pushed myself farther than I should have but I would do it again and probably will try again next month.

6zfczmu38a.jpg

I had to stop and take a couple more photos of the water.

i9paov22n3.jpg

u7y81qbyjw.jpg

Now, I just gotta make it up those stairs and I’m “home free”!

qeg4zw0hpq.jpg

Btw, one of the trails we were on was called Lost Pond Trail and we never found it...lol! But we did find this little pond that was just behind where the truck was parked...hmmm...maybe we found it after all! 😉

f2vigv9tu2.jpg

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much!!

Great tour, even if we didn't quite make it to the falls. Enjoy your weekend deer.

Thanks so much @edthecanadian! Wishing you and the family a wonderful weekend as well! :)

Great shots. Loved following along on your tour, Dee. You captured some fab mushrooms and the wishbone/ slingshot tree was great. U&R ❤️
Have a wonderful weekend!

Thank you Jo! Hope you're having a lovely weekend!!

woohoo you have a great scout hubby💥🐉🐉💗 and them shroomies are fab :D

Thanks @swedishdragon! I totally agree! :)

Never finding reminds me when I see signs for yard sales, here on Long Island. I follow half a dozen signs but no yard sale. I don't know if they were for yesterday or the week before or they just shut down and brought everything inside..... :-(

Thanks @manorvillemike! I know just what you mean! Whatever happened to putting a date on it or just plain taking the sign down when done. ;)

It’s great weather here in Maryland for fungi! I’ve lived here since 1981 and never made it up to Gunpowder. I spend most of my hiking time in Patapsco. Gunpowder looks like a nice walk!

Thanks @dabeckster and it sure is! I've heard that Patapsco is a very nice park but haven't been.

I love running across old foundations and wondering what they could have been for. You found some pretty mushrooms too!

Thanks Deb! It was cool to come across it. I rarely find the red mushrooms so I was happy as a lark to see them and get photos. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22