Made of Wood - Craft Fair - Part 1

in #esteem6 years ago

Last month I had the chance to visit another craft expo, a more bigger one than the first I posted about last week. I came home with 230 photos and three videos, so that will be enough for a few weeks of MarketFriday. So come with me and let's see these amazing handmade, hand painted things.

j8ypys0gv9.jpg

This week I'm posting photos of products made of wood.

4mg5d9rvxg.jpg

Wood carving is a very beautiful art, I've always admired the artists carving. Above you can see different statues, some are featuring historical personalities, others are jusr folk figures and there are religious statues too.

uccpvbi9il.jpg

Magnets, necklaces, brooches, bracelets, earrings, all made of wood and (probably) hand painted.

i7ngudcnzj.jpg

Wooden spoons, wood douches, wood barrels and some wooden plates. Very tempting. I know @dswigle would love these spoons :) I showed the photos to my dad and he immediate fell in love with a wooden barrel. He said it would be great for brandy :)

m4w8x7olcy.jpg

Small statues made of wood on the left and wooden keepsake boxes, carved wall decorations and some necklaces on the right.

dlslzk1oeq.jpg

Colorful flutes on the right. I remember we had those when we were kids, our grandfather bought us a couple. It was fun to play it although our parents were not as happy as we were :)

Different sizes of pan flutes on the left. This is a very representative instrument for the Romanian culture, it's called "nai" in Romanian. There's a very famous and well known pan flute artist called Gheorghe Zamfir. Just watch this amazing video with André Rieu & Gheorghe Zamfir playing The Lonely Shepherd.

Read more about The Lonely Shepherd

gu6bd3lr0s.jpg

A closer photo of these pan flutes. The big one costs 100 Lei, which is approximately $25. These are not professional instruments, these just for fun and for decorative purposes. Can be played though.

cfwdkcqw7b.jpg

This is something I can't describe with words. Look at those pieces. That's real art!

x1gh37111e.jpg

These wonderful artworks mostly feature religious scenes, like the last supper, praying hands, and a book with prayers in Romanian.

fvec4i4omw.jpg

The drunk guy and the lamp post, isn't this funny? :)

17zyp6qrtj.jpg

The shepherd boy and his dog.

x6yz72qn98.jpg

Wood worker guiding the chariot full of wood, pulled by animals. You can see a house in the background.

qceqpkiy91.jpg

A warrior fighting with the dragon? Could be.

4v5sv5ed44.jpg

Our father in Romanian.

This is all for today, I hope you liked my #marketfriday and hope to see you next week when I'm posting part 2 of the craft market.
Could not finish without asking the well known question. What would you like from here? :)

Sort:  

Wow! It's amazing what you can do with wood. Some of those designs are so intracate. I too would be tempted by the wooden plates.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you!

Absolutely stunning! Real art .. I love it..

I'm glad you like it, than you for droppin by!

You're welcome!

we were at a similar fair when we visited my husband's parents in Western Ukraine. wood products are very beautiful !!!!

I couldn't agree more.

This is craft in details, amazing hand works. Thanks for sharing @erikah

Thank you!

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great pieces of art! But my favorites are definitely the barrels!

I love the photos,so sweet and good..happy weekend @erikah

Thank you, have a nice weekend you too!

An excellent topic to introduce our art to the world! I'm not even a fan of wood sculptures, so my favorites are wood barrels. I like to use them.

Thank you, I'm glad you were able to find something you like.

With pleasure. There's always something nice to find.

Oh, I truly love the wonderful wood market. You know me well! There is something about the warmth of the wood and the way the artisans caress the wood as they shape it into something they create.

I have always loved the wooden scenes- carved out of a plank of wood. How the can create something from nothing is amazing.

When color was added, glorious! The wooden spoons- goes without saying!

The last supper is one of the ones I bought in Poland. Love it!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful #marketfriday with us! You never disappoint!

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Thanks so much my dear Denise! You've thought me to post quality and I'm really grateful for that! I'm always looking for something that is special, something that is known and dear for some and unknown and interesting to others. And I have to thank YOU for that!
I'm glad you like it and the rest is coming 😘🌷
Have a great weekend!

If I helped in any way, I am glad. You have always had interesting (to me) posts and this is absolutely gorgeous. I love things that keep the traditions alive.

As an aside, Zamfir and my favorite Andre Rieu? How can I ever thank you? Mwah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73