Freewrite Day 354 Not Smart

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

9e80b97ovu.jpg

When I first lost “half my size” a few years ago, one of the surprising things to happen was that people started to think of me as “not smart.”

One of the few things I have going for me in this life is that I am smart. I have no common sense, but I am smart in book learning, and school, and various other things. I have a high IQ and have passed at least 10 difficult certifications and degrees in my life.

My accounting school flunked out 90% of the people that tried it and I was getting A’s when I was there. I passed the CPA Exam, and the CDFM, and the CFP, and the EA etc etc all on the first try when most people cannot even dream of these accomplishments.

We moved all the time when I was growing up and I still got A’s. My poor little brother could barely read with all this turmoil. But he was good at sports and made friends easily so it was not that bad for him, I guess.

All of the sudden, when I lost weight, everyone decided I was dumb. If I was blond, I would have been one of the dumb ones.

I first noticed this in the bank where a teller wanted to teach me how to write a check one day. He said, “You write the date here.” And then right at the same time at the grocery store, someone tried to show me how to scan my purchases through a machine.

I lived next door to a beautiful blond girl who was helping me adjust to my new-found “hotness” at the age of 50. She was one of those drop dead gorgeous girls, and all of my son’s friends drooled over her every time she walked by our window.

She came to me when I got to my goal weight and told me I was going to have to learn to deal with my new looks and told me she had plenty of advice to give.

So I asked her about this “dumbness” thing and she told me, “Oh yes, everyone will think you are stupid now and it is best to just let them. If you try to tell them you are smart, it will not go well.” So that is what I do, and now anyone can teach me anything even if I already know how to do it.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

u95wyz0lt7.jpg

Sort:  

How crazy is that! Maybe they were just "hitting" on you. : ) Congratulations on all of your accomplishments...smart indeed.

Resident cat here, finally back home and delivering today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-355-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-well-being

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You've received a lifting from @botox ! Consider delegating to earn passive income 20SP,50SP,100SP,200SP.
Tu viens de recevoir un lifting de @botox ! Envisager de déléguer pour gagner un revenu passif 20SP,50SP,100SP,200SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73