Freewrite Day 448 Fire Alarm

in #esteem5 years ago

4e63fsiknj.jpg

Fire alarms often do not work because people think it is a drill. I often saw this in my risk management work as an accountant. Something happens, the alarms go off, and people do not move to even investigate. Sometimes they perish for this reason.

I have worked in places where alarms went off all day. After a while you do not even hear them and just carry on as normal.

When I was a contractor for the US Navy, we had a few drills. You would not get notice and then everything would start going off loudly and the lights would flash on and off and I would get up to find out what was going on. The Navy personnel would be out at their muster station being counted off. The government staff would be in a certain place they would need to go.

But contractors did not have to do this. They would say, “It’s not for you, you can just go anywhere for about 15 minutes and then come back.”

It was a loophole in procedures. If there was an actual emergency, then what? It was not my job, so I did not have to care.

These wasn’t going to be an emergency anyway. I was on a guarded Navy Base in a back office no one ever went to. So I just went over and walked by the bay.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It reminds me at the fire drills at school

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 11000 replies. Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

In my current job I am often a fire marshal in case there is a fire. So far, luckily, all the alarms were just drills but I took them very seriously, because if something goes wrong I am fully responsible for the lives of 30 elderly residents (most of them hardly moving or even stuck in bed).
Fire is one of the five earth elements but at the same it is something we have to be very careful with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34